Breaking options

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

New Breed

Breaking options

Postby New Breed » July 30th, 2009, 8:13 pm

Hey guys sup? just wanna know my options, i have a ek3 vti comes with 10.3'' rotas... dose a good job... buh it dose fad after 3-4 aggressive stops... anyway what i wanna know is what r the swaps from other Honda cars i can use as a direct bolt up..LIKE PRELUDE OR ACCORD sum thing like that, no five lug conversion plz simple is d word. lookin 4 nottin less than ah 11'' rota and that would work with my abs, next thing has anyone has or have knowledge of the power slut big brake kit.. i think its a 12'' rota with some brackets to make your caliper fit, only one draw back at lest 4 me is rim size.. am not crossing 16''. tanks 4 the feed back guys!

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » July 30th, 2009, 8:45 pm

what brand of pads u using at present

New Breed

Postby New Breed » July 30th, 2009, 9:15 pm

Am usein aimco rotex 4 now. it one of the better brand i have used so far.

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » July 30th, 2009, 9:22 pm

ok

ever tried \\
Hawk or ebc

I used OEM , EBC on my sir and no problem,,, oem brake setup

best swap is from the Vtec prelude u can still run 15"

u are correct bout the power slot big brake

New Breed

Postby New Breed » July 30th, 2009, 9:27 pm

k kool so the prelude is a direct bolt up? Dose the sir has the same 10.3'' rotas and where can i find the ebc.. thanks dragon.

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » July 30th, 2009, 9:34 pm

for the prelude

u need to redrill the rotors there are 4x114

the brackets bolt up

for ebc check GPS

yes the SIR is bout the same size

B20VTEK

Postby B20VTEK » July 30th, 2009, 9:34 pm

Try ebc pads as mentioned

they lil pricy, but worth the cost, and last long

you can get them at GPS in St James
628 1278

easy solution to the brake fade, is stop driving like a jackass on the people and dem road

New Breed

Postby New Breed » July 30th, 2009, 9:40 pm

lol so how u know is not solodex i usein it 4 b20vtek???? plus jackass drivin doh work 4 me :?

B20VTEK

Postby B20VTEK » July 30th, 2009, 9:43 pm

relax its a joke
:wink:

and remember to use a rubbers when breaking
Breaking options
Last edited by B20VTEK on July 30th, 2009, 9:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

New Breed

Postby New Breed » July 30th, 2009, 9:44 pm

u done know lol

New Breed

Postby New Breed » July 30th, 2009, 9:57 pm

As we on d topic on breakin and i gettin good info without d spamers... my next mod is rear disc brakes... now i've heard all kind of thing with this upgrade... but am concern with 2 things... rear brakes lockin up before the front and well my abs hook up to d assemble or i have to look 4 ABS rear brakes 4 it to work tanks....

B20VTEK

Postby B20VTEK » July 30th, 2009, 10:55 pm

you will need rear abs hubs
also proper proportion valve

thats it i think

and word is braking

roshan01

Postby roshan01 » July 31st, 2009, 10:22 am

you asked about the power slot 12" rotors..
i have them on my honda and nun but 17" wheels will work on there..
the brackets are to adjust the calipers so the rotors would fit...
coupled with hawk pads and they work really great...
Last edited by roshan01 on July 31st, 2009, 10:27 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby r3iXmann » July 31st, 2009, 10:24 am

all this talk about braking,i hope is no sheit tyre you using eh :|

New Breed

Postby New Breed » July 31st, 2009, 6:32 pm

Good tires man...... so i have narrow it down to the prelude vtec 11'' brakes... So besides re-drilling, will the rota fit up without brackets... or u do u use the whole brake assembly (caliper & rota) and slap it on. :D

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » July 31st, 2009, 7:12 pm

u need rota, caliper and caliper bracket

New Breed

Postby New Breed » July 31st, 2009, 7:45 pm

Bamboooooo here i come :mrgreen:

ingalook

Postby ingalook » August 1st, 2009, 1:22 am

red_dragon wrote:u need rota, caliper and caliper bracket

You giving him your rims?

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » August 1st, 2009, 8:08 am

NO

that what he ask Rota not Rotor :roll:

moe

Postby moe » August 1st, 2009, 11:52 pm

well if you want to go with a aftermarket setup what alyuh think is a good set for EG considering wheel sizes an all I running 15 wheels, I know most kits you need to use 17's

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » August 2nd, 2009, 12:13 am

depends on your budget

wilwood has a kit for 15"

is an 11" rotor , 4 piston caliper

Postby X2 » August 2nd, 2009, 12:20 am

I highly doubt you are braking aggressively enough on the street to induce fade unless you are routinely making 80+mph dives to a stop an then back again to 80... so likely they are not bedded properly ("broken in")... It's imperative to get a good layer of friction material onto the rotor so the pads can grab properly.

As a note... putting a big a$$ rotor with a stock caliper is not a great solution for your problem... and adding rear disc brakes won't be a big difference either... the majority of your braking power is at the front of the car. I'd say focus on resurfacing your existing rotors, properly bedding in the pads... then from there you can think about a better set of pads and some steel braided brake lines in the future. Putting prelude/accord brakes on the car is doing exactly what you don't want... getting complicated. You now put yourself into a situation where you need to match a larger booster, master cylinder, different proportioning valve.... doing that properly is not simple.

New Breed

Postby New Breed » August 2nd, 2009, 8:07 am

Good info x2... my driving style is of the sprity type :twisted: ( not jackass driving ehh) so i have my fair shear of break fade..... so since heat is the cause of fade, my plan is to introduce a larger surface area to help dissipate it.. my brakes dose wuk ehh doh get me wrong... but i find after 2-3 hard stops is dose leh meh down a bit.... anyway i'll try the hawks or d green stuff.. buh ent them racin pads dose have to get hot to work good and are the hawks agrissive on the rotas? x2 i was just lookin 4 a honda swap with the bigger is better method but i'll try these pads....

JD......

Postby JD...... » August 2nd, 2009, 8:29 am

i running EBC ( i think) slotted and dimpled front rotors with mintex pads and i barely get any fade unless i makeing a hard run to toco or Las cuevas, X2 is correct "I'd say focus on resurfacing your existing rotors, properly bedding in the pads... then from there you can think about a better set of pads "
Try and not complicate your problem and somthing as small as slotted rotors work very well

Postby X2 » August 2nd, 2009, 9:44 pm

EBC and Hawk as well as most performance aftermarket suppliers make both street and track pads... most of what is offered in shops would be the street pad as that is what most drivers will buy/use.

JD's option is good for the 'spirited driving style' as you brought up. Slotted pads, although prone to reducing pad life, have a great upside... they get the pads up to temp quick and that works well with higher temperature brake pads (track pads). They also tend to 'scrub' the pad clean on each use.

I have driven low and high speed events on the same sized brake you have... and with a really basic pad... raybestos, stock, etc... and brake fade occured, but becomes predictable. But there is a significant difference in heat production when stopping or even slowing from 60, 80, 100 mph. Almost any OEM setup on the lower end hondas is going to suffer heat soak and the resultant fade after 3 or more slowing/stops from 90 or 100mph.

Postby r3iXmann » August 2nd, 2009, 9:55 pm

ENDLESS Y sport :fadein:

eg8

Postby eg8 » August 3rd, 2009, 7:22 pm

i heard that d hawk pads lock up so i heard...ques on my eg wats d recommended brake pads 2 use on stock rotors?

B20VTEK

Postby B20VTEK » August 3rd, 2009, 9:08 pm

eg8 wrote:i heard that d hawk pads lock up so i heard...ques on my eg wats d recommended brake pads 2 use on stock rotors?

don't believe everything you hear.

i have been running hawk pads since 2005

Recommended brake pads are OEM or Hawk.

eg8

Postby eg8 » August 4th, 2009, 9:52 am

B20VTEK wrote:
eg8 wrote:i heard that d hawk pads lock up so i heard...ques on my eg wats d recommended brake pads 2 use on stock rotors?

don't believe everything you hear.

i have been running hawk pads since 2005

Recommended brake pads are OEM or Hawk.

thanks for the info

jc

Postby jc » August 5th, 2009, 9:37 pm

B20VTEK / red dragon: the Hawk Pads you guys are referring to are the normal HP or HP Plus and the EBC are the Green Stuff :?:

Return to “HONDA”