WTK: Upgrades for 2001 ES1 Civic

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

rysee

WTK: Upgrades for 2001 ES1 Civic

Postby rysee » August 20th, 2007, 10:01 pm

converting from mitsu to honda "hard luck dey mitsucrew". ah buying an EXI ES1 civic, just want to know what kind of upgrades i could do and the availabilty of the parts. and maybe some prices.

1. Convert to gearbox. What type will work with stock engine
2. rear disk brakes setup.
3. Change engine in future to something with power. What do you recommend for this model

bullet

Postby bullet » August 20th, 2007, 11:06 pm

if you really serious do a k20 conversion anything else keep your money for 18" wheels

Zim

Postby Zim » August 21st, 2007, 9:14 am

I find upgrading dem cars is wasting time, if u really wanna buy to upgrade, buy ah EK, parts an mods much easier tuh get. D car much cheaper also

rysee

Postby rysee » August 21st, 2007, 11:14 am

is true boy ZIM, but is the shape ah want. going to fix it up to be my weekend toy.

Zim

Postby Zim » August 21st, 2007, 11:30 am

rysee wrote:is true boy ZIM, but is the shape ah want. going to fix it up to be my weekend toy.
Yup. Yea, dey have a nice shape. My fav is the 99-00 EK (see my avatar). Minor lil bolt ons like intake, headers exhaust shud suffice. U already bougt the car? If not, RBN Auto has a nice manual one with body kit an rims. Check it out :idea:

sinnas

Postby sinnas » August 21st, 2007, 11:31 am

have one...............sadly the best upgrade is an engine swap for now. unless you await, the gearbox hard to find as the bamboo doh have much parts yet. if yuh lucky and yuh get one, yuh could start with normal CAI, exhaust, better extratcors(the already hasj, just upgrade them). and from there is alot more money. so you might get the best the best gain overall AND have more room for mods with the engine swap.

I have ownly recently started looking around on the net for mods though so not sure yet what else floating around. just found the Greddy eManage Blue.

Postby honda hoe » August 21st, 2007, 12:30 pm

i sorry but i find dat particular model civic is a waste ah time

u better off wit ah eg or ek

ZORT

Postby ZORT » August 21st, 2007, 12:44 pm

so they don't sell turbo kits or supercharges for these engines?

Sudhaakar

Postby Sudhaakar » August 21st, 2007, 6:04 pm

all dem who saying dat model is ah waste of time doh know wat dey saying.... d only reason dat being is because the ek parts are much easier available than the es... i have an es myself....had an ek before as welll they are both pretty nice rides, the es however comes with a stronger chassis and frame, much better suspension an a couple nice features. the trouble with the es however is dat it is pretty new to the market so mods not dat easy to come by AS YET. in terms of upgrades... the swap is the best suggestion but not the only one. one piece of advice though.... if its CVT doh buy it.... cuz u done looking for more power already an d cvt cyah handle roughing up.... take a look at my ride.. engine room etc. i installed a turbo kit on mine an get sum nice power from it... but i had CVT so it mash up a week after... i catching hell rite now to do the conversion to manual on it.... the parts are available out there... jus kinda costly as opposed to the EK. also a lot of DC5 integra parts like shifter cables an box etc works up on it. i got a gearbox thanks to kezay. u could check out kezays ride as well he has an es8 like mine but much more power. if u decide to go ES brother is ah nice buy an some simple mods could bring u to where u want for a while until u decide to swap.. turbo... or parts become easier to get in d bamboo. i have no complaints with the ES8 or the EK civics.... both are damn good cars.. they are honda after all so whichever way u decide to go is ah good buy

kezay

Postby kezay » August 21st, 2007, 6:36 pm

^^I must agree. rysee the ES model is a good buy, however the parts are a bit hard to come by. Regarding upgrading to get power , it all depends on how much power you want to get. If you want over 400hp then you'll have to swap to the K series like I have done, however if you want about ~200hp then you can simply turbo (7-10psi reliable) the stock engine. The complete swap will run you upwards of about $35,000 and the turbo route could cost you anywhere upwards of $8,000. Cheers and if you need any help with that model you can PM me. :wink:

Sudhaakar

Postby Sudhaakar » August 21st, 2007, 6:42 pm

kezay rite... my turbo build costed around $11000. an if u need help check kezay he is d man for dis model civic i hadda give im ah big up dis man real help me an still helpling me as well as men like zim an dem... kezay thanks brother.

kezay

Postby kezay » August 21st, 2007, 6:44 pm

No problem

rysee

Postby rysee » August 21st, 2007, 7:28 pm

allyuh honda men is real help dred. back in that mitsu forum dem men is no kinda help nah. yuh cant get no decent advice. I glad i going honda yes. kezay ah go check yuh once ah get through.

sinnas

Postby sinnas » August 21st, 2007, 7:38 pm

finally......i thought i was the only man that not bashing this model. I fine the car real nice. and btw even with the cvt alone, although it cant handle turbo and ting, the car does real wuk. I beat a manual one the other day (only cause it wasnt from stand still :lol: ).
but seriously rysee the mods will ultimately depend on how fast you want to go and your budget.

Postby Aaron 2NR » August 21st, 2007, 9:18 pm

got one an goin strong...mine isnt cvt though...thank the lord..lol...but a descent ride...only ting that i tink is a lil flaw is the brakes...wanna do ah brake upgrade soon

Zim

Postby Zim » August 22nd, 2007, 9:09 am

Sudhaakar wrote:all dem who saying dat model is ah waste of time doh know wat dey saying.... d only reason dat being is because the ek parts are much easier available than the es... i have an es myself....had an ek before as welll they are both pretty nice rides, the es however comes with a stronger chassis and frame, much better suspension an a couple nice features. the trouble with the es however is dat it is pretty new to the market so mods not dat easy to come by AS YET. in terms of upgrades... the swap is the best suggestion but not the only one. one piece of advice though.... if its CVT doh buy it.... cuz u done looking for more power already an d cvt cyah handle roughing up.... take a look at my ride.. engine room etc. i installed a turbo kit on mine an get sum nice power from it... but i had CVT so it mash up a week after... i catching hell rite now to do the conversion to manual on it.... the parts are available out there... jus kinda costly as opposed to the EK. also a lot of DC5 integra parts like shifter cables an box etc works up on it. i got a gearbox thanks to kezay. u could check out kezays ride as well he has an es8 like mine but much more power. if u decide to go ES brother is ah nice buy an some simple mods could bring u to where u want for a while until u decide to swap.. turbo... or parts become easier to get in d bamboo. i have no complaints with the ES8 or the EK civics.... both are damn good cars.. they are honda after all so whichever way u decide to go is ah good buy
I eh "bashing" d ES eh, I just saying it wasting time modifying dat model :? I do however, give jack his jacket. Sudhaakar, dats a very brave venture u took there. U dared to b different.

My argument is simple really: U'll save more buying an modifying an EK as opposed to the ES. Mods-wise there are quite a few lil bolt ons u can get for it (more so the coupe to it). I just find d platform is a weaker than say an EK4.

An supposing d guy eh wanna go thru all dat matirx wit swapping an ketching hell to get parts?

I eh bashing or disrespecting anyone, just inputting my view. I even remembered SR & Andy (ANP) was saying dont do any set of mods to the ES

Sudhaakar

Postby Sudhaakar » August 22nd, 2007, 4:44 pm

yeah zim i understand wat u sayin its true to do mods on de ES u hadda real like it and make sure u hv money to spend cuz it ent cheap to do i know :roll: . i know u eh bashing nobody or disrespectin nobody is ah kool scene... wat u say make sense. i jus give im ah lil insight of d options he have an why it go cost so much. but as i say if u really like dat model is no scene... i do. i does still mih EK though :( . two weeks after i sell d man it he write it off i nearly kill he :evil:

Postby Sky » August 22nd, 2007, 10:24 pm

kezay, Does the K20 drop right in the ES? or needs special mounts like the EG and EK ?

Postby honda hoe » August 23rd, 2007, 8:38 am

kezay wrote:^^I must agree. rysee the ES model is a good buy, however the parts are a bit hard to come by. Regarding upgrading to get power , it all depends on how much power you want to get. If you want over 400hp then you'll have to swap to the K series like I have done, however if you want about ~200hp then you can simply turbo (7-10psi reliable) the stock engine. The complete swap will run you upwards of about $35,000 and the turbo route could cost you anywhere upwards of $8,000. Cheers and if you need any help with that model you can PM me. :wink:

:? :?

cost vs gains not worth it

i ain't spending dat kinda money to run 200whp

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » August 24th, 2007, 1:10 am

:shock: nah i wasnt taking that boy kezay...honda hoe how u cud sh!t up kezay car so...its very...."impressiv" i think...soon u will see what his conversion can do honda hoe...soon...:)

kezay

Postby kezay » August 24th, 2007, 7:18 am

^^ Trust me brent knows very well what my car can do. He of all people should know. :wink:

Clerique

Postby Clerique » August 24th, 2007, 8:17 am

A black one was tailgaiting me heading north last night. He had some guages on the 'A' Pillar. He was kinda quick...for a civic!
I was impressed, his car was holding the high speeds well! :twisted:

Postby honda hoe » August 24th, 2007, 9:30 am

jasonsjohn16 wrote::shock: nah i wasnt taking that boy kezay...honda hoe how u cud sh!t up kezay car so...its very...."impressiv" i think...soon u will see what his conversion can do honda hoe...soon...:)

:roll: :roll:

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » August 24th, 2007, 2:20 pm

honda hoe, stop trying to cause bachanal,

kezay, i agree with u on what u said jus now

Cleriq,you was running stock ECU or power FC?? the civic was boosted or wah??

Clerique

Postby Clerique » August 24th, 2007, 5:34 pm

jasonsjohn16, stock ECU (200kph limit).

As far as being boosted, I really cannot say, cause he wasn't that fast, just quicker than the average ES civic.

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » August 24th, 2007, 5:37 pm

true...maybe he put a lil "mods" and he running ah box

doh study it cleriq i know how the 200kph limit does look :lol:

i does see uh holding down brent and then when i look to the right i does jus see uh car fall back...

Clerique

Postby Clerique » August 25th, 2007, 12:32 am

^Yuh shoulda be in his car when I had in the Power FC. :twisted:

I would like to see that ES civic again, I would like to know what he runnin.

r_4sr

Postby r_4sr » August 25th, 2007, 3:04 pm

thurs nite? u remember the plates? ( u was d man in the white integra?)

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » August 25th, 2007, 6:54 pm

hmm it appears the ES man find uh boy cleriq :lol:

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » August 25th, 2007, 7:15 pm

there are turbo kit for the car i think starting it 1900us
hondata also has a ecu for you (and the stock motor) in the form of the k-pro and AEM also "i think" (kezay will know the part number for it.)
there will be someone one to help you with whatever you pick to go with...

Return to “HONDA”