NEW CLUTCH?
Posted: September 19th, 2007, 4:24 pm
by phaze
hey guys, im still tryin to get the so called bearing problem figured out, but i have another question. how do u kno when ur cluth and clutch plates and those thing need changing? i seem to be gettin a "smell" when im drivin and changin the gears. but im not sure whether its comin from brakes or when im using the clutch. the cluth works perfectly but im jes askin if thats a tell tale sign of wear and time to change... if so wat is a good type to but that is not too expensive but can handle the pressure.. "race types per say".
Re: NEW CLUTCH?
Posted: September 19th, 2007, 5:21 pm
by HondaB20B
phaze wrote: wat is a good type to but that is not too expensive but can handle the pressure.. "race types per say".
NAH....................yuh
CANT use them words together.
if yuh looking for performance, then you can go ACT or EXEDDY. if not, change the brand of the car.............
any time yuh go dem cheap brands, yuh stand the chance of mashing up more than you bargained for. some time back (before i went ACT), i went by a certain performance shop on ciperro st in sando to buy a clutch (copper) and P/P (cant remember de brand). got it for about $800 less than an ACT at the time. about ahh 4wks later after some good break-in and heavy launches, the gearbox started to make real noise. when the mech pulled it, he was like

................. all the rivets and copper were nearly gone, one spring was neary out and de fingers on de P/P was like nearly ready to fall out. when i carried it back and showed them they said "look at the sign on the wall Sir.......... no exchange or refund"............................ but we can sell you another one at half price though. I WAS LIKE NOOOOOO, DONT BOTHER. IN CHECKING AROUND, ALOT OF PEOPLE GOT CAUGHT BUYING THAT BRAND.
MY OPINION???? (which aint much) save yuh money and go de ACT or EXEDDY and just break it out properly.
Posted: September 19th, 2007, 8:11 pm
by redsupra101
ACT + Exedy = good stuff. get the good stuff and done!! unless if u going for OEM replacement then fine...
Posted: September 19th, 2007, 8:30 pm
by pornstar4777
HondaB20B, buy chance was the p/p red?
Posted: September 19th, 2007, 9:04 pm
by HondaB20B
^^^^^ YUP!!!!!
Posted: September 20th, 2007, 12:43 pm
by honda hoe
HondaB20B,
is dat clutchmasters u talkin bout?
Posted: September 20th, 2007, 12:47 pm
by HondaB20B
ahh tink so yes???? iss ahh set of dem on de wall
Posted: September 20th, 2007, 12:58 pm
by honda hoe
i thought dais ah good brand? never use it tho
Posted: September 20th, 2007, 1:11 pm
by HondaB20B
honda hoe wrote:i thought dais ah good brand? never use it tho
yeah it supposed tuh be, but hear de strange thing??
if yuh go and buy one from them, it does never come in ahh box or have ahh box. always wrap up in cling wrap
Posted: September 20th, 2007, 2:37 pm
by red_dragon
^ performance place that have a Cart for sale ?
the cling wrap special
that one was not clutchmaster
was USA clutch ?
no one who bought that had something good to saw u not the only one
Posted: September 20th, 2007, 5:17 pm
by phaze
ohhh.... i see, but wat is the cost of ACT clutch accessories? and where can i get em?
Posted: September 20th, 2007, 5:38 pm
by De Dragon
Powersellers Forum ADAH_303/Street Concepts/Tuner Imports/W2J
Posted: September 20th, 2007, 7:07 pm
by equipped2ripp
HondaB20B, wtmc

Re: NEW CLUTCH?
Posted: September 20th, 2007, 8:38 pm
by W2J
HondaB20B wrote:phaze wrote: wat is a good type to but that is not too expensive but can handle the pressure.. "race types per say".
NAH....................yuh
CANT use them words together.
if yuh looking for performance, then you can go ACT or EXEDDY. if not, change the brand of the car.............
any time yuh go dem cheap brands, yuh stand the chance of mashing up more than you bargained for. some time back (before i went ACT), i went by a certain performance shop on ciperro st in sando to buy a clutch (copper) and P/P (cant remember de brand). got it for about $800 less than an ACT at the time. about ahh 4wks later after some good break-in and heavy launches, the gearbox started to make real noise. when the mech pulled it, he was like

................. all the rivets and copper were nearly gone, one spring was neary out and de fingers on de P/P was like nearly ready to fall out. when i carried it back and showed them they said "look at the sign on the wall Sir.......... no exchange or refund"............................ but we can sell you another one at half price though. I WAS LIKE NOOOOOO, DONT BOTHER. IN CHECKING AROUND, ALOT OF PEOPLE GOT CAUGHT BUYING THAT BRAND.
MY OPINION???? (which aint much) save yuh money and go de ACT or EXEDDY and just break it out properly.
That sounding like ClutchNet and if its the same place I thinking of then they rebranded it "SAS"

Posted: September 20th, 2007, 9:57 pm
by Taliban
i have a ACT pressure plate for sale
Posted: September 21st, 2007, 12:11 am
by paz
get the ACT street and strip with the hdss pressure plate if you drive in a lot of traffic...traffic and copper is not a good combo ..you also have exedy and clutchmasters..
if you on a budget ....trinidad break and clucth ..can 'copper out' your clutch i think they reline it with copper ...dont ask me the process .it was cheap and took two years of heavy abuse ...
check W2J or adah on the forums for the clutch kits ..both safe people to buy from..good quality products
Posted: September 21st, 2007, 8:33 am
by bullet
paz wrote:check W2J or adah on the forums for the clutch kits ..both safe people to buy from..good quality products
I second that they were very timely