eg8 brakes eh stoppin on time

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

x2bord

eg8 brakes eh stoppin on time

Postby x2bord » December 8th, 2007, 12:09 am

I recently bought a civic eg8 and wen ah mash d brakes ah find the stopping power rell slow. The booster and master working properly. Is like if ah mash d brakes at 60 kmh it dont immediately stop ( like meh b14) but it does roll ah distance be4 it finally stop. Is like the booster weak in dem eg8 oh wah????
cuz ah try ah ek3 on it and it wukkin same way. wen d road wet and ah mash d brakes hard d car skidding too :( Wah causin dis??? or is so eg8 is??
shed some light here dudes. P.s>and it eh have no air in d system...

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » December 8th, 2007, 6:50 am

CHECK
brake pads and rotor condition

Postby 3stagevtec » December 9th, 2007, 5:11 pm

:lol: you pullin off real slow and stoppin real slow... pressure..

how does the brake pedal feel when you mash hard? is it soft and spongy or very firm under your feet?

if it is soft in any way..
-check your rubber brake lines and see if they show any signs of swelling / degradation...
-check your master cylinder seals

x2bord

Postby x2bord » December 9th, 2007, 9:37 pm

yea vtec. de brakes feelin normal, soft touch but firm wen mashed.As I said wen I mash d front wheel skiddin. An is new sumitomo. Is not master or flex lines. an ah try at least 4 different civic boosters arredy. Like ah go have tuh put ah nissan booster!! :|

blackcivic

Postby blackcivic » December 10th, 2007, 10:17 am

hmmmm......, well if your user name is how you drive, it will explain the stopping problem x2bord :) , but seriously if you've changed the boosters and have the same problem it may mean that the brake lines all the way down to the wheels have some restrictions thereby reducing the flow pressure of the booster, given the age of the car this is understandable and is often caused by foreign objects getting into the reservoir or by the normal wear and tear of the rubbers in the booster, lines & brake pistons. To fix this problem you'll probably have to do a complete clean and flush of the system, speak to your mechanic about it, if he can't help I can refer you to my mechanic.

Postby 3stagevtec » December 10th, 2007, 5:43 pm

since your pedal stays firm, i'm guessing your master cylinder rubbers and rubber brake lines are good...

here's another sugestion, try upgrading to a larger 15/16" master cylinder and booster (like from the EG9 or EK4)

it's an easy(ish) swap... you can get the MC and booster in the bamboo...

x2bord

Postby x2bord » December 10th, 2007, 8:09 pm

Hey guys thanx for the info. 3 stage vtec.. I alreddy tried an ek4 master and cylinder(15/16) but same prob. Bes ah leave it so and sell d car..a mechanic say so it does wuk. I accustom drivin meh b 14 and d brakes powerful, as yuh mash yuh head want to go tru d windskreen. Wish d civic was like dat. :(

pornstar4777

Postby pornstar4777 » December 10th, 2007, 11:43 pm

Wish d civic was like dat....that's your Civic buddy :twisted: ...sounding like is the brake lines....good luck!

Postby 3stagevtec » December 11th, 2007, 12:52 pm

did you check your pads / shoes? if not, try changing them...

sharkmouth

Re: eg8 brakes eh stoppin on time

Postby sharkmouth » June 27th, 2010, 6:04 pm

Could be defective or cheap pads

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 28th, 2010, 1:05 pm

Time for a brake system overhaul (maybe upgrade) then?
Install s/steel lines
replace fluid with dot4 or 5
Check/replace pads/shoes

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 28th, 2010, 1:08 pm

if budget allows try to get larger spindles for the front at least.

i did the above mentioned on my vic, coupled with eg9 rear disc upgrade and my stopping was pretty damn good.

another overlooked item wrt braking is the condition/type of your tyres. How good are your tyres? how much are they inflated to? treadwear rating?

Return to “HONDA”