EG Si Engine
Posted: July 25th, 2008, 9:14 pm
by jc
guys.
looking for some info.
did any of the local SI's that classic brought in, auto or manual, come with a b16a or strictly d16z6
thanks.
Posted: July 25th, 2008, 9:32 pm
by SR
local eg si came with a d16a9 1600 twin cam non vtec manual
Posted: July 25th, 2008, 9:46 pm
by jc
thanks for that
but aren't there some auto's out there as well
i guess is the same engine though

Posted: July 25th, 2008, 9:53 pm
by paz
yup same engine
Posted: July 25th, 2008, 10:02 pm
by jc
thanks for clearing up that guys

Posted: July 26th, 2008, 1:30 pm
by pornstar4777
Give Classic a call why don't you!

Posted: July 26th, 2008, 4:10 pm
by Sky
I know someone with one and wanna sell it if you're interested. He had it in an Si and has it in an eg9 now.
Posted: August 11th, 2008, 11:31 pm
by jc
thanks for the offer sky but was just looking for some info
another question
the local manual hatchback EG SI's are EG5

Posted: August 11th, 2008, 11:37 pm
by r3iXmann
correct ^
Posted: August 12th, 2008, 7:06 am
by jc
thanks man
which is easier/more available to swap in, a b16 or b18

Posted: August 12th, 2008, 8:52 am
by r3iXmann
b18 is more expensive..but would generally be the better swap (in terms of power/finding a good gearbox/engine that hasnt been abused). d&d supposed to have some foreign used ones
Posted: August 12th, 2008, 1:44 pm
by crazybalhead
HAHAHA Good lucka at calling classic, they don't even know what an EG5 is and swears they are foreign used, when is them same muffler bearings that sell them.

Posted: August 12th, 2008, 1:54 pm
by SR
eg5 export to uk and trinidad
came with a d16a9 engin manual 4 wheel disc brakes and sunroof
easiest swap will be a b16a as original harness can be used with addtion of a couple wirer as its obd1
b18c will be obd2 and some more wires to run
a well tuned stock b16a will run quite nicley in this chassis
ent dragaholic
Posted: August 12th, 2008, 9:49 pm
by jc
thanks for al the useful info guys
what kinda cost for a conversion to either the b16a or b18c am i looking at if the car is already manual
who do you guys recommend

Posted: August 13th, 2008, 12:47 am
by Sky
You might face a ~3 g's bill for the actual engine swap. Add some more if you got an obd2 b16a or a b18c like SR said. A b16a with gearbox goes for ~14 g's and a b18c ~ 18-20
Posted: August 14th, 2008, 2:48 pm
by jc
how can i tell the difference between the obd1 an obd2 b16a
who can handle the changeover with no problems

Posted: August 14th, 2008, 6:29 pm
by Sky
1st I believe the obd1 has 'DOHC' bigger than 'VTEC' on the valve cover, and obd2 has it the other way around...... I BELIEVE. But don't rely on that. If not, the dizzy caps are different. Someone who knows will come and tell you. Then there's the ecu itself. You can google this for pics of the 2 different types ( there 2 for obd2, a and b), Quickest way to identify, the obd2a and 2b each has 3 plugs for 4 sockets, once's always blank. With the obd1 there's no blank space.
Check Paul if you want. 733-5217. Would do the swap like any mechanic would, but he's a boss with the wiring.
obd1 business
obd2 business (note the blank space)