Which better for EG8?

Posted: March 9th, 2010, 10:39 am
by JDM_GUY
Upgrading the brakes of my EG8.

There are the cross drilled and slotted rotors (BRAND : SP PERFORMANCE )that are the same size just to bolt on for $1000.00TT

Then there is the SIR EG9 which would be a little more adjusting and work $1700.00TT Installed and relined.

12" Rotor Move-Out Kit from power slot OEM rotor diameter is 10.3", so this kit requires a minimum wheel size of 17" or larger. $3000.00 TT

Posted: March 9th, 2010, 9:40 pm
by red_dragon
options

1. prelude .. redrill rotors and mount calipers..

2. if u wanna spend 3000 add a little more and go with wilwood 12"

3. d2 brakes not sure bout price though .. think is peak performance
my 2cts

nothing else matters

Posted: March 10th, 2010, 10:19 am
by JDM_GUY
red_dragon,Then i guess i will go with the EG9.

Posted: March 10th, 2010, 10:25 am
by VexXx Dogg
EG9 brakes (F+R) are a great upgrade for an eg8.
Couple it with SS brake lines, good bite pads (hawk/ebc/mintex) and some dot 4 or 5.1 fluid and yuh orn like socks.

Posted: March 10th, 2010, 1:39 pm
by JDM_GUY
VexXx Dogg,Heard when you putting the rear you have to also change the booster and cylinder

Posted: March 10th, 2010, 1:51 pm
by VexXx Dogg
JDM_GUY wrote:VexXx Dogg,Heard when you putting the rear you have to also change the booster and cylinder

You may not need to change the booster (the EG9's is slightly smaller tho), but definitely try to get a proportioning valve from the Eg9, or an adjustible one such as the wilwood.

Posted: March 10th, 2010, 3:24 pm
by JDM_GUY
whats about the brake pads? OEM or some other brand?

Posted: March 10th, 2010, 3:38 pm
by VexXx Dogg
OEM is reportedly the best, but i never used it.

Wagner thermoquiet was best value for money for me.
EBC/Hawk/P. Mu also supposed to be excellent albeit at a higher price.

Posted: March 10th, 2010, 3:52 pm
by JDM_GUY
where to get the wagner thermoquiet

Posted: March 10th, 2010, 4:31 pm
by red_dragon
but before you do all this ... u leaving engine as is or have plans to change

Posted: March 10th, 2010, 5:33 pm
by No Fear at all!!!
red_dragon wrote:but before you do all this ... u leaving engine as is or have plans to change

My thoughts exactly!!! JDM...What are you planning to do engine-wise???

Posted: March 10th, 2010, 6:33 pm
by joel
red_dragon wrote:but before you do all this ... u leaving engine as is or have plans to change

my first thought...cause if you stayin as you are dog, you have more than adequate stopping power

Posted: March 11th, 2010, 12:27 am
by bluesteel29
ah wah some SiR calipers :( :( :(

Posted: March 11th, 2010, 8:31 am
by JDM_GUY
At present the car doesn't stop on top of 3rd and 4th gears. Found my self many times pressing all the way down and still the car wouldn't slow down, I think they get hot and fade away very fast (I use DOT 4). Before the mods the car would take forever to reach the 160-180, with the current mods i reach speeds of 190 on 4th quicker than before.
As for the engine I am looking to get a TYPE-R b18 but still looking around. So I just wanted to upgrade the brakes from now, all other parts of the car are upgraded for the increasing in power.

I will do the EG9 front brake and trow in some good pads. VexXx Dogg,where do i get the wagner thermoquiet pads

Posted: March 11th, 2010, 9:09 am
by High_Speed_Imports
JDM_GUY,have something good for you. Friend jus upgraded to willword. Shout me you can organize. I am on road in a few but ppl home so link me

Posted: March 11th, 2010, 9:22 am
by VexXx Dogg
Almost any motorist outlet should carry it - or should be able to source it.
carry your the old pad or the outline though...just to make sure.

Posted: March 11th, 2010, 7:13 pm
by halfdef
JDM_GUY, i have a set of the power slot rotors and i have felt a huge difference :D

Posted: March 11th, 2010, 7:57 pm
by roshan01
same here the power stop with some hawk pads stops really well....

Posted: March 11th, 2010, 9:52 pm
by mugen power
I told you already
DC2R breaks front and back complete

eg8 brakes

Posted: March 12th, 2010, 11:09 am
by moe
6 pot calipers

Posted: March 12th, 2010, 11:26 am
by JDM_GUY
halfdef,thats the stock replacement for the SIR spindle or did you get the bigger brake kit with the adapter plate?

roshan01,Same question. read that if i use the power slot upgrade kit I could only run 16" wheels.

moe,what size rims are the smallest you can run with that kit? Iam currently on 15"

Posted: March 13th, 2010, 12:25 am
by moe
these are buddy club 15"
the offset was not enough to clear
the calipers so I used a 5mm spacer
and longer wheel studs
did not want to change the rims

Posted: March 13th, 2010, 12:25 am
by moe

Posted: March 13th, 2010, 6:55 am
by red_dragon
^ Moe what is the diameter of the rotor ?

Posted: March 13th, 2010, 10:08 am
by moe
286x26mm

Posted: March 16th, 2010, 8:04 pm
by JDM_GUY
moe,Where did you get that brake kit to buy? And whats the cost?