Coolant/Overheating problem(honda civic vtec)

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

trinimojo

Coolant/Overheating problem(honda civic vtec)

Postby trinimojo » May 8th, 2008, 7:57 am

Hi guys,
Its been a while since my last post...

Anyways...so I was coming down the highway (in traffic) and i noticed the temperature gauge was higher than it usually is (about quarter way from redline).

I pulled over immediately and popped the hood. Coolant was spewing out from just under the overflow bottle's cover...when the radiator cooled I checked it and it was dry.

I waited a bit for the engine to cool and filled up with coolant. It idled for a bit and the temperature remained at its normal level...when I got home the radiator coolant level did not drop so I eliminated any leaks???

Oil level was fine...didnt appear that coolant and oil mixed..neither was there oil in the radiator. So I'm hoping its not the gasket head.

So anyways what is your take on this guys?

One possibly stupid question I must ask...does the coolant require topping up ever so often? Cause I thought it was a closed system so it just circulated and didn't go anywhere...However I must add that the level in the overflow bottle has dropped since I changed coolant and filled up some months ago.
Well I sent the car to the mechanic today to check it out but I'm praying its nothing serious.

Any help or advice is welcomed..

Thanks

Hirotoshi

Postby Hirotoshi » May 8th, 2008, 9:07 am

moost likley you have a faulty thermostat.

trinimojo

Postby trinimojo » May 8th, 2008, 9:15 am

the mechanic check it and say the fan needs replacing...its an electric fan tho...

any advice on type,brand etc?

trinimojo

Postby trinimojo » May 8th, 2008, 10:14 am

i call a place in marabella and they have the fan for almost $500...
another place have a universal fan for $295

anybody have any experience with those universal fans?

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 8th, 2008, 11:10 am

you should also do a pressure test to make sure all your hoses are in order.
Do it one time, as the fan is being replaced.
Also you should ensure that the fan switch is working as it should.

trinimojo

Postby trinimojo » May 8th, 2008, 11:33 am

thanks

Civic Ryder

Postby Civic Ryder » May 9th, 2008, 12:22 pm

I am having a similar problem where the coolant leaves the radiator and goes into the over flow container. So every morning I throw it back into the radiator. My thermosat was removed a while ago. But this is a recent problem. My fan is working and I don't think it is the Gasket because I never overheated.

If you get a resolution, let me know

Laterz

Postby X2 » May 9th, 2008, 1:03 pm

no thermostat in a honda means you're always running overheated.

Check thermostat, rad cap and do a pressure test as advised.

moe

Postby moe » May 9th, 2008, 2:48 pm

I did not know that, so much to learn!

sinnas

Postby sinnas » May 10th, 2008, 7:51 am

1. Change the radiator cap (even if it good, changing it eliminates it ass a problem. plus it cheap so change it).

2. Double check ALL hoses for cracks or leaks. Just because the level of the coolant didnt drop doesnt mean you dont have a leak, it could be a small crack that the water just evaporates from, however the constant pressure will burst it soon. If hoses are old and funds are available, change all water lines one time (eliminates the that being the cause plus you need to do that anyway depending on the age of the car)

3. You could also try bridging the fan to let it run all the time once the car is on. Again depending on the age of the car, the fan does something called polling. (at least I think thats the name). Sometimes it turns on and sometimes it doesnt. So it could be coincidence that when you check the fan is on but sometimes its off. Bridging the fan is just temporary to see if you overheat again. If you dont for some days then its the fan. Change it. Or again depending on the model civic the fan is about $200 in d bamboo, change it and eliminate that problem.

Those are just possible solutions to check out. If yuh dont have time to do troubleshooting etc presurre test one time and that would help elimnate hoses, rad cap one time.

trinimojo

Postby trinimojo » May 13th, 2008, 6:24 am

Thanks guys...well the problem was the fan...the mechanic ran a diagnostic and picked it up..and when we actually checked it...the fan was sticking...

I bought a new fan for $395. So far things a looking normal...and i run that car up and down the highway everyday.

But sinnas thats good advice...I'll look into that

thanks again

blackcivic

Postby blackcivic » May 13th, 2008, 9:22 am

All really great advice and should clear up any overheating issues, also some hoses appear to be good but constrict under pressure or high volume flow so as reccomended by the other tuners, depending on the age of the vehicle and integrity of the hose you may want to change them out just in case (civic ryder this may be the problem you're having)(better safe than sorry) :D

mugen power

Postby mugen power » May 15th, 2008, 11:13 am

so a bad thermostat can cause this problem, with coolant being pushed back into the overflow bottle
i encountered this same problem on monday
but i had on the a/c and was running a bit hard

Civic Ryder

Postby Civic Ryder » May 23rd, 2008, 8:22 am

Trinimojo

Where did you buy the fan for $395???????

abbow

Postby abbow » May 23rd, 2008, 11:40 am

used to have this problem...ended up changing all main water hoses..
when they get pressure they used to close in....

if you changing them...use the ones with the wires inside the hose.

kevin310

Postby kevin310 » May 24th, 2008, 7:11 am

u should run that fan direct
sometimes the unit that controls when the fan comes on an off
that unit goes bad sometimes
and the fan just wont come on when it should
a pardnah ah mine engine overheat an mash op because ah that
u should make a pos run on a morning
an see if it overheat in traffic
i had a problem just liek that
i did everything
an it still uste to overheat in traffic
one day it just stop
an started workign good
so i just left it so

trinimojo

Postby trinimojo » August 25th, 2008, 9:10 am

Civic Ryder..sorry for the delay in my reply...i got the fan at MARUD's in Marabella

Return to “HONDA”