Page 1 of 2

project honda...***updated pics***

Posted: December 27th, 2007, 12:48 pm
by rudeboy
i just sold my 2004 specV
now i have a 1988 civic 4dr LX

ppl think its a downgrade, but i have a little trick up my sleeves...
i have a B20vtec that is being worked on for the car...

i was just wondering how popular is this frankenstein and those who have the setup, what are the numbers you put up?

Posted: December 27th, 2007, 12:53 pm
by Aaron 2NR
b20b just completed his build again

Posted: December 27th, 2007, 7:43 pm
by red_dragon
for the frank

I heard in the range as low as 150whp - little below 200whp

Posted: December 27th, 2007, 8:30 pm
by HondaB20B
on my old build, stock b20b block, stock b16a head with auto cams, VAFCII, stock b16a injectors, converted d15 header (muffler man made a flange for a b16a and welded it on) 2'' piping running strait out with a 3'' muffler (some shite cheap ass brand) and with some help from ahh certain tuner, we did 169hp and either 125 or 128tq (cant remember exact tq figures)

Posted: December 27th, 2007, 8:57 pm
by EL JEFE
But that is the same figres you making now......... :roll: :roll:

Posted: December 27th, 2007, 9:02 pm
by HondaB20B
yeah ahh know :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

an yuh still washing meh :cry: :cry: :cry:

Posted: December 27th, 2007, 9:04 pm
by HondaB20B
is dat damn kesmehASStuneragain :lol: :lol: :lol:

Posted: December 27th, 2007, 9:31 pm
by EL JEFE
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Wait...... *walks off mumbling to self*

Posted: January 3rd, 2008, 8:58 pm
by rudeboy
this build lookin real good for me so far...

i got the motor and LS tranny plus mounts and ECU for less than $1000CAD
he even threw in some EK side skirts for free :D

i sourced a set of ITR cams as well....

suspension: i sourced, waiting for delivery, some password:jdm anti sway bars, 3 point for the front and 2 point for the rear...
PIC coilovers....
:twisted:

Posted: January 3rd, 2008, 11:04 pm
by X2
unless you spraying on turboing, you will want to swap out that LS tranny quick. When I was LSVT w/o turbo on an LS tranny, the car was torquey... but on a run... gears were just too damn long for n/a.

Posted: January 3rd, 2008, 11:21 pm
by rudeboy
yeh....i hear yuh
i gettin the whole setup for cheap....
i cant argue with that....
theLSD trany alone is the cost of the motor tranny that i gettin...
i wil have to settle for the LS for now until pockets allow the changeover....

i realised that tho...good lookin out!

Posted: January 4th, 2008, 12:13 pm
by red_dragon
hummm

EK - Spec V - EG :twisted:

check me when u done

Posted: January 4th, 2008, 12:15 pm
by red_dragon
doh forget get something to tune for the additional fuel

Posted: January 4th, 2008, 1:29 pm
by rudeboy
red_dragon wrote:doh forget get something to tune for the additional fuel
that should be handled by the ECU...
its been flashed arredy and was used with the engine previously

Posted: January 4th, 2008, 3:57 pm
by X2
vtec hybrids don't run well on pre packaged ecu programs..... be prepared for some tuning sessions.

Posted: January 4th, 2008, 3:58 pm
by X2
oh yeah... if yuh not vtec yet... scrap dat and go boosted LS !!! You can keep the LS tranny that way for sure.

Posted: January 4th, 2008, 4:09 pm
by rudeboy
X2 wrote:vtec hybrids don't run well on pre packaged ecu programs..... be prepared for some tuning sessions.
interesting....good to know!!!
:D

Posted: January 4th, 2008, 8:04 pm
by HondaB20B
rudeboy wrote:
X2 wrote:vtec hybrids don't run well on pre packaged ecu programs..... be prepared for some tuning sessions.
interesting....good to know!!!
:D

you got that rite. and dont even bother buying ahh VAFCII either

Posted: January 4th, 2008, 9:44 pm
by kes_vtec
lookin' for dyno map...

Posted: January 4th, 2008, 9:49 pm
by X2
kes about to buss files....

:popcorn:

Posted: January 4th, 2008, 10:14 pm
by HondaB20B
X2 wrote:kes about to buss files....

yo kes, yuh trying tuh make de morning papers or wha :lol:

.:snipersmile: .............................................................................. :faint:

Posted: January 4th, 2008, 10:21 pm
by kes_vtec
this is one of the last runs we made with the old motor... we played with some other add-on and made 16 something, but i can't find that one...

this is the motor being "brake in" vtec was off and we just want to see what the motor was doing and to have a idea for how the motor was handling rpm (the motor was not been dyno tuned. just did a street tune, hit the dyno to verify afrs)

Posted: January 4th, 2008, 10:25 pm
by kes_vtec
HondaB20B wrote:
X2 wrote:kes about to buss files....

yo kes, yuh trying tuh make de morning papers or wha :lol:

.:snipersmile: .............................................................................. :faint:
BBQ close i not coming outside....

:silly: :wiggle: :wiggle:

Posted: January 5th, 2008, 11:33 am
by HondaB20B
kes_vtec wrote:Image
this is one of the last runs we made with the old motor... we played with some other add-on and made 16 something, but i can't find that one...

AGAIN..................
on my old build, stock b20b block, stock b16a head with auto cams, VAFCII, stock b16a injectors, converted d15 header (muffler man made a flange for a b16a and welded it on) 2'' piping running strait out with a 3'' muffler (some shite cheap ass brand) and with some help from ahh certain tuner, we did 169hp and either 125 or 128tq (cant remember exact tq figures)

Posted: January 5th, 2008, 11:44 am
by rudeboy
what was the set up on the second dynochart there?

Posted: January 5th, 2008, 11:58 am
by X2
no wonder your HP was so low...

Posted: January 5th, 2008, 12:04 pm
by HondaB20B
and certain tuners doh want tuh Believe :roll: :roll: :roll:

ahh dont Know what wrong wit certain men nah :lol: :lol:

Posted: January 9th, 2008, 2:35 pm
by rudeboy
ey B20....
where de redline on that????

Posted: January 10th, 2008, 5:48 am
by red_dragon
8200 is Max for a B20 block

doh matter what inside

Posted: January 10th, 2008, 10:01 am
by rudeboy
das not too bad....
do i have to do any mods to get that or does it reach that max naturally?