decision on upgrading

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

pycho

decision on upgrading

Postby pycho » October 13th, 2009, 9:42 pm

fellas...

looking 2 upgrade 2 run wid hoe n dem men nah...

options are
- b18c1 gsr
- f20b
- h22 type r
or
- b16a currently in car and just add boost

which u think is d best setup option...

phaze

Postby phaze » October 13th, 2009, 11:21 pm

b16a with boost....no doubt about that... buy why hoe?

Postby bluesteel29 » October 13th, 2009, 11:27 pm

wat upgrades u wanna do to the new engine?
how much $ u looking to invest?

pycho

Postby pycho » October 14th, 2009, 12:24 am

u know us honda men doh like 2 put out much while optimizing d performance of d engine.. i have a turbo charger t28 garrett, intercooler and will order d obx manifold... d rest i have 2 put it 2gether... current engine works pretty fine... it runs up to 220 kph until hits speedcut... dont know how much people running b18c1... given d specs online shows both b16a4 n d b18c1 runs @ 176 HP... so i am more torquie n wha else...

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » October 14th, 2009, 9:31 am

upgrade to b18c - R

if still to slow u can still add some PSI

hatch is best

Postby hatch is best » October 14th, 2009, 9:40 am

Postby Sky » October 14th, 2009, 10:55 am

The F's and H's aren't his. Selling for someone. But those are also the options he stated above.

Problem with The C5 is finding someone with one who don't wanna buss your throat with price.
Problem with boosting is reaching in another league above with men like Stephan and Jason etc. And Jason will tap you up :lol:

Could sell the B16 and get a gsr swap. Sell all those mics parts and build the head of the extra b16.

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 14th, 2009, 11:35 am

IMHO the H22 has issues in a civic chassis.
it is heavy and the suspension geometry gets thrown off.

F20 - i dunno anything about.

The b18C is by far the best option, but availability is the main issue. This has the most N/A potential afaik.

Postby r3iXmann » October 14th, 2009, 11:54 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:IMHO the H22 has issues in a civic chassis.
it is heavy and the suspension geometry gets thrown off.

not really,no

http://www.honda-tech.com/showthread.php?t=684550

the only "issue" is that the engine itself leans backwards (towards the firewall),but the suspension geometry etc can be fixed with a good suspension setup and tuning

the f20b (dohc,blue top) is more or less a destroked h22, plus it doesn't have the thin frm sleeves,so it'd be a nice candidate for boost

the h22a type r is a nice powerhouse,you can do the swap if you get it reasonably priced

the b18 is probably your best bet....make a trip to the southland,talk to some people,you'd be amazed at what you can find :wink:

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » October 14th, 2009, 6:04 pm

I Agree with Vexx there bout the H22 in a civic

for drag H22 Boost

but for daily/fun/RUN with HOE and them fellas B18c or if u got coin K20R

Re: decision on upgrading

Postby honda hoe » October 14th, 2009, 8:00 pm

pycho wrote:fellas...

options are
- b18c1 gsr
- f20b
- h22 type r
or

sorry... no K, no care

:arrow:

Re: decision on upgrading

Postby r3iXmann » October 14th, 2009, 8:11 pm

honda hoe wrote:
pycho wrote:fellas...

options are
- b18c1 gsr
- f20b
- h22 type r
or

sorry... no K, no care

:arrow:

k26? :pokes:

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » October 14th, 2009, 8:30 pm

^ wel he will be the first to have a K26 :roll:

Postby r3iXmann » October 14th, 2009, 8:35 pm

red_dragon wrote:^ wel he will be the first to have a K26 :roll:

right :roll:

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » October 14th, 2009, 8:56 pm

well if u refering to a certain tuner with an ES civic ... that is not a K26

unless there is another

well there is one is a Dc5 ... also

pycho

Postby pycho » October 14th, 2009, 11:17 pm

lol.... aight thanks guys... guess i will go wid the b18c1 gsr n boost... however i see plenty honda fellas running down b18c1 gsr in bamboo n thing n the hp is the same as a b16a4... 170hp...

Postby honda hoe » October 14th, 2009, 11:56 pm

pycho wrote:i see plenty honda fellas running down b18c1 gsr in bamboo n thing n the hp is the same as a b16a4... 170hp...

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

wikipedia FTL

kezay

Postby kezay » October 15th, 2009, 9:17 am

red_dragon wrote:^ wel he will be the first to have a K26 :roll:

There is one in a DC5...

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » October 15th, 2009, 9:20 am

^ blue or white ?

Postby r3iXmann » October 15th, 2009, 10:18 am

red_dragon wrote:well if u refering to a certain tuner with an ES civic ... that is not a K26

unless there is another

well there is one is a Dc5 ... also

soo he put the 26 in the dc5 and put a 24 in the civic? the point is the civic had a 26 at some point in time. right? right! :lol: 8-)

misdirectionfail.

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » October 15th, 2009, 10:31 am

The owner of those cars in question will have to answer that one

but would have been more like a

BRIAN CROWER 2.7L STROKER KIT :D Yes ? Yes

Postby Sky » October 15th, 2009, 12:20 pm

honda hoe wrote:
pycho wrote:i see plenty honda fellas running down b18c1 gsr in bamboo n thing n the hp is the same as a b16a4... 170hp...

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

wikipedia FTL

How much hp does the C1 actually run? Massala boy ever dyno his?
Lots of people look to wiki for the answer so I won't trust much numbers online now.

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » October 15th, 2009, 12:48 pm

the B18c1 and b18c5 is US

the JDM GSR and ITR just have b18c ....

http://www.phearable.net/tech/wiring/enginecodes.html
Last edited by red_dragon on October 15th, 2009, 12:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

pycho

Postby pycho » October 15th, 2009, 12:50 pm

Postby r3iXmann » October 15th, 2009, 12:57 pm

also note that the numbers posted are bhp

whp is about 15-30% less than that, depending on transmission,wheels etc

pycho

Postby pycho » October 15th, 2009, 1:04 pm

reiXmann wrote:also note that the numbers posted are bhp

true.... so one should consider these factors when comparing stock engine whp...

Postby r3iXmann » October 15th, 2009, 1:15 pm

pycho wrote:
reiXmann wrote:also note that the numbers posted are bhp

true.... so one should consider these factors when comparing stock engine whp...

Well yeah, but another major thing you have to factor in are the gear ratios and the theory/philosophy behind which honda put into the engine. i.e let's take the J swap for example..it's a torque monster, quite impressive,but honda made it for a large, heavy ass touring car. Saw a vid on youtube where a dude did a J swap into an EK hatch and did 13.22 on the q/m. Not impressive (or even practical), AT ALL, given the cost and labour needed for the swap. The K20A (type r) is such a winning engine because of the gear ratios/gearing,imo. Honda come real good there. But at the end of the day,the philosophy behind it is that it's designed for circuit racing..so it really shines in the mid range. Anything you get from top end/drag racing is just a bonus 8-)

Using stock bhp should just be used as a basic guide as far as i'm concerned

Return to “HONDA”