Tranmission(sir)-Advice needed
Posted: December 6th, 2007, 8:23 am
by keepwalking
recently brought, a 98 ek4, - when slowing down the car gears down, or when coming down a hill and i release the X the car will gear down. It feels like it is gearing down to 2nd gear
Any thoughts
Posted: December 6th, 2007, 9:51 am
by Zh@ne
try changing the tyranny oil and see if that help
Posted: December 6th, 2007, 1:37 pm
by Zim
by chance d car pulls of funny at low rpms?
Posted: December 6th, 2007, 8:02 pm
by redsupra101
isnt that supposed to happen?
Posted: December 7th, 2007, 7:09 am
by F1
redsupra101 wrote:isnt that supposed to happen?
thats normal in a ek4....
Posted: December 7th, 2007, 8:04 am
by redsupra101
F1 wrote:redsupra101 wrote:isnt that supposed to happen?
thats what i thought! wonder why this guy's freaked out..
honda gone and build fancy transmission with braking assist and u want to fight them down boy...
Posted: December 7th, 2007, 8:58 am
by pornstar4777
Posted: December 7th, 2007, 10:39 am
by keepwalking
alyuh ent easy yes
Well now ah know, but my last car was a honda but not sir, it never behaved like that , hence my concern
Thanks guys
Posted: December 7th, 2007, 12:01 pm
by keepwalking
Yes zim the car does behave funny at low rpms
Posted: December 7th, 2007, 6:00 pm
by MJ
i freaked out about this too jed but my tranny in a mess anyway
sombody sell me a manual conversion nah!!
Posted: December 7th, 2007, 6:12 pm
by redsupra101
pm Zim for manual conversion
Posted: December 18th, 2007, 1:56 pm
by sweeks
redsupra101 wrote:F1 wrote:redsupra101 wrote:isnt that supposed to happen?
thats what i thought! wonder why this guy's freaked out..
honda gone and build fancy transmission with braking assist and u want to fight them down boy...
Isn't this called 'GRADE LOGIC' transmission?
Posted: January 24th, 2008, 3:20 pm
by sarwki
zim, i just bought an Si civic, B16a twin cam engine with automatic transmission. i buying the energy suspension kit from dave and need someone to install all the parts, it's the full kit. i also need the cold air intake pipe with air filter and recommended plugs. please assist if you can. looking for extractors also, i want this car to perform well.any advice will be appreciated, thanks.....
Posted: January 24th, 2008, 4:03 pm
by 4carspeedin
That's the way the trany works...it's normal to geardown like that in the EK SiR.
Posted: March 20th, 2008, 10:15 pm
by ek4ever
doh worry...that is how the transmission is supposed to work. Honda designed the transmission to hold a lower gear so that the engine is kept in or closer to it's power zone. If you had a manual you would downshift to keep the revs up....remember it's a B16A and it thrives in the mid to hi rpm zone