Honda enthusiasts in Trinidad are a waste, no support!!

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

Mr. Fixables

Honda enthusiasts in Trinidad are a waste, no support!!

Postby Mr. Fixables » May 23rd, 2011, 10:19 am

So many people fly the Honda flag in Trinidad and say they are Honda supporters!!

Yet, they can't seem to find themselves at any event where the Honda brand is competing. Here we have a Civic, running in Solodex, holding the first and second place standings in SS class for the year, and just ran Best Time of Day yesterday, beating Evos, STI's and other well built cars, and where are the supporters?

Instead you guys rather go to a lime and talk about your cars and what it can/should do. You can easily come and lime in Dex and support the brand, but no. You the same ones saying there is no motorsports in Trinidad. Agreed that Dex is not drags but still.

Plus, I am always available to teach you guys on how to handle your car better if you come up, or let you ride as a co-pilot when we running.

Come on all you Honda people, support your Brand!!

Kirk

Re: Honda enthusiasts in Trinidad are a waste, no support!!

Postby wagonrunner » May 23rd, 2011, 11:00 am

if the brand NEEDS support....................... :lol:

EL JEFE

Postby EL JEFE » May 23rd, 2011, 11:03 am

When is the next Dex? I wanted to come yesterday, but I saw the Global announcement too late, already made plans for my car. Hopefully I can run then and get some pointers from you Kirk. I'm not on here often, that's why I wasn't aware of the date.

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » May 23rd, 2011, 12:44 pm

Mr. Fixables, helped me yesterday, if it wasn't for him I would have probably placed last. For a first time driver I came 4th against auto nation 2 civics and another car (cant remember the brand).
But those guys push there car really hard something I think I could never do to my daily. It was allot of fun and now I know where the limits of my car is.

Mr. Fixables

Postby Mr. Fixables » May 23rd, 2011, 1:29 pm

JDM_GUY,

Glad that the pointers helped out. I can show you some more tips and hints at the next event which I think is a BYCC.

Kirk

ingalook

Postby ingalook » May 23rd, 2011, 1:57 pm

I guess X2 get his car suspension together then...

Mr. Fixables

Postby Mr. Fixables » May 23rd, 2011, 2:06 pm

X2??

Who is that? :p

Kirk

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » May 23rd, 2011, 2:47 pm

Kirk I need better tires before I come back to dex.

Mr. Fixables

Postby Mr. Fixables » May 23rd, 2011, 7:56 pm

Nah, the tires you have will be enough, learning the correct driving lines will benefit regardless of the tires you run. Actually the bad tires you may have will show up bad lines faster, which will force you to learn the better lines.

Plus, don't let bad tires stop you from having fun for the day.

Kirk

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » May 23rd, 2011, 8:02 pm

sry i cldnt be their as usual to drive. but had some important things to do

Postby wagonrunner » May 23rd, 2011, 11:04 pm

Mr. Fixables wrote:Nah, the tires you have will be enough, learning the correct driving lines will benefit regardless of the tires you run. Actually the bad tires you may have will show up bad lines faster, which will force you to learn the better lines.

Plus, don't let bad tires stop you from having fun for the day.

Kirk

Agreed!!!

Postby r3iXmann » May 24th, 2011, 7:29 am

Mr. Fixables wrote:So many people fly the Honda flag in Trinidad and say they are Honda supporters!!

Yet, they can't seem to find themselves at any event where the Honda brand is competing. Here we have a Civic, running in Solodex, holding the first and second place standings in SS class for the year, and just ran Best Time of Day yesterday, beating Evos, STI's and other well built cars, and where are the supporters?

Instead you guys rather go to a lime and talk about your cars and what it can/should do. You can easily come and lime in Dex and support the brand, but no. You the same ones saying there is no motorsports in Trinidad. Agreed that Dex is not drags but still.

Plus, I am always available to teach you guys on how to handle your car better if you come up, or let you ride as a co-pilot when we running.

Come on all you Honda people, support your Brand!!

Kirk

Postby SUPAstarr » May 24th, 2011, 11:05 am

yup that horse done rot away an ting kirk, my hatch was at every dex possible when it was not parked my the mech, even with my 1.3 non vtec, thing is there is soooo much cars with sooo much more potential, but say what half of them wont even open their bonnet cuz they dont want anybody to see what mods they have.

I miss my hatch soooooooo much........................

COROLLA KID

Postby COROLLA KID » May 24th, 2011, 11:21 am

the Civics at dex ran extremely wel Sunday, those guys actually pushed their cars really hard compare to the others who competed,
would like to compete at a dex event cuz my suspension is set up perfect for that type of racing but my motor needs sum work,..the paving in that car park looks like yuh ould grate co-co nut on it..but i guess its better than nothing, when i get my sheit in order I'll be sure to come out and support Hondas!

Postby r3iXmann » May 24th, 2011, 11:25 am

:mrgreen:

corolla kid, you dont need any special engine mods to run solodex :?

COROLLA KID

Postby COROLLA KID » May 24th, 2011, 11:42 am

i know,.. but i would like to be a little competitive

Postby SUPAstarr » May 24th, 2011, 11:49 am

boss my 1.3 was competitive

Postby r3iXmann » May 24th, 2011, 12:06 pm

always an excuse yes :lol:

Postby Sky » May 24th, 2011, 3:29 pm

AH COMIN!!!!!

Postby wagonrunner » May 24th, 2011, 3:44 pm

r3iXmann wrote:always an excuse yes :lol:

between picasso, and the honda-ites i eh know who holding the excuse book copyrights anymore. :poke: :lol: :lol:

Postby r3iXmann » May 24th, 2011, 3:57 pm

Sky wrote:AH COMIN!!!!!

:sick:

Postby Sky » May 24th, 2011, 4:06 pm

^^ :lol: :lol:

The Honda camp is in a mess because of the fighting.
Those who not fighting, staying away because of the fighting.
Always some sort of drama looming over this forum and it really shouldn't be like that seeing as the type of person you need to be to own a Honda and be proud of it.
Throw out 20+k for a build/swap/mod/wtfever, and what happens?
A Nissan matches you for 1/2 the price. It will always happen.
All you can do is think about the engineering that made your car superior and appreciate it.
Takes a mature person to do this. Yet there's no unity among many like this.

COROLLA KID, that's a stupid reason to not compete. It's not drags. What your engine have to do with car control? Little. Just say it. You're not competing because when you buss down a slow time, despite you learning a thing or four about control, other Honda men might point and laugh. It's an ego thing, and you not gonna chance that. And it's not your fault, it's the group's.

Now I'm saying this based on the scene over a year ago and I'd love for someone to prove me wrong, because that would mean things improved while I wasn't really around on this stuff. And if it's so, continue to support each other and leave the egos home.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » May 24th, 2011, 4:44 pm

So where exactly do yourl usually host dex? I feel like a location in central would attract a more balanced honda crowd than having it up in east...

Also, I agree that anyone can show up and have a good time regardless of mods.. Once you know your vehicle is running fine and wont have a catastrophic mechanical breakdown if pushed too hard..

COROLLA KID

Postby COROLLA KID » May 24th, 2011, 4:56 pm

Sky your absolutely rite! but my motor really isn't at its best rite now, and i live Princes Town
if my car break down thats a long tow home and i really dont wanna go through dat.plus i need my car to go to work "cah handle traveling nah"
i jus like to play safe thats all

Postby r3iXmann » May 24th, 2011, 5:19 pm

CD4Accord wrote:So where exactly do yourl usually host dex? I feel like a location in central would attract a more balanced honda crowd than having it up in east...

Also, I agree that anyone can show up and have a good time regardless of mods.. Once you know your vehicle is running fine and wont have a catastrophic mechanical breakdown if pushed too hard..

meng, the "stress" on your engine from solodex is no more than doing a 'spirited' run on the highway..it's not a circuit race or anything..same for suspension components and the people that claim otherwise have probably never participated in a solodex event

the only thing that will feel the hurt on your car are your tyres (the main reason i havent gone with the teggy; 215/45/16s hard to get :cry: )

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » May 24th, 2011, 6:11 pm

Well I agree, but sometimes people completely neglect their vehicle's brakes/oil etc and expect it to perform optimally in all situations...

I would agree that tyres are the biggest worry for dex but for such short runs, I cant see it taking TOO much out of them but it would also depend on the pavement surface as well..

Where are the usual locations that you use for dex?

vtec powwa

Postby vtec powwa » May 24th, 2011, 8:24 pm

I always there but in the afternoon after church
kinda hard to come early as i dont miss church
If it was a saturday then i'm there from early
And by the time i reach it almost done

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » May 24th, 2011, 9:47 pm

Without wanting to sound ridiculous, any automatic cars run in dex? If so, what are the results...

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » May 25th, 2011, 9:18 am

Auto cars do run in dex, I got lix by one on Sunday. Outa 6 cars I placed 4th. I learned allot from that day, just cant go jumping in it at full speed.
Tires were damaged after the 4 runs but only the front, the surface is very rough and the stones what cut away at the tires. After the last run I had a chunk of the center come off.

Mr. Fixables

Postby Mr. Fixables » May 25th, 2011, 9:59 am

To all you interested people for Solodex.

There will be a BYCC/Test Day on the 5th June, so a great way to come and just have some fun at the track. It is held at the Santa Rosa Horse Racing Car Park. It will be a great way to watch, or even ride along with some more experienced racers to get a feel for it.

Tire wear is the main issue, but as you improve your racing lines and control, the tire wear will be reduced significantly.

If any of you come up for the BYCC, I will be more than willing to take you guys for a run, and give you some tips and hints on how to be faster.

As far as the "i need mods" concept, there are tons of stock automatic cars which are doing very well in solodex, I would say a slow car with a good driver beats a fast car with a bad driver most times. Plus you have the bragging rights to say your stock POS beat a modded car :twisted:

I am sure if there are enough cars from one Brand onsite for an official event, we can convince the executive to have a Brand only class (Honda, Nissan, etc) for those not in the championship. It would be a great way to have some competitive fun within the group.

See you guys there.

Kirk

Return to “HONDA”