better buy in 2 years? 2006 S2000 or DC5 ITR?

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

Mr. Go Slow

better buy in 2 years? 2006 S2000 or DC5 ITR?

Postby Mr. Go Slow » October 27th, 2007, 11:03 pm

Looking at picking up one or the other in 2 years ... I'm guessing the 2006 S2000 might run about 140K TT then and the ITR probably 110K ... I hate the look of the redesigned ITR so it'll have to be this model:

vs the 2006 S2000 with the new look suspension and the 2.2l:

I'm looking for reliability as the car will to be kept for 5+ years, availability of parts, OEM and aftermarket and all round daily driving fun.

I was thinking due to the S2000 being in the UK/US/Japan that parts would be more readily available, but what do I know.

Basically I'm looking for a reasonably affordable, fun to drive N/A screamer. 350Z is too much $$$, Accord type R too exotic, Swift / ignis sport, fun but too slow ....

Advice and recommendations are welcomed.

Samiir_Tuner

Postby Samiir_Tuner » October 28th, 2007, 12:22 am

real wheel drive FTW

ganjafarmer143

Postby ganjafarmer143 » October 28th, 2007, 12:33 am

S2000 parts aren't that easy to get.....as their isn't really that many of them no one really brings down parts for it...i would think u better off with the integra

EL JEFE

Postby EL JEFE » October 28th, 2007, 6:21 am

S2000. Not sure but maybe Autonation stocks parts for this seeing that they have one. You can call them and see.

Postby SR » October 28th, 2007, 6:50 am

maintenance parts are available locally

body parts have to be ordered

the itr is better as a daily driver as its more comfortable on long drives or in traffica as well as more room on the inside

the s2000 is just more fun but can feel a little cramped while in traffic for long hrs

i would say the itr if its the only vehicle you have and need it for daily commute
if not

then the s2000 all the way

red5FWD

Postby red5FWD » October 28th, 2007, 8:52 am

^^not to mention the itr just sweeter IMO :P

TriniParts.com
Location: As of June 1st 2008, we NO LONGER RETAIL.We will strictly be involved in MARKETING & WHOLESALING

Re: better buy in 2 years? 2006 S2000 or DC5 ITR?

Postby TriniParts.com » October 28th, 2007, 10:44 am

Mr. Go Slow wrote:I was thinking due to the S2000 being in the UK/US/Japan that parts would be more readily available, but what do I know.

Most of the OE parts for the S2000 will be easy to source (which I do by order only, delivery 4 days if in stock at US office). Less of its parts are available only in Japan.

The ITR has a lot more Japan only parts like, front brake rotors, gearbox internals, front struts are just a few I have come across. I can source these parts from Japan but delivery is 2-3 weeks. However aftermarket parts should be more readily available and cheaper than S2000 parts.

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » October 28th, 2007, 2:24 pm

k-pro for the itr 8000TT and for the s2000 12000TT

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » October 28th, 2007, 8:01 pm

love the look of the ITR over the S2000 any day and i take a ride in one and its very comfy and seems to be a nice daily driver.

family car or just you and ur girl or something?

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » October 28th, 2007, 9:34 pm

Death-Row wrote:love the look of the ITR over the S2000 any day and i take a ride in one and its very comfy and seems to be a nice daily driver.

Just me and the wife ... NOT on kids at all!! :evil:

Tending to the ITR based on responses ... And I do love my FWD, nothing sweeter than going balls to the wall with 8K on the tach into a blind corner :twisted:

Do that in a RWD and you'll likely die, lol

I think fundamentally, RWD's have to be driven with restraint, while FWD's are driven with aggression!
Last edited by Mr. Go Slow on October 28th, 2007, 10:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Mr. Go Slow

Re: better buy in 2 years? 2006 S2000 or DC5 ITR?

Postby Mr. Go Slow » October 28th, 2007, 9:37 pm

ADAH 303 wrote:
Mr. Go Slow wrote:I was thinking due to the S2000 being in the UK/US/Japan that parts would be more readily available, but what do I know.

Most of the OE parts for the S2000 will be easy to source (which I do by order only, delivery 4 days if in stock at US office). Less of its parts are available only in Japan.

The ITR has a lot more Japan only parts like, front brake rotors, gearbox internals, front struts are just a few I have come across. I can source these parts from Japan but delivery is 2-3 weeks. However aftermarket parts should be more readily available and cheaper than S2000 parts.

Very interesting! Particularly,
However aftermarket parts should be more readily available and cheaper than S2000 parts
:idea:

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » October 28th, 2007, 10:09 pm

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/mSjMiQT6FLs" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="355"></embed>

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » October 28th, 2007, 10:27 pm

<embed src="http://flash.revver.com/player/1.0/player.swf?mediaId=348112&affiliateId=25807" FlashVars="autoplay=1" enablehref="false" quality=high pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/shockwave/download/index.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="425" height="366" allowfullscreen="true"></embed>

<a href="http://mefeedia.com/entry/3320572/">TOUGE SHOWDOWN 280 / 2 of 5</a>

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » October 28th, 2007, 11:01 pm

<embed src="http://flash.revver.com/player/1.0/player.swf?mediaId=348117&affiliateId=25807" FlashVars="autoplay=1" enablehref="false" quality=high pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/shockwave/download/index.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="425" height="366" allowfullscreen="true"></embed>

<a href="http://mefeedia.com/entry/3383467/">TOUGE SHOWDOWN 280 / 5 of 5</a>

redsupra101

Postby redsupra101 » October 28th, 2007, 11:23 pm

a person i speak to who has an sk2 always says to me that the s2k is like a MR car when it comes to handling... the car is difficult to spin due to the electronic steering system used....... and even andy from autonation was saying that for u to get an s2k to drift, the factory electronic steering HAS to be removed and replaced with something else *cant remember from what car* otherwise the car just wont get broad........ so i dunno if u gonna still consider handling an 'issue'.....

Postby Razkal » October 28th, 2007, 11:54 pm

S2K HAS to be one of the sweetest balanced cars i've ever been in, last dex event, Sir Bill and Narend shared bill's car in their class, went with narend on a lap, the car felt properly balanced and planted to the ground, roll was almost non-existant, the rear was easily controlled, slid when it was told to, followed obediently when it was supposed to...lost the back end twice, (and i owe that to the fact it was narend's first go at the track and first time pushing the car for the day.)

felt all this and i wasnt even driving, i cud only imagine the ease of piloting it.
Never been a big fan of fwd, and honda on the whole really, nice, but never was my cup of tea...but the S2K is a car damn well worth owning, if u have the means.
If i cant ever own one, i'm gonna find someone who'll rent me theirs. Seriously.

Postby honda hoe » October 29th, 2007, 9:47 am

dc5 ftw

Positive Performance

Postby Positive Performance » October 29th, 2007, 11:17 am

Mr. Go Slow wrote:
Death-Row wrote:love the look of the ITR over the S2000 any day and i take a ride in one and its very comfy and seems to be a nice daily driver.

Just me and the wife ... NOT on kids at all!! :evil:

If you already have a wife then i would say go with the ITR... if you looking for a wife you should consider the S2000 :lol: :lol: :lol:

ZORT

Postby ZORT » October 29th, 2007, 12:40 pm

^^ good one. If you have a wife you will be considering children soon. Also you will want to carry a group out and you will be sorry you don't have the back seat. Cars like the s2000, 350z is a good second car that you don't drive. IMO.

Postby honda hoe » October 29th, 2007, 2:37 pm

puttin ppl in d back seat of a 2 door car is annoying

bullet

Postby bullet » October 30th, 2007, 8:33 am

I SECOND THAT BIG TIME!!!

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » October 30th, 2007, 9:56 pm

I have a 2 door car now ... doesn't bother me really ... Based on responses, I'm tending to the ITR, too, I think the S2K might be too "look at me" for me .... I'm looking for a positive driving experience, not to pose.

Zim

Postby Zim » October 30th, 2007, 10:47 pm

I say drive d two, if possible. Or at least get driven in either. Sit behind the wheel of either (in the even you don't get to test drive either).

Get a "feel" of the car. Take yuh time. Whichever one u "feel" you should buy. At the end of the day, only you should make that final decision. :idea:

You should know if a car "is you." If u get what I sayin. It's like a gut feeling kinda thing. Daz how I puurchase most of my cars.....

Hope my lil contribution helps

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » October 30th, 2007, 11:21 pm

Zim wrote:I say drive d two, if possible. Or at least get driven in either. Sit behind the wheel of either (in the even you don't get to test drive either).

Get a "feel" of the car. Take yuh time. Whichever one u "feel" you should buy. At the end of the day, only you should make that final decision. :idea:

You should know if a car "is you." If u get what I sayin. It's like a gut feeling kinda thing. Daz how I puurchase most of my cars.....

You make a good point, however, who has an S2K that's willing to let me ride in the passenger seat for five minutes? Anyone anyone?

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » October 31st, 2007, 3:32 am

not the passenger sit...

you drive the car, really...

Zim

Postby Zim » October 31st, 2007, 8:30 am

Mr. Go Slow wrote:
Zim wrote:I say drive d two, if possible. Or at least get driven in either. Sit behind the wheel of either (in the even you don't get to test drive either).

You make a good point, however, who has an S2K that's willing to let me ride in the passenger seat for five minutes? Anyone anyone?
Thx. U cud try ANP or PM Sir Bill (funny, I always thought his name was Will...)

Postby honda hoe » October 31st, 2007, 10:25 am

dc5 sexier dan s2k anyday

Zim

Postby Zim » October 31st, 2007, 11:07 am

Pfft yea right

Postby honda hoe » October 31st, 2007, 11:09 am

:? :?

b18b_turbo

Postby b18b_turbo » October 31st, 2007, 2:50 pm

ure not gona get a 06 S2K for 140 in 2 yrs..........a bess 03 low mileage and no accidents is 180 up........even over 200. the ones that you see around for 150 n stiff pass tru real rough times! i would take the S2K......its rear wheel drive, light and lots of fun. the ITR will be very old.......u dont want an old car, and its FWD and not as much fun.

Return to “HONDA”