B16A5
Posted: July 13th, 2007, 9:15 am
by EG_vtec
can some1 shed some light on this series B16A5, like yr and what civic it was originally form thanks guys. i think its a OBD2
Posted: July 13th, 2007, 9:49 am
by honda hoe
manual ek4 automatic i believe
Posted: July 13th, 2007, 10:11 am
by 4carspeedin
The number after the "A" is the generation I believe. The B16A5 is basically a generation 5 engine, I've seen it in the 1999-2000 SiR's. I personally have a 1998 SiR with a B16A4 engine. The numbers don't indicate manual or automatic...it's jus generation. I don't know if there is any newer than the B16A5, like a B16A6, if so I have not seen any.
Posted: July 13th, 2007, 11:13 am
by Zim
Nope. B16A5 is auto engine & B16A4 is manual engine.
I've seen both manual & auto B16A's (EK4) with the manual being B16A4 & auto being B16A5. Has nothing to do with newer generation.
Posted: July 13th, 2007, 5:16 pm
by EG_vtec
thanks guys
Posted: July 13th, 2007, 11:34 pm
by paz
Zim wrote:Nope. B16A5 is auto engine & B16A4 is manual engine.
I've seen both manual & auto B16A's (EK4) with the manual being B16A4 & auto being B16A5. Has nothing to do with newer generation.
done know
Posted: July 14th, 2007, 12:34 am
by honda hoe
buh i say it 1st

Posted: August 13th, 2007, 10:18 pm
by mayinde
is the cam shaft in the auto less agressive than the manual and is the ecu in auto detuned vs the manual
Posted: August 13th, 2007, 10:43 pm
by kes_vtec
duh use the word detuned...
honda MADE those cams for the auto and to match the gearing...
Posted: August 14th, 2007, 7:30 am
by mayinde
ok tell me something if you put ah 1800 auto tranny on ah auto b16a how would it affect gearing or performance on ah whole
Posted: August 14th, 2007, 11:23 am
by ingalook
Not supposed to affect it... which 1800 though? B18c or b18a/b?
Posted: August 14th, 2007, 1:55 pm
by HondaB20B
honda hoe wrote:manual ek4 automatic i believe
ahh manual ek4 automatic yuh say yuh know pally

Posted: August 14th, 2007, 4:53 pm
by mayinde
not sure but i'll get the modle number for you but when i pulled it up they said it was for ah 1800
Posted: August 14th, 2007, 4:54 pm
by mayinde
plus when i spoke to another guy with the same yeah and model as mines his tranny code was different
Posted: August 15th, 2007, 9:35 am
by mugen power
What about the EG's which engine is manual and automatic?
Posted: August 26th, 2007, 10:06 am
by stephanweaver
paz wrote:Zim wrote:Nope. B16A5 is auto engine & B16A4 is manual engine.
done know
dun talk
Posted: August 26th, 2007, 11:31 am
by honda hoe
HondaB20B wrote:honda hoe wrote:manual ek4 automatic i believe
ahh manual ek4 automatic yuh say yuh know pally

didn't mean to put manual
Re: B16A5
Posted: October 21st, 2013, 6:28 pm
by gunzandrockz
B16A4
VTEC
Found in: 1996–2000 Honda Civic SiRII (JDM version) (EK4) Displacement: 1,595 cc (97.3 cu in)
Compression: 10.4:1
Power: 168 hp (125 kW) @ 7800 rpm & 111 lb·ft (150 N·m) @ 7300 rpm
Redline: 8200 rpm
Transmission: Y21
B16A5
VTEC
Found in: 1996-2000 Civic Si-RII (JDM version) (EK4) Displacement: 1,595 cc (97.3 cu in))
Compression: 10.4:1
Power: 130 kW (177 PS; 174 bhp) @ 7800 rpm & 111 ft•lbf (150 N•m) @ 7300 rpm
Redline: 8250 rpm
Transmission: Y21
Note: Only offered with SiRs with automatic transmissions.
B16A6
VTEC
Found in: 1996–2000 Honda Civic – Middle East & South Africa VTEC (EK) Displacement: 1,595 cc (97.3 cu in)
Compression: 10.2:1
Power: 118 kW (158 hp) @ 7800 rpm & 111 lb·ft (150 N·m) @ 7000 rpm
Transmission: S4C
talk done!
Posted: October 21st, 2013, 7:18 pm
by red_dragon
nice info
but this post was 6yrs old
Posted: October 21st, 2013, 9:07 pm
by X2