WTK: If buffing can fix my Paint Job

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

WTK: If buffing can fix my Paint Job

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 16th, 2011, 8:28 pm

I painted my Civic 3 months ago.

Now the guy apparently painted it uneven or something like that cause you can see how the paint run. You know it leak down in certain areas and you can see how it leak and dry.

Apparently also some areas the guy realized it leaked to much so he used a Paint Brush to try and cover up the mistakes and you can see the swipes from the paint brush.,

Is some guy from Caura road in El Dorado. I will never recommend him to anyone.

Anyways a friend of mine was telling me that if I pay to buff it with the compound thing.
It will look like a new paint Job.

I am a noob in this area so want to find out from you tuners if you have experience in this area.

Reamos DC5

Re: WTK: If buffing can fix my Paint Job

Postby Reamos DC5 » February 16th, 2011, 8:46 pm

yeh star,
recently painted my civic as well, perfect job but i had experience with the paint run as well with another car. its caused by too much paint in one spot due to uneven and too slow of a spray.

compound "cuts" paint and could help. but be very careful as too much can actually fade your paint as it gets thinner.

use the compound in small amounts and then buff after.
to make it look professional and not that noticeable, it will take time and dedication.
make sure who ever is doing it knows what he is doing and has had experience in it.

hope this helps.
gluck

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 17th, 2011, 8:30 am

^ Woi thanks bro this is great news. :)

I will look around for someone who is experienced.

*OUTSIDER*

Postby *OUTSIDER* » February 17th, 2011, 7:32 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:I will look around for someone who is experienced.

I suggest you take your car to a Buff Shop... They will rub the whole car with microfine then buff... A padna did my eg8 before I sold it... The car look like it now came out of the paint room... No runs, scratch nuttin ... & it cost me $500. :D

Reamos DC5

Postby Reamos DC5 » February 17th, 2011, 7:52 pm

oh yes yes thats an option as well, if i were you i would go with Outsider's suggestion as well.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 19th, 2011, 10:22 pm

Hey outsider where can I find a "BUFF Shop" close to Piarco are? North Trini that is.

I taught all hope was lost until I heard of buffing LOL

All that is left is to put in a rocket muffler. But can it pass inspection if i do that?

*OUTSIDER*

Postby *OUTSIDER* » February 20th, 2011, 7:14 pm

I'm from south so I don't know any way up Piarco side dose that... Central hav a good few shops tho... Small's Auto, Evan's Car Care ect

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 20th, 2011, 9:57 pm

^ ok close enough I go check them out.

I think I saw a place on montrose mainroad a time. Wonder if they still in operation.

*OUTSIDER*

Postby *OUTSIDER* » February 21st, 2011, 9:34 pm

I Nut Sure...

Reamos DC5

Postby Reamos DC5 » February 25th, 2011, 4:12 pm

tellem thelem

Nebulous_14

Postby Nebulous_14 » February 28th, 2011, 5:58 pm

Check aqua care on cipero street Sando around martime building area on the right hand side if you going down the street towards Sutton street.They wet sand.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 1st, 2011, 12:09 am

thelem wrote:That man do a pack of crap. A paint brush?? na man....allyuh not serious na.....Anyways let me give some advice.

If the run is on the clear coat, then yea...you could basically have the "spot" rubbed down with 1000 paper and buffed. I said spot eh..not car. This should only cost you like $100.

Buffing a car ONLY applies to clear coats. NOT the paint itself. You cannot, i repeat CANNOT buff paint. clear coat is meant to protect the paint job aka hence it being a sealer and hence there being different types of clear coats. e.g - HS High Solid, and MS Medium Solid and ceramic clear.

Most times when a car is being painted the "right" way, if any runs or "drips" occurs (which is due to pressure drop from the compressor or defective paint gun) a proper painter could rectify this problem easily by the "scotch tape method". This is where tape is applied on the run to even off the excess layer of paint, then he sets the gun on a low pressure and fumes on the paint to an even layer.

Once clear goes ontop of paint, all work is basicall over with all faults, unless the specific area is repainted via rubbing down flat with sand paper, then repainting, and re-clearing.

So i repeat one last time, buffing will NOT remove a run in the paint layer.

HMM I see. You sure about this?

if what you say here is true then I am also guessing that Buffing will not remove the paint brush swipes the man do.
I never before see a man use a paint brush to cover up the run on the car like what this man do here.

Also there is some small fine dust that get stick up on the paint when he paint it.

I understand that a insect got stuck on the paint aswell. He tell me he cover the area with plastic bed sheet and thing when he was painting it but I feel he paint it just so under the mango tree.

Me eh know nah jed is my father recommend me this man. He say the man cheap and he will do a good Job. Good job my ass.

On the front left side door, I noticed in the sun light recently that he did not use enough paint so you can see the paint is lighter in color if you watch very closely.

I feel I will have to carry this by a REAL painter yes.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 1st, 2011, 1:04 pm

LOL i see

Well I learn something here. Next time I will have to pay money by a professional instead of these quacks.

CIVIC30

Postby CIVIC30 » March 1st, 2011, 3:49 pm

call car craft from Arima old road 495-9740 Roger, very reasonable and professional

*OUTSIDER*

Postby *OUTSIDER* » March 1st, 2011, 8:50 pm

^ Yes!

CIVIC30

Postby CIVIC30 » March 1st, 2011, 9:37 pm

*OUTSIDER* wrote:^ Yes!

OUTSIDER i won't lead the guy wrong ,go by the best yes! yes! CAR CRAFT CUSTOMIZING

*OUTSIDER*

Postby *OUTSIDER* » March 1st, 2011, 10:06 pm

Yup... I'v seen some of their work... They Real Good

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 1st, 2011, 11:23 pm

CIVIC30 wrote:call car craft from Arima old road 495-9740 Roger, very reasonable and professional

Thank you very much for this info my friend.

Return to “HONDA”