CoolGuard coolant damage radiator in my EK3

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

diamondtip01

CoolGuard coolant damage radiator in my EK3

Postby diamondtip01 » April 1st, 2010, 8:06 pm

I changed my radiator in July 2009, and have been using CoolGuard coolant. About 2weeks I notice I had to top slightly. I say it how hot the days are. Last night temperature started to rise, I was near home so I watched it and reached home. I noticed a water on the base of the radiator. When I removed the radiator and carried by radiator man, he just watched me and told the coolant brand name I am using and that damaged the radiator. I spoke to two partners with a nissan and mazda and they using the same coolant and have problems.

Any body else and if yes water coolant are you'll using

Hirotoshi

Postby Hirotoshi » April 1st, 2010, 8:14 pm

i have been using prestone,for the last 2 yrs, without any problems 8-) .

Postby r3iXmann » April 1st, 2010, 8:17 pm

prestone and oem honda ftw

Postby Damien » April 1st, 2010, 8:17 pm

Honda coolant works good use that

hatch back snail

Postby hatch back snail » April 1st, 2010, 11:13 pm

My props goes to honda coolant :mrgreen: ,but alot of people turn away because of the price.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » April 2nd, 2010, 12:50 am

I usually rock Penray coolant in the accord (black bottle), my uncle swears by it and I had no problems so far.. I figure why not

My father insists on NP coolguard in the pajero, not sure why.. one of these days I have to upgrade him

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » April 2nd, 2010, 6:03 am

Hirotoshi wrote:i have been using prestone,for the last 2 yrs, without any problems 8-) .

in what type of Rad ?

boxman

Postby boxman » April 2nd, 2010, 6:38 am

Penray and Coolgard are very corrosive to radiators,we've had experiences with them, and friends as well. Can't understand how no one has gone public with this? :shock: I advise Tuners to stay away from these 2.
While we've done no actual lab tests,the results from end users speak for themselves. Surprisingly,Glycoshell in de gas station works just as well :D

ADAH 303
Location: SESL Compound, Churchill-Roosevelt Highway, Spring Village, Valsayn 381-1757

Postby ADAH 303 » April 2nd, 2010, 10:49 am

After 14 years of using ONLY Honda Coolant on an engine, I changed the water pump last Tuesday. The pump and its impeller still looks new. Absolutely no corrosion. I ONLY recommend Honda Genuine Coolant (Do Not Mix with Any Type of Water).

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 2nd, 2010, 1:42 pm

you need aluminium friendly coolant.
Stick to the Honda OEM coolant, it has a lifespan of 10 years.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » April 2nd, 2010, 2:08 pm

what other Alumiunium friendly coolants you know?

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » April 2nd, 2010, 2:19 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:you need aluminium friendly coolant.
Stick to the Honda OEM coolant, it has a lifespan of 10 years.

Like the man say.....don't know why you'd use anything else....Honda specifies it's coolant ONLY because it's cooling system is all aluminum....stick witm OEM

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » April 2nd, 2010, 2:20 pm

Well, my cooling system isnt all AL anymore...
The top endcap of my radiator busted years ago and I replaced with brass
Just the other day, the lower one crapped out as well, so same deal... Screw plastic anyway...

How would price compare between honda and say penray?

Postby r3iXmann » April 2nd, 2010, 2:34 pm

prestone is also aluminum friendly

and $70 vs $150 (OEM) naturally makes it the better option

urbancut

Postby urbancut » April 2nd, 2010, 4:59 pm

yeah diamondtip01 thanks for the info and tuners good tip

Postby bluesteel29 » April 2nd, 2010, 5:26 pm

r3iXmann wrote:prestone is also aluminum friendly

wey u gettin honda coolant fuh $150???

Postby r3iXmann » April 2nd, 2010, 5:39 pm

bluesteel29 wrote:
r3iXmann wrote:prestone is also aluminum friendly

wey u gettin honda coolant fuh $150???

pato's in cunupia..dunno if the price changed now

but it typically isnt more than 160

Hirotoshi

Postby Hirotoshi » April 2nd, 2010, 7:02 pm

red_dragon wrote:
Hirotoshi wrote:i have been using prestone,for the last 2 yrs, without any problems 8-) .

in what type of Rad ?
replacement plastic top/bottom aluminum core.

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » April 2nd, 2010, 7:22 pm

^ ok
reason i asked

Prestone killed my mishimoto radiator

telfer

Postby telfer » April 4th, 2010, 9:39 pm

Dont use that I had the same problem with my CRV I put that coolant in and the core started to get fine holes other people told me they had that same problem
I think its too concentrated
Use Shell glycol or by Deo's raditator has a coolant for tropics
Some coolants draw heat for cold countries to heat up fast

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » April 5th, 2010, 12:26 pm

fellers....just remember your cooling system is much more than just radiator and cap....it's the water pump and internal passages on the block and head. I've seen water pumps lose almost all their fins using water or non-Honda coolant

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » April 6th, 2010, 8:12 am

Dude if you drive a HONDA only use HONDA recommend coolant. I use HONDA coolant without a problem and I will never use anything else.

hindian

Postby hindian » April 7th, 2010, 2:40 pm

fellers any thoughts on the redline brand of coolant? thats what i've been using in my prelude and no problems since...i'm asking now because i just want to know if i made a correct choice i.e. if i should look for any problems after the fact :oops:

Postby SR » April 10th, 2010, 4:28 pm

hatch back snail wrote:My props goes to honda coolant :mrgreen: ,but alot of people turn away because of the price.

best choice for the engine block

TK!

Postby TK! » April 22nd, 2010, 5:33 pm

honda coolant.

full stop.

geez.. wonder why so much post ah have to keep repeating myself. it CHEAPER to use de rite ting first time!

Return to “HONDA”