np oil

Posted: November 8th, 2009, 4:14 am
by Wizard
anyone using np oil in their b16s

my engine is older and i use 20w50 should i try the np or go with a castrol or something big name brand

Posted: November 8th, 2009, 8:54 am
by red_dragon
use the castrol gtx

that is the mileage ?

Posted: November 8th, 2009, 11:57 am
by New Breed
np is for lubing door hinge and lawnmower and thing boi. doh put that in your engine! :shock:

Posted: November 8th, 2009, 12:02 pm
by wagonrunner
New Breed wrote:np is for lubing door hinge and lawnmower and thing boi. doh put that in your engine! :shock:

you guys really know more than a lot of other people.

<iframe src="http://www.trinituner.com/NP/" width=800 height=800></iframe>

Posted: November 8th, 2009, 12:08 pm
by New Breed
i would say d same too if i was gettin sponsor. i could put meh head on a block and say u not use in no np in your car! :twisted:

Posted: November 8th, 2009, 12:12 pm
by wagonrunner
New Breed wrote:i would say d same too if i was gettin sponsor. i could put meh head on a block and say u not use in no np in your car! :twisted:

go ahead and do that then.
more than one vehicle, more than 3 years per vehicle..
and no issues arising from oil.
All use NP Ultra. changed every 5000k.

Posted: November 8th, 2009, 12:13 pm
by De Dragon
And Gary Cun* endorsing it, so yuh betta watch yuh arse! :lol:

Posted: November 8th, 2009, 2:48 pm
by Pinky
All oils have to meet internationl API specs. if you feel the need to spend money for name is up to you.

Posted: November 8th, 2009, 7:20 pm
by carman12
seriously, i have never used NP oil. don't trust it. Castrol isn't a bad oil but i'd advise you to use Shell Helix. I'm using the blue bottle. Works good, and my engine has no problem. Did some work not too long ago, replaced head gasket, and did a complete service on engine. Tried the shell helix oil and havn't turned a frown since. Driving a 97 honda accord, F20B with M/T.

Posted: November 8th, 2009, 9:18 pm
by Honda_Crew
I used NP at my last oil change and found it to work exceptionally good.
Oil change is way overdue now and the oil is still holding up
remarkably well. No sudden drops in oil levels, engine running cool.

Posted: November 8th, 2009, 9:42 pm
by halfdef
HONDA CREW and yuh wonder why you cant catch the B16A that is yuh problem :D :D

Posted: November 8th, 2009, 9:48 pm
by Honda_Crew
halfdef wrote:HONDA CREW and yuh wonder why you cant catch the B16A that is yuh problem :D :D

^^^^^^ :lol: The problem is that the man was not running a B16a :evil:

Re: np oil

Posted: November 8th, 2009, 10:44 pm
by No Fear at all!!!
Wizard wrote:anyone using np oil in their b16s

my engine is older and i use 20w50 should i try the np or go with a castrol or something big name brand

the ultra syntec is a good oil, it does not evapourate like some big name brands (did somebody say PURPLE??)...mobil1 15w-50w is another good brand... 8-)

Posted: November 8th, 2009, 11:05 pm
by Wizard
what about conventional oils

all the ones calling seem to be synthetics

Posted: November 9th, 2009, 12:44 am
by No Fear at all!!!
Wizard wrote:what about conventional oils

all the ones calling seem to be synthetics

the normal conventional oils can work as well, once no extreme driving is done :D However oil changes would be a bit more frequent.. NP ultra is a good conventional oil...but remember more frequent oil changes... 8-)

Posted: November 17th, 2009, 5:56 pm
by Pinky

Posted: November 17th, 2009, 8:07 pm
by Bad Habits01
I used NP 20/50 for 14 years in a Bluebird, from new. changed every 3 thou miles, sometimes 5 thou! no problems, engine was rebuilt after 14 yrs, only had slight backpressure.
subsequently never kept a car more than 3 years, always with NP in the sump. No oil related problems yet!
currently have a Civic, all NP all the time!

Posted: February 10th, 2014, 10:28 am
by Krystal Car Part Imports
and little do you guys know, NP does blend and package oil for Castrol and all dem company.

Posted: February 12th, 2014, 10:28 am
by handsomeRob2837
kantoine wrote:and little do you guys know, NP does blend and package oil for Castrol and all dem company.

This

Posted: February 13th, 2014, 10:54 am
by enigma
handsomeRob2837 wrote:
kantoine wrote:and little do you guys know, NP does blend and package oil for Castrol and all dem company.

This

Really? Soo, NP set up on the port bottling oil ah wha?

Posted: February 13th, 2014, 4:10 pm
by hindian
I had a box lancer, Prelude and a b13 all of them i kept for 5 years each and all have used np ultra from day one of ownership and I never had any oil related problems whatsoever and ah running Purolator filters too. My dad has a series 3 longbase Landrover for the last 23 years that is fed a diet of 20w50 for every three months of those 23 years and he does rough it up everyday, it just started smoking because of valve seals. The key is routine oil changes, i doh study anybody that tells me np oils are no good because for the last 15 years of me owning vehicles that oil never once let me down...

Posted: June 25th, 2014, 9:46 pm
by mannh01
I read an article once that said honda engines are built with minimum tolerance and recommends 5w20 oils. If u going 20w50 the viscosity is different and can allow for more wear and tear. Additionally it can cause excessive fuel consumption. Honda has their own 5w30 and 10w30 semi synthetic and ful synthetic oils that are designed for the tight tolerances.

Posted: July 3rd, 2014, 12:09 am
by COROLLA KID
Happy oil is the best dan......put some in yuh engine and some in a pot and throw in some chicken..best life

But seriously i only use 10w30 synthetic in my b16, no matter how old your engine is if your maintaining it properly the tolerances will be the same as a new one....I prefer Amsoil :D