Gimme some head?

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

Jinx2004Riceboy

Gimme some head?

Postby Jinx2004Riceboy » May 24th, 2004, 9:01 am

So I might replace my head on my D15B2 until I can afford to get a whole engine swap. What kind of complete head (by complete I mean valves, retainers, springs, seals, etc.) can I put on it besides stock? Would a Si head work (D16A6?) What should I expect to pay for labor to replace the head. I believe my valve seal are shot, so I just want to play it safe and replace the whole top end. I checked around for a head (inlinefour.com and a few others) but they want $480+!! My engine costs about that!

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » May 24th, 2004, 4:14 pm

480 US r tt?

if its US (which im guessing it is at that price) and you cant find a better price, consider changing entire engine...although keep in mind labour would be more + other things would need to be adjusted/changed if diferent engine obtained!

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » May 24th, 2004, 4:36 pm

I dont think this is possible, but im not 100% sure. One of the more experienced honda guys would be able to tell yuh fuh sure.

Spyrogyra

Postby Spyrogyra » May 24th, 2004, 5:05 pm

Dude, if you're in Fl. inline4 has a bunch of complete honda engines to sell, I'm sure you could find something better than the d15. even so you could check e-bay

Postby X2 » May 24th, 2004, 5:21 pm

Where are you located in Florida... there are MANY shops that can hook you up with sohc engines or heads... some shops sell them for MEGA cheap.

You can swap on a d16 head and gain some compression, but to do that properly, you will need a different timing belt and a couple other parts for it to be reliable. Damn... your in florida... check JDM motorsports or Honda Specialists in the NW... hook up with a cheep integra LS motor and get some torque.

Jinx2004Riceboy

Postby Jinx2004Riceboy » May 25th, 2004, 1:12 am

The problem is, money is a factor. I can't really afford to do a swap the proper way I want (change timing belts, water pump, etc). I know I'd be abl to replace the head myself in my driveway. I want to stick to a brand new head or at least a rebuilt one because of reliability. I just need this engine to last me a little while longer. So is it worth it to just replace the head for now due to $$ constraints? The labor is where all the money goes, right? :? I would be interested in swapping in a D16 head. You have any info regarding this X2? Sorry I'm such a pain in tha arse :mrgreen:

Postby X2 » May 25th, 2004, 10:41 am

Bascially, the swap is simple... a D16 head onto a d15 block... You should consider a few things when doing this... you mentioned you wanted reliablilty... depending on how much longer you want this engine to run... you should consider simply investing in a new timing belt and water pump and some seals etc instead of swapping heads ! lol

Well... first off... exactly what engine do you have ? usdm, jdm, what engine code and model year of your car ?
It makes little difference... but good to know since you're asking.

Just so you know.. this actually has a name. It's called a Mini-Me swap and is commonly done to eek out some performance from the weak d15 on a budget. you will prolly be able to raise your compression ratio to as high as 10:1 (some say higher, but they're wrong...heh). And a little more if you use the d16y8's headgasket (thinnest sohc headgasket made)
You'll need: a D16Z6 cylinder head (complete- valve cover, distributor, spark plugs, spark plug wires...your d15 wires won't fit !), D16Z6 timing belt (new please) *not the d15...not not not* , d16y8 head gasket (or the Z6, but the Y8 is thinner) and the p28 ecu for your transmission type.

That's basically it... the D series are really interchangeable and the swap is simple. The only other thing is to run vtec wiring if you don't already have them. I'd also recommend you change any gaskets and seals you can for longevity. You should also go to a step colder plug to deal with the increased compression.

Dirty Face

Postby Dirty Face » May 25th, 2004, 11:00 pm

I got a d series engine for sale if you want cheap

Jinx2004Riceboy

Postby Jinx2004Riceboy » May 30th, 2004, 8:06 pm

Dirty, I'd be interested in everything I need off that D for my DPFI to MPFI swap. I gotta do it eventually, right? So anyways, the ride is currently sitting in a garage awaiting new valve seal, retainers, etc.. I'm replacing this in hopes of making this engine last a bit longer in hopes of swapping it out soon.

Dirty Face

Postby Dirty Face » May 31st, 2004, 10:27 am

THE MONEY YOU SPENT ON THAT STUFF , PLUS LABOR, IS THE COST OF A D16 VTEC ENTIRE ENGINE... :? :?

DIESELTRINI

Postby DIESELTRINI » June 1st, 2004, 1:33 pm

Jinx, from your previous posts it would appear that your problem lies with your bottom end, and if so a head swap will do nothing to solve it.

I just received an email back from my friend in Bradenton, apparently his brother hasn't told him anything yet, so he said he will talk to him today and get back to me. SOrry it has taken so long, but this is kinda pumpkin-vine messaging.

I have 2 D16Z6's in parts at my house. Both have thrown rods, so the blocks are toast. What Dirty face said about the cost might be true, but then you still want to change timing belt, water pump, front seals etc. before you put up your new used engine, so it would still end up costing more.
Last edited by DIESELTRINI on June 1st, 2004, 1:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby X2 » June 1st, 2004, 1:53 pm

A new water pump, timing belt and oil pump in a tired d15 engine is much better than a tired d16 with used and abused parts. :wink:

Jinx2004Riceboy

Postby Jinx2004Riceboy » June 1st, 2004, 4:56 pm

Well, it's only costing me $100-$150 to replace my valve seals. Haven't picked up the car yet today, so we'll see if it's still smokin'. I guess I'll go from there. Thanx for keepin up on checkin' for a shop Ishan. Appreciate it bro. Maybe we can work somethin out for some parts Ishan? Don't count out my labor rates either, Dirty. I gots hookups bro. :wink:

Postby X2 » June 1st, 2004, 6:22 pm

$150 to replace valve seals ain't a hookup....:P

Jinx2004Riceboy

Postby Jinx2004Riceboy » June 6th, 2004, 7:54 pm

*Update* - Swappin out my tired D15 for a rebuilt D15. Joined a car club this weekend and we're doin it next Sunday. Has new pistons, ignition. It's quick as hell for a D15. Said it runs high 14s in the 1/4. This is outta a CRX. THAT'S A HOOKUP. :evil:

Postby X2 » June 7th, 2004, 1:15 pm

high 14's in a crx... don't expect 14's in any other chassis...aight ?!

Return to “HONDA”