Page 1 of 2

Whats de best brake upgrade to make..................

Posted: January 1st, 2008, 1:57 am
by HondaB20B
have de stock SIR brake rotors and callipers (front and back) with some Hawk pads (feels better with de pads). but it still realy aint stoping de car rite now. looking to install some S/S braided lines soon. whats anybody input on drilled rotors in reference to how it performed when they changed, or should i just upgrade to CTR or ITR brakes instead.

Posted: January 1st, 2008, 8:06 am
by De Dragon
whats anybody input on drilled rotors in reference to how it performed when they changed,

From what I've read/heard, slotted or cross drilled are really only cosmetic. Lemme see if I can find the article.

Posted: January 1st, 2008, 8:30 am
by ganjafarmer143
no no no ^^^ ....drilled rotors makes a difference....personal experience

Posted: January 1st, 2008, 9:41 am
by Sky

Posted: January 1st, 2008, 9:56 am
by HondaB20B

hahahahhahahhahaahhahaahhahahhah

= real $$$$$$$$$$$ too

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Posted: January 1st, 2008, 10:13 am
by Sky
Saw a guy with a set on the East side. Asked him what he had under the hood that he needed that. He said "B16A, but it have a cold air pipe jed, thas real speed!!"

I was like :|

Rich people yes..

Posted: January 1st, 2008, 10:14 am
by kes_vtec
i have some new brake lines here for you...

Posted: January 1st, 2008, 10:54 am
by HondaB20B
yeah ahh know.................. only if hoe give meh back 2 of meh JDM concrete blocks ahh could tie ahh rope on it and throw it out de window tuh stop :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Posted: January 1st, 2008, 10:59 am
by SR
ss brakelines and go with the ctr front and back if you want to maintain 15" rims

do the ctr 5hole conversion one time

ah go sell yuh a set of oem ctr rims................hada do som cleaning up when i get back

Posted: January 1st, 2008, 11:17 am
by HondaB20B
pm me de price

Posted: January 1st, 2008, 11:46 am
by HondaB20B
SR wrote:

you know who have these for sale????

Posted: January 1st, 2008, 1:23 pm
by paz
check fastbrakes.com

last time i checked they had a front brake package .that included

itr sized 4 lug rotors
itr calipers
ss lines
hawk pads

for 580 usd.

fits most oem 15 inch wheels in some instances a spacer may be required

Posted: January 1st, 2008, 2:00 pm
by Zim
HondaB20B wrote:
SR wrote:

you know who have these for sale????
gr non ABS tho

Re: Whats de best brake upgrade to make..................

Posted: January 1st, 2008, 3:15 pm
by 3stagevtec
HondaB20B wrote:have de stock SIR brake rotors and callipers (front and back) with some Hawk pads (feels better with de pads). but it still realy aint stoping de car rite now. looking to install some S/S braided lines soon. whats anybody input on drilled rotors in reference to how it performed when they changed, or should i just upgrade to CTR or ITR brakes instead.

i'm guessin you're already runnin the 15/16" master cylinder?? you could try upgradin to a 1" (from the Prelude i think?? or CRV)

Where to find SS lines

Posted: January 2nd, 2008, 10:27 am
by Saleem786
Can anyone tell me where i can get SS lines at a reasonable price?

Posted: January 2nd, 2008, 10:29 am
by Zim
Saleem786 wrote:Can anyone tell me where i can get SS lines at a reasonable price?
PM kes vtec :idea:

Posted: January 2nd, 2008, 12:23 pm
by Dave
stainless steel lines are good
don't use drilled rotors, slotted holds better the more u brake as more green gases are built up and vented
I pushed some power slots for 3+ yrs and held excellent and now they have some treatments for them which make them even better
titanium shims prevent fluid boil
other than that, AEM has a kit which uses a bigger rotor but stock caliper, might be the in between option when considering a full bigger rotor and caliper option

Posted: January 2nd, 2008, 4:17 pm
by X2
For the kind of power you should have from the 1.3, you can run SIR brakes in the back and a big brake upgrade in the front.

You just want to do a bolt on ? What about some fab work and looking at the brake setup from a prelude ?

Posted: January 2nd, 2008, 9:55 pm
by paz
doh study them buy the 5 lug and sell me yur brakes :lol:

Posted: January 3rd, 2008, 12:13 am
by X2
ay... what rims you plan on running ? (size)

Posted: January 3rd, 2008, 12:21 am
by HondaB20B
15 0r 16's................... all depends

Posted: January 3rd, 2008, 7:40 am
by kes_vtec
he staying 15"... :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Posted: January 3rd, 2008, 10:05 am
by X2
stay wit 15's bud... u gunna need em ! :twisted:

Posted: January 3rd, 2008, 11:05 am
by HondaB20B
X2 wrote:stay wit 15's bud... u gunna need em ! :twisted:

well dats wat de slicks ............................................. ahm, :roll: :roll:

dats wat de funny looking tires on rite now :lol: :lol: :lol:

Posted: January 3rd, 2008, 2:43 pm
by red_dragon
check PM ^

Posted: January 3rd, 2008, 7:52 pm
by buzzie_boy
a set of 16'' rota gt3 or slipstreams would be grate too

Posted: January 3rd, 2008, 7:53 pm
by buzzie_boy
a set of 16 '' rota gt3 or silpstram would be great too :wink:

Posted: January 3rd, 2008, 9:05 pm
by HondaB20B
red_dragon wrote:check PM ^

checked it............ thanks. will call you tomorow

Posted: January 3rd, 2008, 11:02 pm
by redsupra101
if you want something a bit cheaper than type-R, you could go with prelude brakes.. the one with the 11" rotor! thats big stuff.. will squeeze behind the average 15" wheel with a few mm clearance.. perfect!!

Posted: January 4th, 2008, 1:48 pm
by rudeboy
i think i just going to go with the Si rear upgrade from the standard drums...
i find that KVR pads work well too...