Advice on engine upgrade, please

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

Krakkle

Advice on engine upgrade, please

Postby Krakkle » May 10th, 2004, 4:31 pm

Guys, My pal has an LEV, CVT, '99 Civic w/ EK series engine.... looking to get better performance..... cause you other Civics too impressive on de road and he gettin' leave out too often!

Would welcome ideas on possible CVT "hop- ups"

Any other recommendations...B series.... D series, gearbox, harness, ECU etc., price ranges for straightforward installation (based on you all experiences)?

Dirty Face

Postby Dirty Face » May 10th, 2004, 9:49 pm

what he wants specifically or at least a PRICE RANGE.. I eh have time to type meh heart out///

hilux junkie

Postby hilux junkie » May 10th, 2004, 11:09 pm

check dave :twisted: he did lil mods on a cvt and get it wokkin

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » May 11th, 2004, 9:58 am

If you want to stick with the CVT check Mr. Fixables, he is the man for that!

Postby crazybalhead » May 13th, 2004, 4:53 pm

Yuh know!

But it sounding like an automatic OBD II B16A is the way to go. That will run you about 6000-8000 plus 2000 installation and cater 1000 for miscellaneous sh.it

Look for a front cut with ALL the parts including mounts and axles BEFORE you start. I also would recommend Autonation to do the swap.

You will have gremlins for a couple weeks to a couple months after.

If yuh want Manual...that is a whole nex story.

skindog

Postby skindog » May 21st, 2004, 5:49 pm

But if yuh could spend ah couple g's more go for the CTR B16b you wont regret it....

Postby crazybalhead » May 21st, 2004, 5:51 pm

AND where pray tell will he gat that mr. Dog?? Cause if you know I will take one! :lol:

skindog

Postby skindog » May 24th, 2004, 10:30 am

crazybalhead wrote:AND where pray tell will he gat that mr. Dog?? Cause if you know I will take one! :lol:

jus giving the man ah lill more advice crazy.. :D we all know how hard and rare them thing is to come by.. but just to let you know Krakkle the CTR's and ITR's are manual only... i've never heard any came auto..

Clerique

Postby Clerique » May 24th, 2004, 1:03 pm

As Dirty say, what is your budget dude?

Clerique

Postby Clerique » May 24th, 2004, 1:22 pm

One more thing...he will never be the fastest one the road.
I have a CVT they are boring but with have their advantages.
Start with a nice exaust and work your way forward.
2.5" should be your max size on that 1500.
If you have the Vtec, you can get a nice CAI from Legal Imports 663-9094
As a matter of fact call and tell him what engine you runnin, he has a lot of bolt-on parts.
If you wanna swap, call ANP as they said above.

Return to “HONDA”