small upgrades for D15b with Cvt box

Posted: June 28th, 2010, 12:47 pm
by CvtCivic2000
hey guys,
do you have any ideas for me to do some small upgrades on my civic?

Re: small upgrades for D15b with Cvt box

Posted: June 28th, 2010, 3:54 pm
by VexXx Dogg
Yep.
put in a gearbox first, else yuh just wasting time and money.

If you choose to disregard that, you can go with the basics.
I/H/E
K&N Typhoon CAI
Headers
CBE or full exhaust

You'llget a lil more pep and be a few thousand dollars poorer.

Posted: June 28th, 2010, 6:02 pm
by r3iXmann
buy a b series.

Posted: June 28th, 2010, 8:37 pm
by CvtCivic2000
Ehy not a K series:P

Posted: June 28th, 2010, 8:39 pm
by r3iXmann
once u have d cash,go for it :)

Posted: June 29th, 2010, 8:09 am
by VexXx Dogg
r3iXmann wrote:buy a b series.

how much for a B16 in a front half now?
12-15K?
ouch

Posted: June 29th, 2010, 8:50 am
by r3iXmann
VexXx Dogg wrote:

12-15K?
ouch

how much for a sohc gearbox + conversion? let's say $2200 - 2500

THEN add cost of I,H and E - let's say between 6-8k

(labour costs not included)

so you'd be out 8-10k and at the end you'd have just shifted your powerband and still be desirous of more power

whereas you can humble yourself for a while again,put a few k more and get more power all round

or boost the d15b :mrgreen:

Posted: June 29th, 2010, 9:27 am
by VexXx Dogg
r3iXmann wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:

12-15K?
ouch

how much for a sohc gearbox + conversion? let's say $2200 - 2500

THEN add cost of I,H and E - let's say between 6-8k

(labour costs not included)

so you'd be out 8-10k and at the end you'd have just shifted your powerband and still be desirous of more power

whereas you can humble yourself for a while again,put a few k more and get more power all round

or boost the d15b :mrgreen:

LOL, i hear ya.
I loved my b16, even tho it was an autotragic.

Posted: June 29th, 2010, 8:28 pm
by Pinky
So what you guys sayin
D15b= Lawn mower engine
B16a= Super car engine
K20a=Rocket engine
The man just want a little encouragement to do a little
I'm sure if the man had a $15,000,00 to play with we knows where the bamboo is to buy a B series
I never hear a Toyota man tell somebody buy a 2zz engine because a 20 valve not as good, is what you put in is what you get out

Posted: June 30th, 2010, 2:15 am
by bluesteel29
F20b twin cam and H22a are options
ya gettin those fuh 1/2 d price of the b16a

Pinky wrote:So what you guys sayin
D15b= Lawn mower engine
B16a= Super car engine
K20a=Rocket engine

wuh???

Posted: June 30th, 2010, 6:03 am
by r3iXmann
Pinky wrote:So what you guys sayin
D15b= Lawn mower engine
B16a= Super car engine
K20a=Rocket engine
The man just want a little encouragement to do a little
I'm sure if the man had a $15,000,00 to play with we knows where the bamboo is to buy a B series
I never hear a Toyota man tell somebody buy a 2zz engine because a 20 valve not as good, is what you put in is what you get out

right and almost everybody who has invested in a NA d series has gone b series...

get it right the first time ftw