B16A/B18 LOW BOOST or B18C-R or FRANK?
Posted: February 23rd, 2009, 10:57 am
by FORZA_PRETTYBOY
lookin at:
1. spendin 30k
2. 180whp
3. 14.7sec Q.M
4. Reliabilty
I HAVE A DREAM: A reliable 180whp fwd hatchback civic. Is dis possible with a 30k installed initial budget(will look at suspension & brakes separately)?
Lookin at a set-up dat could do a high 14s Q.M & can be dex nimble.
I'm leanin towards N/A(more props), but a boosted build is always excitin(not 2 sure how reliable this could b done without internals even at 7psi).
Although with a N/A set-up u get more respect,with a low boost system u could always do it properly & aim 4 higher HP(but again reliability is a concern).
I drove a frank already,great with d tq,but i like high revs,but how reliable is a frank under 7500rpm(i might b willin 2 sacrifice revs for tq),
Beat a ZC 7psi wit a stock Sir.
Drove a B18 black top(could only imagine how a B18C-R would feel).
Pros/Cons/Opinions all welcome
KES & all d Honda Guru's help me out

Re: B16AB18 LOW BOOST or B18C-R or FRANK?
Posted: February 23rd, 2009, 11:52 am
by Clerique
FORZA_PRETTYBOY wrote:lookin at: 1. spendin 30k, 2. 180whp, 3. 14.7sec Q.M. 4. Reliabilty.
14.7sec? why so exact?
You basically described the attributes of the 2nd engine in your thread title and it seems as though you just want confirmation.
Posted: February 23rd, 2009, 12:14 pm
by red_dragon
B18C
Posted: February 23rd, 2009, 12:19 pm
by g unit
hey bro u bought a ride as yet?
Posted: February 23rd, 2009, 1:17 pm
by QG
B18C-R for the way.
And work your way up from there.
Posted: February 23rd, 2009, 1:31 pm
by FORZA_PRETTYBOY
Posted: February 23rd, 2009, 2:28 pm
by SMc
B18C....Jackson later on if need be
Posted: February 23rd, 2009, 3:31 pm
by Clerique
FORZA_PRETTYBOY wrote:
i'm a big believer in power/weight
Come Las Cuevas in the morning.

Posted: February 23rd, 2009, 3:36 pm
by g unit
FORZA_PRETTYBOY, cool man. well i still lookin to buy an EK4, but not until i sell my Starlet
Posted: February 23rd, 2009, 3:57 pm
by SR
B18c NA
properly tuned with intake headers and exhaust
Posted: February 23rd, 2009, 6:15 pm
by FORZA_PRETTYBOY
q unit-hurry up & get d starlet sel nah
SR-why B18c N/A tuned as opposed to d other choices?,& B18c-R right?
Cleriq-got 2 work 2mor,wen i build d project-hatch den!
why every1 so far sayin B18c?, wat about d Boosted B16/18 or D Frank?
Posted: February 23rd, 2009, 6:19 pm
by g unit
FORZA_PRETTYBOY wrote:g unit-hurry up & get d starlet sel nah
i tryin but noone really interested, like real men tighten their belt
FORZA_PRETTYBOY wrote:why every1 so far sayin B18c?, wat about d Boosted B16/18 or D Frank?
i figure becuz those projects may be well over ur budget of 30k, i may be wrong
Posted: February 23rd, 2009, 6:31 pm
by Clerique
I say so because I have one and it takes a thrashing without issues.
Posted: February 23rd, 2009, 6:37 pm
by hatch is best
same here B18C
Posted: February 23rd, 2009, 6:50 pm
by red_dragon
best to go with
either b18c gsr or b18c type R
leave the frank alone with cost u over $30 to build properly
Posted: February 23rd, 2009, 7:13 pm
by jc
FORZA_PRETTYBOY: the EK4 you have to sell is a manual or auto

Posted: February 23rd, 2009, 7:14 pm
by g unit
jc, manual
Posted: February 23rd, 2009, 7:18 pm
by jc
g unit : thanks. check your pm.
Posted: February 23rd, 2009, 7:18 pm
by g unit
my pm?
Posted: February 23rd, 2009, 7:29 pm
by b18b_turbo
b18c....
but you will get a faster quartermile on that budget with a nissan boosted project....
PS: i doh like nissan....just looking at your goal and budget..
Posted: February 23rd, 2009, 7:37 pm
by B20VTEK
a 30 000 build b20 will blowaway ANY b18cR or b18C with the same $30 000 spent.
and will be more fun due to the torque
with that 30 000 budget you can have the block sleeved if needed, but its not necessary, ask red dragon.
Posted: February 23rd, 2009, 8:00 pm
by red_dragon
ah find my name coming up alot when things have to do with a CRVTEC
once u keep 7000-7500 RPM u safe with a stock B20 block
B20vtec the $30k was also based that he had NO engine to start
Posted: February 23rd, 2009, 8:07 pm
by FORZA_PRETTYBOY
red dragon-how much wil a properly built Frank cost & wil it hold out under 7500rpm?
jc-why u pm-ing q-unit bout my car?
b18b turbo-i don't care 4 a faster q.mile if i have 2 go nissan. i despise nissan, i always have 2 defend honda wit men in work,parthners,etc..
d sir i had b4 was used 2 show N/A SR20 men wat a stock Honda 1600cc can do.
i ran against a brown 14 once with a sr16 not realising my e-brake was stil up & gave him 3 lengths up 2 3rd.
i remember 1 guy in particular wit a silver B15,like he had now put in his SR & was showin it off 2 his parthners. he ask me 4 a run, he get 2lengths(i missed 3rd), he ask 2 go again(wrong choice), he got it by 4 lengths,apparantly d shame was 2 much,my boy gone straight home!, priceless!!!!!:mrgreen:

I really hate nissa.....,can't even say it, i'll rather go over budget dan go niss...
Posted: February 23rd, 2009, 8:23 pm
by red_dragon
this is based u have VTEC head and gearbox already
a good ECU , ectune or hondata s300 ( no VAFC mess)
bigger manifold and 68mm TB
stage 2 or 3 cams & springs
bigger injectors
fuel regulator
b20 block
arp head bolts
CRVTEC conversion kit
some higher comp pistons and better rods
good headers
2.5" exhaust
prices is up to the brands u buy
the other guys could add to the list if i left anything out
Posted: February 23rd, 2009, 8:42 pm
by jc
forza: he just replied to the question before you did
i go hit you a pm.
Posted: February 23rd, 2009, 9:11 pm
by Kinday
B18C is the platform you want.
BTW....So fellas going Cuevas 2mrw **STEUPS** Why my timing so boy...I doing the IP Mas thing from 6am...oh well next time.
Posted: February 23rd, 2009, 10:10 pm
by SR
FORZA_PRETTYBOY wrote:q unit-hurry up & get d starlet sel nah
SR-why B18c N/A tuned as opposed to d other choices?,& B18c-R right?
Cleriq-got 2 work 2mor,wen i build d project-hatch den!
why every1 so far sayin B18c?, wat about d Boosted B16/18 or D Frank?
one day you will find out
pity you cant make the quevas run in the morning
Posted: February 23rd, 2009, 10:39 pm
by FORZA_PRETTYBOY
SR- 1 day i'll find out wat?,why 2 go B18C-R?,yeah i'm sorry i can't make d run 2mor,wat do uáll do by d way?,fwd driftin?
jc-how u so man?,i realised d dragon replied b4 i finished my message

,u pm-ing q-unit bout my car,high lightin stupidness?,u ain't easy!!!!!
WOULD REALLY LIKE 2 GO K,BUT DAT'S OVER BUDGET RIGHT NOW
so far d B18c-R has it, i guess d low boost B16/18 & Frank is out?
Posted: February 23rd, 2009, 10:50 pm
by red_dragon
Please DO NOT get SR started
if u cannot find a b18c-R the GSR is also a good platform
also check your PM
Posted: February 23rd, 2009, 11:46 pm
by jc
aw right nah forza
still waiting for a reply on the pm i sent you.