Oil's

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

mazdaspeed62

Oil's

Postby mazdaspeed62 » May 26th, 2004, 9:21 am

ah want to change the engine oil and tranny oil on my single vtec civic
which brand and spec do i use???? :?: :?: :roll:

Postby Dave » May 26th, 2004, 11:10 am

engine, is your personal preference
tranny is Honda oil only

Yeo

Postby Yeo » May 26th, 2004, 11:31 am

Royal Purple.

Mini

Postby Mini » May 26th, 2004, 12:50 pm

tranny is Honda oil only

seconded

Clerique

Postby Clerique » May 26th, 2004, 4:40 pm

Mini wrote:
tranny is Honda oil only

seconded

Thirded...lost one using normal ATF :cry:

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » May 26th, 2004, 5:13 pm

^ATF?

Postby Dave » May 26th, 2004, 5:17 pm

atf could be the dexron III stuff or the atf +3 for electric type trannys like the mitsu ones, neither is good for the honda

mazdaspeed62

Postby mazdaspeed62 » May 26th, 2004, 5:27 pm

where do i get honda tranny oil?

AWD Motorsports

Postby AWD Motorsports » May 27th, 2004, 1:09 am

check El Socorro Auto Supplies for the Honda Trans Oil, i use Quaker State for the engine oil.

mazdaspeed62

Postby mazdaspeed62 » May 27th, 2004, 12:24 pm

cool thanks

Spyrogyra

Postby Spyrogyra » May 27th, 2004, 2:08 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:^ATF?

Alcohol Tobacco and firearms :lol: :lol:

ok ok ok ok automatic transmission fluid

Spyrogyra

Postby Spyrogyra » May 27th, 2004, 2:09 pm

mazdaspeed62 wrote:where do i get honda tranny oil?

call this number 628-1278 ask for Gavin he's got Honda Genuine ATF for $50 a qt.

RuffNeck

Postby RuffNeck » May 27th, 2004, 2:15 pm

Jed it had real HEATED discussions on a forum about this same oil thing ............. the majority rule Castrol GTX 20W 50 . Odder than that i hear men using the same GTX but a different body like the 10W 30.

Also discussions bout whether normal blend or sythetic blend. And basically it boild down to if yuh running a brand new engine its better to use the synthetic.........but as ur engine gets older (like mine, i'm running a 99' B16a) itys better to use the normal blend, i.e castrol GTX 20W 50.

As for than tranny fluid....use the recommended HONDA ATF Z1....no problems thus far

If yuh want a place that is sell the castrol cheap ......check the store on the main road going to cocoyea right after the corner where they's sell cocnut in the day and oysters in the night..............$18 a quarte........$66 a gallon.........cheapest in sando

Clerique

Postby Clerique » May 27th, 2004, 2:49 pm

Spyrogyra wrote:

That's what I meant. :mrgreen:

Jinx2004Riceboy

Postby Jinx2004Riceboy » May 30th, 2004, 8:00 pm

FYI-I have a D15B aproaching 200,000 miles. I would highlt recommend runnin a bit heavier oil for a high milage engine and stayin away from the synthetic blends. The synthetic is generally a "thin" oil, so you get blowby a bit easier than you would if you used a comparable "regular" oil. Am I right guys?

RuffNeck

Postby RuffNeck » May 31st, 2004, 9:32 pm

Scene, riceboy !!!!

Jinx2004Riceboy

Postby Jinx2004Riceboy » June 1st, 2004, 4:57 pm

Wha??!! :roll:

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » June 1st, 2004, 6:27 pm

Spyrogyra wrote:

Cya remember de last time i change dat nah :?

Postby Dave » June 2nd, 2004, 8:32 am

Cya remember de last time i change dat nah

please change it then, the auto trannys in the hondas esp. under abnormal driving needs changing with genuine honda atf

keepwalking

Postby keepwalking » June 17th, 2004, 3:00 pm

There is a place in Debe that sells the Tranny fluid for $45.00 a quart.
(Khemraj Auto Supplies)

BassMekanik

Postby BassMekanik » June 17th, 2004, 11:19 pm

Fellas i use Fully Synthetic Mobil 1 motor oil which i changed in my SiR recently and also im gonna get the Mobil 1 Fully Synthetic ATF fluid. Just that its $65 a bottle. Yikes!

Spyrogyra

Postby Spyrogyra » June 18th, 2004, 7:26 am

keepwalking wrote:There is a place in Debe that sells the Tranny fluid for $45.00 a quart.
(Khemraj Auto Supplies)

That man have everything for a lil lil store eh ?

Spyrogyra

Postby Spyrogyra » June 18th, 2004, 7:28 am

BassMekanik wrote:Fellas i use Fully Synthetic Mobil 1 motor oil which i changed in my SiR recently and also im gonna get the Mobil 1 Fully Synthetic ATF fluid. Just that its $65 a bottle. Yikes!

Dude, read and understand ok ? Mobil 1 ATF may be well and good for any other tranny, but if you have a Honda of ANY KIND don't use anything other than the Honda ATF, you will live to regret it if you don't. :D

BassMekanik

Postby BassMekanik » June 18th, 2004, 7:33 am

Spyrogyra wrote:
BassMekanik wrote:Fellas i use Fully Synthetic Mobil 1 motor oil which i changed in my SiR recently and also im gonna get the Mobil 1 Fully Synthetic ATF fluid. Just that its $65 a bottle. Yikes!

Dude, read and understand ok ? Mobil 1 ATF may be well and good for any other tranny, but if you have a Honda of ANY KIND don't use anything other than the Honda ATF, you will live to regret it if you don't. :D

How so? Because i referred to my honda service manual and also read the full specs of the mobil oil and they seem to be well suited to work.

Spyrogyra

Postby Spyrogyra » June 18th, 2004, 7:57 am

Well all I can really say to that is I kinda listen to the experience of others that know more than I do and in a case where the the name of the manufacturer of my car and the brand-name of the transmission fluid are the "same" then I would rather buy that one.
Honda ATF is made to OEM specifications, I am not one of the engineers that designed these transmissions, I don't have the technical specs on the seals and the clutches they're using and even if I did, I wasn't going to pay $20 more for an oil that most honda owners would pass over for a bottle of the genuine ATF.
Now I understand that you want the best for your car, we all do, but in some cases what is best may not be what you or I think becasue we don't know everything. :mrgreen: respek !

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » June 18th, 2004, 8:35 am

hear wah, once you have a trany, Honda ATF, NOTHING ELSE....
and that is the samething them nissan cvts running down to use...
as for the motor, fight over that one.
i use Quaker State 10-30
Last edited by kes_vtec on June 19th, 2004, 2:59 am, edited 1 time in total.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » June 19th, 2004, 12:54 am

use only honda ATF - you can get this at Sherif in south , or in classic motors

Mini

Postby Mini » June 19th, 2004, 12:05 pm

don't quote me on this, but the Honda Oils and ATF are all made by Mobil 1

so IMHO you better off using the Honda ATF since it cheaper than the Mobil 1 and is probably the same stuff.

But even if it isn't... I still recommend sticking with the Honda ATF.

Return to “HONDA”