WTK: Top speed on an SiR?

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

MJ

WTK: Top speed on an SiR?

Postby MJ » September 15th, 2007, 8:34 am

yea peeps i just want to find out what is the average top speed on an auto SiR Civic? cuz i realize mine never crosses 180 and mind you it take a while to reach there...it reaches 160 easily but from there like it can't go anymore, and my speedo goes up to 220?

Any reasons why this could be happening? what can i check?

Civic Dude

Postby Civic Dude » September 15th, 2007, 9:29 am

Kinda strange. I have a RORO and it goes to 185 cuz of the speed cut. and yes..it takes quite a while after the 160. More than likely its a speed cut on the ECU.

I am sure you will get lots more info that here.

Postby X2 » September 15th, 2007, 11:47 am

sounds like an ecu speed cut if it stopping at 180

MJ

Postby MJ » September 15th, 2007, 2:13 pm

whey! that is real crap, my pardna SiR goes to 210 but he has a 98 model. what i got to do to remove or extend the speed cut to where i want?

by the way i'm new to honda so i want to know who is the best honda mech you guys know and recommend?

LOVING MY CIVIC
DIDN'T KNOW VTEC WAS SO MC DECENT!!!! 0X

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » September 15th, 2007, 6:45 pm

b16a stock manual 190km/h in 4th did not watch to see 5th gear

do a good tune up first

Postby X2 » September 15th, 2007, 8:36 pm

yeah... a good tune up with plugs, wires, distrubtor cap, rotor, oil change... that could be limiting the car a little bit.

WHat year is ur car ? and were u buy it ?

Depending on where the car was originally sold can also determine if it had a speed cut from factory.

Postby De Dragon » September 15th, 2007, 10:56 pm

My sheitty speedo only goes to 180km/hr :x, but I have clocked it on a few occasions :D Ditto on the tune up for nice clean reachable speeds

Postby Aaron 2NR » September 16th, 2007, 12:20 am

i hit 190 the other day wit my vti...i feel proud cuz it was on lame super gas....

Postby De Dragon » September 16th, 2007, 12:27 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:i hit 190 the other day wit my vti...i feel proud cuz it was on lame super gas....

I running premium from since I got her.

Postby 3stagevtec » September 16th, 2007, 12:32 am

i limited to ~180... :(

redsupra101

Postby redsupra101 » September 16th, 2007, 3:33 am

ive reached as far as 210 on my sohc civic.. not an SiR but its what i got.
and its the same as you say.. after 160 things just start moving slower... :| :|

Postby De Dragon » September 16th, 2007, 6:18 am

3stagevtec wrote:i limited to ~180... :(

That sucks an entire herd of donkeys' arses!

10-01

Postby 10-01 » September 16th, 2007, 8:06 am

i made 210 km/hr om my MANUAL SIR backed off a lil cuz i felt a lil frighten :oops:

Civic Dude

Postby Civic Dude » September 16th, 2007, 9:06 am

X2 : ... a good tune up with plugs, wires, distrubtor cap, rotor, oil change... that could be limiting the car a little bit.

I did a recent rebuild, so all of the above was done, yet still my car is a bit slow to make the 180 after i pass 160.

any other suggestions of what i should check ? would the fuel pump and/or regulator make any difference ? Those are the only two items i never checked or changed.

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » September 16th, 2007, 10:23 am

speedo on a sir goes to 230KM/H not 220.

I hit 210ish easy.

feels like im driving at 120km/h

RAV

Postby RAV » September 16th, 2007, 2:01 pm

stephanweaver,

I hit 210ish easy.

what would u say about me, i always thought something was starange with my ride, my vtec was at 6200 rpm and my revlimit according to the apexi vafc was at 8800rpm. I have passed 220 many time and backed off..... :mrgreen:

MJ

Postby MJ » September 16th, 2007, 2:26 pm

i did a total tune up like 2 weeks ago :( i have 2000 model SiR it's from singapore...i think its the speed cut is there anyway to remove that?

Zim

Postby Zim » September 16th, 2007, 2:35 pm

MJ wrote:i did a total tune up like 2 weeks ago :( i have 2000 model SiR it's from singapore...i think its the speed cut is there anyway to remove that?
Nah boy daz prshha, mite cost yuh cheaper tuh sell it....

Lemme knw how much eh :P

MJ

Postby MJ » September 16th, 2007, 2:57 pm

:shock: nah nah nah aye Zim wha u tryin dey lol i now buy it lookin to go manual now...think u could help me? anyone? saw a post about a guy that wanted to trade his complete manual conversion for a auto conversion but i cant find it back :?

Zim

Postby Zim » September 16th, 2007, 4:29 pm

:lol: :lol: :lol: can u blame me fuh tryin bro?

Dat guy is Mitch: 771 9552

ganjafarmer143

Postby ganjafarmer143 » September 16th, 2007, 4:45 pm

plz remember the speed limit on the highway is 80 km/hr

Zh@ne
Location: Some say he can be nowhere and everywhere at the same time

Postby Zh@ne » September 16th, 2007, 9:18 pm

And you obey the law and drive at that speed on the highway :P

Postby 3stagevtec » September 16th, 2007, 10:00 pm

ever notice how the average speed driven on the highway is ~110 - ~120kmh...

my avg speed is ~110kmh. if i drive at 80... i feel like a pylon on the road..

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » September 17th, 2007, 6:44 am

De Dragon wrote:My sheitty speedo only goes to 180km/hr :x, but I have clocked it on a few occasions :D Ditto on the tune up for nice clean reachable speeds

Same here :twisted: :twisted:

Zh@ne
Location: Some say he can be nowhere and everywhere at the same time

Postby Zh@ne » September 17th, 2007, 8:11 am

3stagevtec wrote:ever notice how the average speed driven on the highway is ~110 - ~120kmh...

hoss when i have to do stuff for work and i don't want to reach back in the office in a hurry i drive at the legal speed 80km/h i feel like a old granny in a bicycle could pass me :(

Postby honda hoe » September 17th, 2007, 8:19 am

180? :?

even if u have a speed cut u supposed to trip on 200

buy a upgrade ecu :twisted:

i have one for 5k brand new :mrgreen:

Postby 3stagevtec » September 17th, 2007, 10:52 pm

Zh@ne wrote:
3stagevtec wrote:ever notice how the average speed driven on the highway is ~110 - ~120kmh...

hoss when i have to do stuff for work and i don't want to reach back in the office in a hurry i drive at the legal speed 80km/h i feel like a old granny in a bicycle could pass me :(

so is you who does be holding up traffic.. :lol:

i have used the 'speed limit' excuse at work also.. :oops:

dragaholic

Postby dragaholic » September 18th, 2007, 5:58 pm

quickest i've driven is approx. 150kms, and it tokk me about 15 seconds to reach that. :)
Last edited by dragaholic on September 19th, 2007, 6:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

EG_vtec

Postby EG_vtec » September 18th, 2007, 6:19 pm

honda hoe wrote:180? :?

for real my speed cut starts at 200

MJ

Postby MJ » September 18th, 2007, 7:30 pm

honda hoe wrote:180? :?

what other benfits does that upgraded ecu have?

Return to “HONDA”