How can I make 20HP?

Posted: August 11th, 2010, 11:09 am
by JDM_GUY
I have a full 2.5" exhaust, a 2.5" CAI with K&N filter. Full limited slip diff.
What other mods within a cost factor of 10 gran, can I produce an additional 20HP or some what close to it? Staying NA that is.

How much would a EM give me?

Re: How can I make 20HP?

Posted: August 11th, 2010, 12:06 pm
by hatch is best
Nitrous Assisted

Posted: August 11th, 2010, 12:10 pm
by High_Speed_Imports
cams,ecu,headers,port intake you have alot of options thats off the top of my head, Check ignition timing

Posted: August 11th, 2010, 12:51 pm
by Clerique
Sell the swap, put the difference and get a B18C swap.
Don't say I didn't tell ya!

Posted: August 11th, 2010, 1:12 pm
by CD4Accord
You running 2.5" without any header or any head or internal engine work?
I would consider that quite counterproductive, and you probably lacking badly on the low end...

Start with a header from a reputable company (basically buy something NOT sold here) and then cam and tune...

Posted: August 11th, 2010, 3:39 pm
by red_dragon
Cleriq wrote:Sell the swap, put the difference and get a B18C swap.

to add Get an ITR swap

actually JDM 2.5 is tooo big for a Stock b16a

20whp on a $10k budget

as Hatch suggest NOS 50 shot

HSI to get 20whp is ecu to tune,proper header, some cams and intake

but from my messin with my b16 and b20

best coin spent is on a 98 + ITR swap

-and Yes a B18c ITR is the answer to all NA B-series needs

Posted: August 11th, 2010, 5:20 pm
by r3iXmann
red_dragon wrote:
Cleriq wrote:Sell the swap, put the difference and get a B18C swap.

to add Get an ITR swap

actually JDM 2.5 is tooo big for a Stock b16a

20whp on a $10k budget

as Hatch suggest NOS 50 shot

HSI to get 20whp is ecu to tune,proper header, some cams and intake

but from my messin with my b16 and b20

best coin spent is on a 98 + ITR swap

-and Yes a B18c ITR is the answer to all NA B-series needs

[/thread]

Posted: August 11th, 2010, 6:37 pm
by haydn28
JDM_GUY wrote:I have a full 2.5" exhaust, a 2.5" CAI with K&N filter. Full limited slip diff.
What other mods within a cost factor of 10 gran, can I produce an additional 20HP or some what close to it? Staying NA that is.

How much would a EM give me?

u must be insane to spend 10 000 to get 20hp :|

*option 1 :staying n/a
u can get cams , port the head , shave the head , get a hondata .

*option 2: NOS = easy cheap power , a properly tuned b16a on nos will beat any stock /slightly modded k series on the 1/4 mile any day.

budget builds are becoming a thing of the past it seems , most ppl buy a set of
unnecessary stuff for their cars ask people who have fast cars and make power on the dyno for advise not men who go street drags and beat up a set of dead cars and think they are fast.

ask your self what goals u want, do you want to beat sr20det s, or sr20de s

if u want to be beating sr20det s constantly , u know boost or heavy nos is the option

Posted: August 11th, 2010, 6:45 pm
by A172
^i think you should be a bit more specific as your statements could still be a bit misleading

beating a sr20det is a walk in the park....any deadhorse cud pwn one of those

aim to wash sr's running high boost/ big tobos and management 8-)

Posted: August 11th, 2010, 6:55 pm
by haydn28
well a172 most of the n/a guys think a K series is fast but i've Personally tuned a 1.3L 4efte engine on 8psi td04 turbo that will beat any stock / slightly moded K series .

it goes to show that n/a costing $$$$$$ does not make sense compared to boost which is nice on the pocket. which is my point just opening the doors of power and not making any false statements here too . keeping this in mind jdm guy can make his own decision

Posted: August 11th, 2010, 10:16 pm
by Rooki3
10k for 20HP

WTF??

bai take that 10k to the bank & get a loan for B18C-r

Posted: August 11th, 2010, 11:07 pm
by Clerique
Who the hell talking bout drag racin' and beatin' SR20s?

Steups!

Posted: August 12th, 2010, 10:36 am
by No Fear at all!!!
NNNOOOOSSSSS!!!!! go NNOOSSSS!!!! Cheap and easy to use..
According to what you want to do..CLERIQ gave a good suggestion in going B18c-R and let cleriq give you some advice on proper gearing...
However, if you want to stay in the B16A area the spirits of NOS are speaking!!!! :evilbat:

Posted: August 12th, 2010, 10:47 am
by Hirotoshi
stage 2 cams,adj cam gears with full valvetrain mods,mild porting, type r pistons & reduce your exhaust to 2-2.25 inch tubing,get on the dyno & tune 8-) .

Posted: August 12th, 2010, 12:38 pm
by JDM_GUY
I am not building a drag machine, If I was the NOS would be the option. I am building a car to drive and enjoy especially on the winding roads. My suspension and brakes are alright for now, just was interested in a little more power.
I guess I will take a B18C route.

Posted: August 12th, 2010, 1:53 pm
by wagonrunner
Cleriq wrote:Who the hell talking bout drag racin' and beatin' SR20s?

Steups!

tunnel vision still affects many brother. :lol: That's their barrier.

Posted: August 12th, 2010, 2:26 pm
by CD4Accord
If you begin to add more power you will soon realise that your suspension and brakes wont be "alright" for long....

Who advised you on putting a 2.5" exhaust? we can all unanimously agree that you did a piece of arseness there...
On my F20B2 with a built up head I am running 2.25" and that is still slightly too big until I do further head work....

Posted: August 12th, 2010, 8:49 pm
by mugen power
JDM_GUY wrote:I have a full 2.5" exhaust

Like you don't know what you have.

This vehicle has a 2.38" manderel bent Fugistsubo catback.

Posted: August 12th, 2010, 9:00 pm
by CD4Accord
Very good design of exhaust but still far too big for your application...

I guess that leaves you no choice but to build up to meet it...

Take a look at the N/A for noobs sticky.. great start

Posted: August 12th, 2010, 9:05 pm
by Rooki3
wasting time keepin it N/A, boost on a budget & you'll gain 100hp easy

Posted: August 12th, 2010, 9:21 pm
by CD4Accord
I agree that boosting is the ideal option, but if he said he wants 20, i telling him how to make 20 haha

Posted: August 13th, 2010, 1:21 am
by bluesteel29
link ah case ah nos octane boost,slap on ah blox or skunk2 intake manifold n call it a day until ya could link d 18...

Posted: August 13th, 2010, 8:05 pm
by speedemonz
BOOST DA SH!T !!!!!!!!!!!! 8psi tuned on that engine sweet..............

Posted: August 14th, 2010, 7:04 pm
by High_Speed_Imports
20hp not whp. Which with cams and a hondata he will surely pass his goal

Posted: August 16th, 2010, 12:05 pm
by VexXx Dogg
Cleriq wrote:Who the hell talking bout drag racin' and beatin' SR20s?

Steups!

Cuz you know a couple of sr20's would fetch prime one week before race wars.

Posted: August 17th, 2010, 3:17 pm
by mitsu4life
Hirotoshi wrote:stage 2 cams,adj cam gears with full valvetrain mods,mild porting, type r pistons & reduce your exhaust to 2-2.25 inch tubing,get on the dyno & tune 8-) .

pfffft two of these in the trunk an you on:

Posted: August 19th, 2010, 1:40 pm
by 5onDfloor
haydn28 wrote:well a172 most of the n/a guys think a K series is fast but i've Personally tuned a 1.3L 4efte engine on 8psi td04 turbo that will beat any stock / slightly moded K series .
it goes to show that n/a costing $$$$$$ does not make sense compared to boost which is nice on the pocket. which is my point just opening the doors of power and not making any false statements here too .keeping this in mind jdm guy can make his own decision

^^^^^^^^^^^^hahahaahahhhaha

Posted: August 19th, 2010, 1:42 pm
by A172
5onDfloor wrote:
haydn28 wrote:well a172 most of the n/a guys think a K series is fast but i've Personally tuned a 1.3L 4efte engine on 8psi td04 turbo that will beat any stock / slightly moded K series .
it goes to show that n/a costing $$$$$$ does not make sense compared to boost which is nice on the pocket. which is my point just opening the doors of power and not making any false statements here too .keeping this in mind jdm guy can make his own decision

come chu anytime 0X

Posted: August 19th, 2010, 3:13 pm
by VexXx Dogg
5onDfloor wrote:

power to weight, meng.
starlets were not called pocket rockets for nothin.