Pistons and boost

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

Saleem786

Pistons and boost

Postby Saleem786 » January 4th, 2008, 5:38 pm

Can stock pistons handle boost? 5-8psi

rudeboy

Postby rudeboy » January 4th, 2008, 5:48 pm

shouldnt be a problem for stock....
most factory boost comes to a max of about 9psi

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » January 4th, 2008, 5:56 pm

hondas come factory boosted? :|

The factory boosted cars you speak about come with lower compression pistons and are properly tuned for enough fuel under boost so that they don't go boom.

You'd need to have this thing properly tuned with EMS, upgraded injectors, perhaps pump and fpr, as the stock honda pistons are very high comp...almost 10:1 on a d15. What engine are you looking at boosting?

Saleem786

Postby Saleem786 » January 4th, 2008, 6:08 pm

9.2 or 9.6 i think is the compression. i have a d15b non vtec. was thinking about Hondata and AT to MT conversion but i think i wanna do all my mods first then do the conversion and lastly upgrade ecu, hondata s200/s300 (if boosted). what you guys think. also, is therer ANY factory boosted civics???

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » January 4th, 2008, 6:23 pm

i think there is a newer k-series for the US market that is boosted, and that is about it, but not the older (production) engines.

I believe that it is 9.6:1. What do you mean by mods? Injectors etc to support the boost? I'd suggest getting the hondata first, followed closely/in conjunction with the bigger injectors. You're going to lean that engine out if you just stick a turbo onto it. Auto to Manual can come last if you working on a monthly budget. Used to have a CVT boosted civic at solodex a few years ago w/o any problems.

PM kes_vtec for hondata info.

Saleem786

Postby Saleem786 » January 4th, 2008, 6:42 pm

Yea month to month stopped working cuz i'm in skl till july this yr so... In term of mods i already have intake and barrel on stock pipe so i was thinking cam, cam gear, polly fuel pump, definitely injectors looking at 310-370cc. the prob is i have a obd2 ecu and i need obd1 for hondata. if i do that now ill have to get another one when i change from auto to manual. i really dont see the point(since budget limited till august or so when i start back working) on spending cash on gearbox etc i wud prefer to invest in some 'serious' mods like cam etc. what u think?i'm no expert

Postby X2 » January 4th, 2008, 7:52 pm

Best you go that route and put in parts to support when you go boost.

You should get the engine management before the turbo upgrade so you can tune immediately. Yes, your pistons should be able to handle that low amount of boost... but the car must be tuned to a safe mixture or you will break something.

Fuel pump is a good start, switching to OBD1 is good also. You can also look at basic ignition upgrades (coil and/or msd system). Cam gear on that engine will only give you minor improvement and will cost more to adjust and tune than other bolt on modifications....best you save that bolt on money for the turbo system + EMS. If you MUST put something else on... go for a quality cat-back exhaust which will be an asset when you put on the turbo.

Best to plan a project like this long in advance so you don't ratch anything.

On that note, I believe Hondata still does not have support for automatic transmissions on hondas. You will need to run a different EMS like the AEM or Greddy emanage piggy back.

Saleem786

Postby Saleem786 » January 4th, 2008, 7:57 pm

i will be switching to maual before ems and boost will come in last. about the bolt ons what will you recommend? i thought the cam and cam gear would give alot more power but if not what other mods you think will be worth it?

Postby X2 » January 4th, 2008, 9:10 pm

Cam gears on sohc engines only shift the powerband... essentially you can make more power in one area, but lose it in another... fun to play with the power delivery, but not really worth it when the engine is stock... plus it's a cheap mod... you can always get one later when you get used to driving the car on the road and figure out what area of the band needs to be beefed up.

IMO what would be worth it (apart from attention to brakes an suspension) is the cat back, ignition upgrades and freshen up any seals, hoses and so on that need it.

rudeboy

Postby rudeboy » January 4th, 2008, 10:45 pm

flatline wrote:hondas come factory boosted? :|
i was talkin bout factory boost in general, not specifically honda

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » January 4th, 2008, 10:54 pm

X2 wrote:
Best to plan a project like this long in advance so you don't ratch anything.

On that note, I believe Hondata still does not have support for automatic transmissions on hondas. You will need to run a different EMS like the AEM or Greddy emanage piggy back.

that is right...

Honda_god1

Postby Honda_god1 » January 17th, 2008, 9:50 pm

i boosted my D15B ..it take it with stock pistons.. jus have to have your fuel right..
i didnt even do any management.. just fuel pump and regulator..stock boost ..engine perfomed nice..

paz

Postby paz » January 18th, 2008, 2:26 am

d16block
d16 intake manifold and tb
new seals, arp rod and head bolts ,piston rings
new water and oil pump

odd2 -1 conversion harness ,odd1 ecu ,chrome

dsm injectors 440cc and resistor box get a walboro pump one time

2core rad and upgraded cooling fan

get a proper turbo manifold and a good turbo and save yourself headache.

to lazy to type the rest of a long list.

i just woulda have done a auto to manual conversion first .

Saleem786

Postby Saleem786 » January 18th, 2008, 8:46 pm

Honda_god1 wrote:i boosted my D15B ..it take it with stock pistons.. jus have to have your fuel right..
i didnt even do any management.. just fuel pump and regulator..stock boost ..engine perfomed nice..

How much boost u running?
is it obd 1 or 2 ecu?
what size injectors u using and r u using stock fuel pump?
any other uogrades? thanks

paz

Postby paz » January 19th, 2008, 12:36 am

Honda_god1 wrote:i boosted my D15B ..it take it with stock pistons.. jus have to have your fuel right..

how long did it last? what kinda driving etc and at what boost?

Honda_god1

Postby Honda_god1 » January 24th, 2008, 3:47 am

i had stock injectors but walbro external fuel pump with a fuel regulator
obd1 and i was runnin stock boost 7lbs. but u ha to make sure ur fuel straight.
also i changed my radiator to a double core and had my fan direct..
cus trini hot sun doh help when u runnin a turbo car. plus civic notorious for small radiator.. .. i took out the turbo kit tho about last 2 weeks. i off that for now.. engine still working good. D15B have lower compression ratio than B16a so it better for boost. once ur headgasket never blow and u never shave yuh head and ting.. if u boost .make sure and tune it with a wideband ect. it will run run run plus vtec.. u doh even feel vtec lol . start at bout 5lb to be safe ..doh take chain up from men to hit big boost . on stock parts.. civic already high compression so it come like yuh civic engine come boosted from factory.. so 1lb ah boost have a bigger impact on performance..

Honda_god1

Postby Honda_god1 » January 24th, 2008, 3:47 am

ohh yea i turbo it since last yr july ..

Saleem786

Postby Saleem786 » January 24th, 2008, 7:09 am

u sellin yuh turbokit?Honda_god1,

Postby X2 » January 24th, 2008, 10:05 am

Honda_god1, you were using a boost dependant regulator ?

Saleem786

Postby Saleem786 » January 24th, 2008, 12:31 pm

was da?X2,

Saleem786

Postby Saleem786 » January 24th, 2008, 12:32 pm

daz d fuel regulator?? excuse my ignorance but hav not been around turbo too long now

Postby X2 » January 24th, 2008, 12:55 pm

the fuel pressure regulator is found on most fuel injected cars (that run a return type system) and is seen on the fuel rail... it will restrict fuel from going back to the tank, causing a the fuel pressure to increase at a 1:1 ratio to psi of air pressure (remember atmospheric air pressure, like the air you breathe, is around 14.7 psi, but shows up on a boost gauge as 0psi). When you put boost into the engine, every psi of boost pressure will raise your stock fuel pressure by that same amount (which is normally too little of an increase in fuel to keep the engine running safely).

To remedy this, an aftermarket part described as a boost dependant fuel regulator can be installed along with the stock or aftermarket adjustable fuel pressure regulator. These boost dependant units can increase fuel pressure at higher ratios than 1:1... they come in ratios like 2:1, 6:1, 10:1, 12:1, etc.... Using a 10:1 as an example, this means it will increase fuel pressure by 10psi for every 1psi increase in boost pressure.... this type of regulator is very commonly used by people to easily turbocharge an engine without needing a full engine management system... it's very cost effective, but not the most precise method of fuel delivery under boost.... but it does work.

Saleem786

Postby Saleem786 » January 24th, 2008, 3:35 pm

thanks for the info...

Postby Razkal » January 24th, 2008, 3:53 pm

^boost dependent regulators *i could be corrected or elaborated upon* are essentially rising rate regulators, they have a set fuel pressure initially say 40psi and once your turbo spools and u begin to go in boost, for every 1psi +ve manifold pressure, the regulator allows a 1psi increase in fuel pressure, that way as more air comes into the combusion chamber, more fuel in provided to be combusted with it.

you'll need bigger injectors to use this, you dont want to max out ur injector duty cycle.
like i said, i could be corrected or elaborated upon.

Postby X2 » January 24th, 2008, 4:08 pm

boost dependants give you more than the 1:1 ratio (read the post above).... and they are limited on the low end by the regulator on the fuel rail (ie: if the stock fuel regulator has a low of 30psi, the boost dependant unit will have a low of 30psi also).

Honda_god1

Postby Honda_god1 » January 24th, 2008, 11:17 pm

i get it sell already i jus have the pipin remain and de manifold. they use my stock manifold and make a collector box and put the plate for the turbo on it.. fit up neat .. Ac everything was workin.. if u wa the manifold and pipin i go give u for a bess price..Jimmy from MIC do the welding. .. as for my fuel regulator.. i couldnt get a 10:1 at the time so i buy a 1:1 and had the pressure high .. it could adjust so when i aint plan to drive hard i used to put it at base pressure..

Postby X2 » January 24th, 2008, 11:46 pm

got any pics of the manifold MIC welded ? welding cast manifolds is difficult.

Saleem786

Postby Saleem786 » January 24th, 2008, 11:48 pm

Postby X2 » January 24th, 2008, 11:58 pm

what turbo was it flanged for ?

Return to “HONDA”