Licensed passengers for Honda Stream

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

prutoonkman

Licensed passengers for Honda Stream

Postby prutoonkman » April 27th, 2009, 3:34 pm

Hi TUNERS,

My RN3 Stream is licensed for 5 passengers even though it can accomodate 6 passengers (my family size) comfortably. Anyone out there with a Stream or Mazda Premacy or Peugot 307 SW can tell me how many passengers it is licensed for? The insurance is based on 5 passengers since it is licensed for 5 and if I want to insure for 6 then I have to pay more money.

Thanks in advance.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » April 27th, 2009, 4:00 pm

If it is licensed for 5 passengers then the insurance wouldn't/shouldn't insure for 6 passengers and even if for some reason they did, carrying 6 passengers would still be illegal.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » April 27th, 2009, 5:53 pm

As DTAC said once it is licenced for 5 passangers then insurance will not insure it for 6 you will have to go back to licencing office first and get it changed on the certified copy

Most insurance doh even want to insure your vehicle for 6 passangers because of the amount of accidents
the only reason i got my prarie insured as a seven seater is because i was an "old " costumer.
Or you can use the insurance those taxi drivers use but u at your own risk

prutoonkman

Postby prutoonkman » April 28th, 2009, 10:07 am

My problem is not with the insurance, it is with the licensing office. I need to know if there are any inconsistencies. As such, I would be grateful if anyone with a local Stream can tell me how much passengers it is licensed for.

prutoonkman

Postby prutoonkman » April 30th, 2009, 8:59 am

I happened to see someone with a local stream who incidentally was a colleague of mine 24 yrs ago. His stream is registered for 7 passengers. This clearly shows that the license offfice is inconsistent so my question is now how to proceed to deal with the situation.

suhuso

Re: Licensed passengers for Honda Stream

Postby suhuso » May 24th, 2011, 6:02 pm

I had to pay for additional multi-passenger cover on the insurance for my 2005/6 Stream since it IS a seven-seater vehicle. It was licensed as such based on the individual seating (3 rows, 2-3-2 including the driver) and belting arrangement.

prutoonkman

Re: Licensed passengers for Honda Stream

Postby prutoonkman » May 30th, 2011, 6:21 pm

Thanks Man, I haven't gone to license office as yet but will do so soon to get it changed. The extra money is not a problem.

Return to “HONDA”