Page 1 of 2

b16a 180whp???

Posted: February 18th, 2009, 11:04 pm
by GONEEE TRUUUU.....
hey,,,uall think you can reach close to 180whp with a b16a without touching the block,,,???If you do head work maybe, some stage 2 cams,springs,port n polish,valve job, I/h/e,, vafc....has any1 ever put down so much with a b16??

Posted: February 18th, 2009, 11:38 pm
by hatch is best
B18LS................

Posted: February 19th, 2009, 9:12 am
by SR
it is possible

proper built head with intake exhaust and management

however i would suggest having the block balanced for reliability issues as cams will now allow above 9k rpm

Posted: February 19th, 2009, 9:57 am
by GONEEE TRUUUU.....
i c...has any1 ever actually put down those numbers down here??

Posted: February 19th, 2009, 11:24 am
by B20VTEK
you will not reach 180whp on a b16a with a vafc.

Posted: February 19th, 2009, 12:17 pm
by red_dragon
the top runners for B16A NA
are

Weaver - have not seen him on the forum in a long time though
Dragaholic

with track times to match

Posted: February 19th, 2009, 12:28 pm
by B20VTEK
should be

Dragaholic
Weaver

wonder where weaver is?
have not seen his car or heard about him for awhile

Posted: February 19th, 2009, 2:28 pm
by red_dragon
that for the correction
error was due to lack of Vtec :twisted:

last i heard weaver was trying to put in a Jet engine do not know how true :roll:

but back to the topic

only so call build to get a B16a stock bottom end to high numbers was the
omniman 200whp build

give it a try

Posted: February 19th, 2009, 5:06 pm
by BlueIce
wonder where weaver is?
have not seen his car or heard about him for awhile

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Posted: February 19th, 2009, 7:02 pm
by B20VTEK
ayay
this is the honda thead
no old s13 allowed
hehe

Posted: February 19th, 2009, 9:45 pm
by GONEEE TRUUUU.....
yeh ill try for it....

Posted: February 19th, 2009, 9:56 pm
by B20VTEK
pockets better be deep

Posted: February 19th, 2009, 10:07 pm
by c'vic
anyone kno where i could get a b16 to buy, and what price range? i'm in grenada and looking to have one shipped up.

Posted: February 19th, 2009, 10:09 pm
by B20VTEK
welcome to tuner

15 000 up in the bamboo
complete manual

Posted: February 19th, 2009, 10:20 pm
by red_dragon
GONEEE TRUUUU..... wrote:yeh ill try for it....

which u gonna try for 180WHP or 200WHP on the b16?

but before u start anything

GO DYNO THE CAR .. see what it making

either way

u looking at $15K

of all the NA B-Series engines I know of close to or over 200WHP were 1900cc or larger and alotttt of parts

doh just do the MAGAZINE BUILD it doh always work ..

Posted: February 19th, 2009, 11:21 pm
by B20VTEK
15k?
i say much more

Posted: February 19th, 2009, 11:26 pm
by GONEEE TRUUUU.....
hmm i c....i wantd t try for 180whp....i dynoed the car at 149 alredy....

Posted: February 19th, 2009, 11:39 pm
by B20VTEK
31 more to go
u will HAVE to raise cr 1 point
ported head - 5000+
agressive cam + springs + retainers = 7000tt?
toda header=10 000 tt
2.5" exhaust=2000?
type r tb + manifold-2500?
management-4500?

how much we reach?>

vs

stock build b20 with type r cam

Posted: February 19th, 2009, 11:41 pm
by B20VTEK
add labour
headgasket
seals
headstuds if not reusing headbolts
tune

Posted: February 19th, 2009, 11:47 pm
by GONEEE TRUUUU.....
i cant use the vafc to tune it??i have headers n full exhaust on it alredy,,,wat abt crower stage 2 cams n springs?? i priced it at 4500tt...well i hafta get the tb n manifold....i was also thinkin abt goin frank bt does evrything bolt back up meaning ps,compressor, alt,,engine mounts etc??i knw the gbox works back up...any other advice on the frank build??parts needed??

Posted: February 19th, 2009, 11:47 pm
by red_dragon
well said mr B20

only thing is disagree with

stock build b20 with type r cam

building a stock b20 bottom end doh make sense

sleeve the block :twisted:
raise the CR then u got a monster :twisted:

and to build a good CRVTEC is $25-30K

doh regret my build
but next time gonna build a LS (block is stronger) then i would not have any problem swinging 10K :twisted:

Posted: February 19th, 2009, 11:51 pm
by B20VTEK
dont have to sleeve the b20 block

just dont overheat or detonate and you will be fine

i was just saying a bone stock b20 with vtec and type r cam tuned will walk on a b16a fully built.
even if it looses it will surely be more fun and feel really good with gobs of torque from 3000rpms up

Posted: February 19th, 2009, 11:54 pm
by B20VTEK
vafc cannot tune timing
thats where you make power
not from fuel, to a certain extent.............
i dont feel to type too much its 12 so dont get too 'technical' and anal guys

how much hp does the stage 2 crower claim to give

what headers do you have?
if its not toda your wasting time

everything bolts back up on a frank
its a b series.

Posted: February 20th, 2009, 7:14 am
by red_dragon
B20VTEK wrote:dont have to sleeve the b20 block

just dont overheat or detonate and you will be fine

i was just saying a bone stock b20 with vtec and type r cam tuned will walk on a b16a fully built.
even if it looses it will surely be more fun and feel really good with gobs of torque from 3000rpms up

point taken and proved

cause there were 2 B20 builds in the past runnin higher than 12:1CR stock block ... they held up till they started to see 9K+ RPM :twisted:

Posted: February 20th, 2009, 7:15 am
by red_dragon
B20VTEK wrote:what headers do you have?
if its not toda your wasting time.

but what is your view on the Hytech
saw u have that for sale :roll:

Posted: February 20th, 2009, 8:34 am
by B20VTEK
hytech is great header for a 1.8 motor and bigger.
but not for a 1.6
it looses midrange and gains a few poines up top

but with a b20 has so much torque and wide powerband, when b16a spin 10 000 to make 200 hp, they can do the 200hp at a lower rpm, say 8500rpms.

rpm = ruin peoples motors

Posted: February 20th, 2009, 8:38 am
by honda hoe
red_dragon wrote:the top runners for B16A NA
are

Dragaholic

so who u feel B20VTEK is :lol:

Posted: February 20th, 2009, 8:49 am
by B20VTEK
honda hoe wrote:
red_dragon wrote:the top runners for B16A NA
are

Dragaholic

so who u know B20VTEK is :lol:

fixed

you dont have a container to clear or something?

runs back making pizza

Posted: February 20th, 2009, 8:52 am
by honda hoe
you dont have a container to clear or something?

nah boy

carnival friday

rum whole day

:mrgreen:

Posted: February 20th, 2009, 8:54 am
by honda hoe
btw ppl...

if u have a b16

would u prefer to build an lsvtec

or jus swap in a b18c type r?