Tranmission(sir)-Advice needed

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

keepwalking

Tranmission(sir)-Advice needed

Postby keepwalking » December 6th, 2007, 8:23 am

recently brought, a 98 ek4, - when slowing down the car gears down, or when coming down a hill and i release the X the car will gear down. It feels like it is gearing down to 2nd gear

Any thoughts

Zh@ne
Location: Some say he can be nowhere and everywhere at the same time

Postby Zh@ne » December 6th, 2007, 9:51 am

try changing the tyranny oil and see if that help

Zim

Postby Zim » December 6th, 2007, 1:37 pm

by chance d car pulls of funny at low rpms?

redsupra101

Postby redsupra101 » December 6th, 2007, 8:02 pm

isnt that supposed to happen?

F1

Postby F1 » December 7th, 2007, 7:09 am

redsupra101 wrote:isnt that supposed to happen?

thats normal in a ek4....

redsupra101

Postby redsupra101 » December 7th, 2007, 8:04 am

F1 wrote:

thats what i thought! wonder why this guy's freaked out..

honda gone and build fancy transmission with braking assist and u want to fight them down boy...

pornstar4777

Postby pornstar4777 » December 7th, 2007, 8:58 am

LoL as he said...he recently purchased the car...probably had a nissan before :roll: :? :lol:

keepwalking

Postby keepwalking » December 7th, 2007, 10:39 am

alyuh ent easy yes :lol:

Well now ah know, but my last car was a honda but not sir, it never behaved like that , hence my concern

Thanks guys

keepwalking

Postby keepwalking » December 7th, 2007, 12:01 pm

Yes zim the car does behave funny at low rpms

MJ

Postby MJ » December 7th, 2007, 6:00 pm

i freaked out about this too jed but my tranny in a mess anyway :( :x
sombody sell me a manual conversion nah!!

redsupra101

Postby redsupra101 » December 7th, 2007, 6:12 pm

pm Zim for manual conversion

sweeks

Postby sweeks » December 18th, 2007, 1:56 pm

redsupra101 wrote:
F1 wrote:

thats what i thought! wonder why this guy's freaked out..

honda gone and build fancy transmission with braking assist and u want to fight them down boy...

Isn't this called 'GRADE LOGIC' transmission?

sarwki

Postby sarwki » January 24th, 2008, 3:20 pm

zim, i just bought an Si civic, B16a twin cam engine with automatic transmission. i buying the energy suspension kit from dave and need someone to install all the parts, it's the full kit. i also need the cold air intake pipe with air filter and recommended plugs. please assist if you can. looking for extractors also, i want this car to perform well.any advice will be appreciated, thanks.....

4carspeedin

Postby 4carspeedin » January 24th, 2008, 4:03 pm

That's the way the trany works...it's normal to geardown like that in the EK SiR.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » March 20th, 2008, 10:15 pm

doh worry...that is how the transmission is supposed to work. Honda designed the transmission to hold a lower gear so that the engine is kept in or closer to it's power zone. If you had a manual you would downshift to keep the revs up....remember it's a B16A and it thrives in the mid to hi rpm zone

Return to “HONDA”