Crankshaft bolt

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

keepwalking

Crankshaft bolt

Postby keepwalking » June 23rd, 2004, 8:15 am

To the honda experts,

My Crankshaft bolt broke , causing piece to remain in the crankshaft and damaging the pully

What could cause this bolt to break (as, is not suppose to be one of the stronger parts to the car)

And can someone recommend a mechanic within the San F'do, Penal area who can deal with honda cars

I have an EG8 1.5 vtec

NickJr.
Location: The Finish Line. So Elusive For Something That Never Moves

Postby NickJr. » June 23rd, 2004, 1:27 pm

How did it break is the first question. To get it out... extractor bit with your drill or as I have seen some people do, use a chizzle and break it out (not recommended)

keepwalking

Postby keepwalking » June 23rd, 2004, 2:48 pm

It broke when my mechanic was taking it out, It started when i heard a noise driven, on reaching my mechanic, the pully was wolbing. The bolt would not move for nothing, they heated the bolt and used an air gun,

Postby X2 » June 23rd, 2004, 7:37 pm

Sounds like the bolt was put on too tight... got the shizz stretched out of it and eventually snapped.

Pray you didn't damage the snout of the crank.

Postby crazybalhead » June 24th, 2004, 9:31 am

Another one bites the dust.

Fella, start looking for a crankshaft or another engine one time. Zort and myself had the same problem. The bolt will never go back in properly.

katana

Postby katana » June 24th, 2004, 2:25 pm

that bolt is the one yuh does have to break when yuh changing timin belt right?...my 99 lev have the same issue. the bolt aint breaking for nutting and i have to change meh belt. they say it does have loctite on it so it does come like yuh weld on the bolt...plus..i think is clockwise yuh does have to turn it to break it....not too sure though.

DIESELTRINI

Postby DIESELTRINI » June 24th, 2004, 3:20 pm

No, the bolt is not lefthand thread. It loosens anti-clockwise like any other bolt. I have found that the best way to break that bolt is not by sheer leverage (pipe on breaker bar), but by using a sharp blow. I usually do it by putting a breaker bar on it, then whacking the breaker bar with a heavy 4x4 piece of wood. Hit it HARD! Like if you trying to break it, a good sharp blow. It has never failed with me, and I have done quite a few like this.

Postby crazybalhead » June 24th, 2004, 5:28 pm

Allyuh be careful about advice please.

Inshan is correct.

Also please be careful about taking advice from people here, a lot of these guys don't know what they are talking about.

DIESELTRINI

Postby DIESELTRINI » June 24th, 2004, 5:32 pm

Mybe I should delete my post? I don't want anybody to come back and say they damage their car from using my method.

keepwalking

Postby keepwalking » June 25th, 2004, 8:07 am

Already got a pully and bolt of another engine, whether the bolt went back in properly, i don't know.

I need someone to recommend a mechanic that i can check to look over it for me within the Penal to San Fernando area

Postby crazybalhead » June 25th, 2004, 9:02 am

Invest some time and carry it by autonation. Yuh will not regret it. They will put it on a lift and check it properly.

keepwalking

Postby keepwalking » June 25th, 2004, 12:59 pm

Thank you for the info

DIESELTRINI

Postby DIESELTRINI » June 25th, 2004, 3:35 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Invest some time and carry it by autonation. Yuh will not regret it. They will put it on a lift and check it properly.

Why does it need to be on a lift to check if the bolt went in properly? Any DECENT mechanic can easily check that. In fact, as long as the pulley is not wobbling, and the bolt went in without excessive resistance, I would say he is ok. If you not confident, just have a good mechanic look at it.
DO you have a torque wrech keepwalking?

Postby crazybalhead » June 28th, 2004, 8:11 am

Inshan boy, the operative word dey is "DECENT". That eh easy to find. And if that pulley only wobbling a little bit self, yuh know what going on dey.

Return to “HONDA”