Page 1 of 3
Cam question
Posted: May 15th, 2009, 12:57 pm
by De Dragon
If you swap in CTR cams and cam gears in a B16,can you use the B16B timing belt? I'm thinking yes......but WTF I know

Posted: May 15th, 2009, 4:44 pm
by red_dragon
parts list
CTR CAMS,GEARS are the same as the B16a
but most inmportant get the valve SPRINGS
U using your b16a timing belt
the B16B belt is longer same as a B18c belt
also look at gettin a chipped ECU ...
no piggy back mess
Posted: May 15th, 2009, 4:53 pm
by De Dragon
^^^ So the short answer is no?
Posted: May 15th, 2009, 4:57 pm
by dok_tec
have a question also , if upgrading cams away from honda is it easy to tune and sought out down here? with adjustable cam gears ,management who tunes cams properly concerning degreeing and clearances
Posted: May 15th, 2009, 5:10 pm
by red_dragon
De Dragon wrote:^^^ So the short answer is no?
Yes is no Used the B16a belt
dok - yes there are people who can do it
Posted: May 15th, 2009, 5:35 pm
by De Dragon
red_dragon wrote:De Dragon wrote:^^^ So the short answer is no?
Yes is no Used the B16a belt
dok - yes there are people who can do it
Thanks,now what to do with the B16B timing belt

Posted: May 15th, 2009, 7:24 pm
by r3iXmann
De Dragon wrote:Thanks,now what to do with the B16B timing belt

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... 1&start=40

Posted: May 15th, 2009, 7:33 pm
by red_dragon
it new or used
sell if new
will work on
B16b,b18c , LSvtec,crvtec
Posted: May 18th, 2009, 12:28 pm
by De Dragon
Oh yuh getting kicks on me!
They were thrown in with the sale BTW

Posted: May 18th, 2009, 8:28 pm
by Tuner....
A chipped ECU may not be the best idea......you should go down another path......
Posted: May 18th, 2009, 8:42 pm
by r3iXmann
Tuner.... wrote:A chipped ECU may not be the best idea......you should go down another path......
why not?
Posted: May 18th, 2009, 8:49 pm
by red_dragon
^X2
why not a chipped ECU .. he can get it based to his car...
Ectune is a good way to go does alot for a good price
Standalone ECU is over kill
Just do not recommend a VAFC or other piggy back ...
Posted: May 18th, 2009, 10:48 pm
by NY4PD
Tuner.... wrote:A chipped ECU may not be the best idea......you should go down another path......
Why not a chipped ECU.???
The best thing will be the chipped or standalone. But the chipped ecu is just fine with CromePro, Ectune, Neptune etc.. all these programs works great for tunning the car both boosting and N/A.
Posted: May 18th, 2009, 11:50 pm
by Tuner....
I have nothing against a chipped ECU....but just to go off and buy one doesn't make sense.....you should dyno the car....and have the ECU mapped to what you looking for....but just to by anyone may result in a lost in power rather than a gain.....meaning if you doing it do it the right way......
Posted: May 19th, 2009, 12:08 am
by red_dragon
that is the same point NY4PD and Myself made
and just for further info the CTR computer is OBD 2B
Posted: May 19th, 2009, 7:08 am
by r3iXmann
plus u get 2 step with a chipped ecu

Posted: May 19th, 2009, 7:24 am
by NY4PD
Tuner.... wrote:I have nothing against a chipped ECU....but just to go off and buy one doesn't make sense.....you should dyno the car....and have the ECU mapped to what you looking for....but just to by anyone may result in a lost in power rather than a gain.....meaning if you doing it do it the right way......
I agree with RedDragon comments, he OBD2 is not chippeable and to tune the car you will need the standalone or the chipped ecu. The chipped ecu is the way to go and it is the right way also just to let you know that.....you can make all the changes you want and more option at your hand as well....
Posted: May 19th, 2009, 7:33 am
by NY4PD
Tuner.... wrote:I have nothing against a chipped ECU....but just to go off and buy one doesn't make sense.....you should dyno the car....and have the ECU mapped to what you looking for....but just to by anyone may result in a lost in power rather than a gain.....meaning if you doing it do it the right way......
I forgot to mention that you get the Chipped ECU with the setup you have and it will bring you close to great gain in performance and then you can tweek the performance by a dyno tuner and you set to go....Im sure there is tuners in Trinidad know how to tune Neptune, CromePro and Ectune there...plus you save alot of $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$.........
Posted: May 19th, 2009, 9:26 am
by Tuner....
Red Dragon you only said that after i said he just shouldn't go and buy any chip...

The tuning was the main part.. but point taken ...and remeber it was just a CTR cam swap....it didn't have to be OBD2...just for further info....correct me if i'm wrong.....

Posted: May 19th, 2009, 9:43 am
by red_dragon
Tuner
concerning the OBD2 parts .. just did not want De Dragon to waste money on a Stock CTR ecu
as for the Chipped ECU forgot most just put it in and doh tune
so u were right in that sense...
Bless
Have fun with the CTR cams

Posted: May 19th, 2009, 12:44 pm
by De Dragon
red_dragon wrote:Tuner
concerning the OBD2 parts .. just did not want De Dragon to waste money on a Stock CTR ecu
Bless
Anyone running them or know of anyone running them? I want to make sure and do it right. Speaking of which,who is a good reliable mech to do the cam swap (and a couple other small things) by?
Posted: May 19th, 2009, 12:58 pm
by NY4PD
De Dragon wrote:red_dragon wrote:Tuner
Bless
Good Mechanic is
Tony in Couva Preysal
PH: 868-799-0188
Call him and tell him that Mr. Bean said to hook you up right....trust me he is good past good.....
Anyone running them or know of anyone running them? I want to make sure and do it right. Speaking of which,who is a good reliable mech to do the cam swap (and a couple other small things) by?
Posted: May 19th, 2009, 1:15 pm
by red_dragon
there are a few people I know
the CTR is the best B-series OEM cam power right through the power band
just make sure who ever u get to do it installs the CTR valve springs also
^ Tony
or
Jason in El Soccoro 7285644
BTW what is the mileage on your engine?
Posted: May 19th, 2009, 4:24 pm
by De Dragon
red_dragon wrote:there are a few people I know
^ Tony
or
Already have the CTR springs and retainers. Mileage on the engine is 130K.
Posted: May 19th, 2009, 4:29 pm
by NY4PD
De Dragon wrote:red_dragon wrote:there are a few people I know
^ Tony
or
If you going to put that set-up in the B16 you might want to put new cam gears and timing belt and water pump and seals at the same time....kill all those birds in one shot... then get the OBD-1 ECU and chipped and get the car tuned...
Posted: May 19th, 2009, 7:41 pm
by B20VTEK
you should do a baseline dyno as is
Posted: May 21st, 2009, 5:37 pm
by De Dragon
B20VTEK wrote:you should do a baseline dyno as is
Yeah I wanna do that.
Posted: May 21st, 2009, 8:06 pm
by Sky
How much for a chipped ecu so?
Posted: May 21st, 2009, 8:22 pm
by r3iXmann
Posted: May 21st, 2009, 8:23 pm
by De Dragon
NY4PD wrote:De Dragon wrote:red_dragon wrote:there are a few people I know
^ Tony
or
If you going to put that set-up in the B16 you might want to put new cam gears and timing belt and water pump and seals at the same time....kill all those birds in one shot... then get the OBD-1 ECU and chipped and get the car tuned...
That is the plan, to change all these as we're in there already.