Cam question

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

Cam question

Postby De Dragon » May 15th, 2009, 12:57 pm

If you swap in CTR cams and cam gears in a B16,can you use the B16B timing belt? I'm thinking yes......but WTF I know :lol:

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » May 15th, 2009, 4:44 pm

parts list

CTR CAMS,GEARS are the same as the B16a

but most inmportant get the valve SPRINGS

U using your b16a timing belt

the B16B belt is longer same as a B18c belt :D

also look at gettin a chipped ECU ...

no piggy back mess

Postby De Dragon » May 15th, 2009, 4:53 pm

^^^ So the short answer is no?

dok_tec

Postby dok_tec » May 15th, 2009, 4:57 pm

have a question also , if upgrading cams away from honda is it easy to tune and sought out down here? with adjustable cam gears ,management who tunes cams properly concerning degreeing and clearances

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » May 15th, 2009, 5:10 pm

De Dragon wrote:^^^ So the short answer is no?

Yes is no Used the B16a belt

dok - yes there are people who can do it

Postby De Dragon » May 15th, 2009, 5:35 pm

red_dragon wrote:
De Dragon wrote:^^^ So the short answer is no?

Yes is no Used the B16a belt

dok - yes there are people who can do it

Thanks,now what to do with the B16B timing belt :?

Postby r3iXmann » May 15th, 2009, 7:24 pm

De Dragon wrote:Thanks,now what to do with the B16B timing belt :?

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... 1&start=40

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » May 15th, 2009, 7:33 pm

it new or used

sell if new

will work on

B16b,b18c , LSvtec,crvtec

Postby De Dragon » May 18th, 2009, 12:28 pm

reiXmann wrote:
De Dragon wrote:Thanks,now what to do with the B16B timing belt :?

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... 1&start=40

Oh yuh getting kicks on me! :oops:
They were thrown in with the sale BTW :lol:

Tuner....

Postby Tuner.... » May 18th, 2009, 8:28 pm

A chipped ECU may not be the best idea......you should go down another path......

Postby r3iXmann » May 18th, 2009, 8:42 pm

Tuner.... wrote:A chipped ECU may not be the best idea......you should go down another path......

why not?

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » May 18th, 2009, 8:49 pm

^X2
why not a chipped ECU .. he can get it based to his car...

Ectune is a good way to go does alot for a good price

Standalone ECU is over kill

Just do not recommend a VAFC or other piggy back ...

NY4PD

Postby NY4PD » May 18th, 2009, 10:48 pm

Tuner.... wrote:A chipped ECU may not be the best idea......you should go down another path......

Why not a chipped ECU.???

The best thing will be the chipped or standalone. But the chipped ecu is just fine with CromePro, Ectune, Neptune etc.. all these programs works great for tunning the car both boosting and N/A.

Tuner....

Postby Tuner.... » May 18th, 2009, 11:50 pm

I have nothing against a chipped ECU....but just to go off and buy one doesn't make sense.....you should dyno the car....and have the ECU mapped to what you looking for....but just to by anyone may result in a lost in power rather than a gain.....meaning if you doing it do it the right way......

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » May 19th, 2009, 12:08 am

that is the same point NY4PD and Myself made :)

and just for further info the CTR computer is OBD 2B

Postby r3iXmann » May 19th, 2009, 7:08 am

plus u get 2 step with a chipped ecu :mrgreen:

NY4PD

Postby NY4PD » May 19th, 2009, 7:24 am

Tuner.... wrote:I have nothing against a chipped ECU....but just to go off and buy one doesn't make sense.....you should dyno the car....and have the ECU mapped to what you looking for....but just to by anyone may result in a lost in power rather than a gain.....meaning if you doing it do it the right way......

I agree with RedDragon comments, he OBD2 is not chippeable and to tune the car you will need the standalone or the chipped ecu. The chipped ecu is the way to go and it is the right way also just to let you know that.....you can make all the changes you want and more option at your hand as well....

NY4PD

Postby NY4PD » May 19th, 2009, 7:33 am

Tuner.... wrote:I have nothing against a chipped ECU....but just to go off and buy one doesn't make sense.....you should dyno the car....and have the ECU mapped to what you looking for....but just to by anyone may result in a lost in power rather than a gain.....meaning if you doing it do it the right way......

I forgot to mention that you get the Chipped ECU with the setup you have and it will bring you close to great gain in performance and then you can tweek the performance by a dyno tuner and you set to go....Im sure there is tuners in Trinidad know how to tune Neptune, CromePro and Ectune there...plus you save alot of $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$.........

Tuner....

Postby Tuner.... » May 19th, 2009, 9:26 am

Red Dragon you only said that after i said he just shouldn't go and buy any chip... :lol: The tuning was the main part.. but point taken ...and remeber it was just a CTR cam swap....it didn't have to be OBD2...just for further info....correct me if i'm wrong..... :?:

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » May 19th, 2009, 9:43 am

Tuner

concerning the OBD2 parts .. just did not want De Dragon to waste money on a Stock CTR ecu

as for the Chipped ECU forgot most just put it in and doh tune :roll:

so u were right in that sense...

Bless

Have fun with the CTR cams :twisted:

Postby De Dragon » May 19th, 2009, 12:44 pm

red_dragon wrote:Tuner

concerning the OBD2 parts .. just did not want De Dragon to waste money on a Stock CTR ecu

Bless

Anyone running them or know of anyone running them? I want to make sure and do it right. Speaking of which,who is a good reliable mech to do the cam swap (and a couple other small things) by?

NY4PD

Postby NY4PD » May 19th, 2009, 12:58 pm

red_dragon wrote:Tuner

Bless

Good Mechanic is

Tony in Couva Preysal
PH: 868-799-0188

Call him and tell him that Mr. Bean said to hook you up right....trust me he is good past good.....
Anyone running them or know of anyone running them? I want to make sure and do it right. Speaking of which,who is a good reliable mech to do the cam swap (and a couple other small things) by?

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » May 19th, 2009, 1:15 pm

there are a few people I know

the CTR is the best B-series OEM cam power right through the power band

just make sure who ever u get to do it installs the CTR valve springs also

^ Tony
or
Jason in El Soccoro 7285644

BTW what is the mileage on your engine?

Postby De Dragon » May 19th, 2009, 4:24 pm

red_dragon wrote:there are a few people I know

^ Tony
or

Already have the CTR springs and retainers. Mileage on the engine is 130K.

NY4PD

Postby NY4PD » May 19th, 2009, 4:29 pm

^ Tony
or

If you going to put that set-up in the B16 you might want to put new cam gears and timing belt and water pump and seals at the same time....kill all those birds in one shot... then get the OBD-1 ECU and chipped and get the car tuned...

B20VTEK

Postby B20VTEK » May 19th, 2009, 7:41 pm

you should do a baseline dyno as is

Postby De Dragon » May 21st, 2009, 5:37 pm

B20VTEK wrote:you should do a baseline dyno as is

Yeah I wanna do that.

Postby Sky » May 21st, 2009, 8:06 pm

How much for a chipped ecu so?

Postby r3iXmann » May 21st, 2009, 8:22 pm

Postby De Dragon » May 21st, 2009, 8:23 pm

NY4PD wrote:

^ Tony
or

If you going to put that set-up in the B16 you might want to put new cam gears and timing belt and water pump and seals at the same time....kill all those birds in one shot... then get the OBD-1 ECU and chipped and get the car tuned...

That is the plan, to change all these as we're in there already.

Return to “HONDA”