Fluctuating engine Rev on EK3 ( Got the Codes )

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

*Phoenix*

Fluctuating engine Rev on EK3 ( Got the Codes )

Postby *Phoenix* » April 25th, 2007, 7:09 pm

hey guys it's a 1997 EK3 D15B and when it's on neutral the RPM keeps fluctuating up and down.
Does anyone know what's causing it and how to fix it?
:?
Last edited by *Phoenix* on May 7th, 2007, 1:05 am, edited 1 time in total.

Zh@ne
Location: Some say he can be nowhere and everywhere at the same time

Postby Zh@ne » April 25th, 2007, 8:21 pm

have you tired servicing the throttle body?...cleaning the injectors?....changing plugs?.... could be a vacuum problem as well trace over the vacuum line and see if there are intact.

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » April 25th, 2007, 8:39 pm

Yeah bro i did all that- ( servicing the throttle body...cleaning the injectors....changing plugs). i am just baffled.

skyline dett

Postby skyline dett » April 25th, 2007, 10:49 pm

yo bro i have that same problem did you convert to manual like me well take it from me its not // quote // have you tired servicing the throttle body?...cleaning the injectors?....changing plugs?.... could be a vacuum problem as well trace over the vacuum line and see if there are intact.//// i did all that ah told me it was the brain not mixing the gas and air good so i still working on it i just got over ah problem of not crossing 140 km so ill tell you if i get it fix // but i dont think thats ah serious problem 0X

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » April 26th, 2007, 3:35 am

Nope it's original Automatic. I was wondering if it was some sensor bad. someone told me speed sensor but i don't know. :?

Zh@ne

Postby Zh@ne » April 26th, 2007, 8:09 am

that is not the speed sensor..... may be the airflow sensor but i think the Ek's have a MAF sensor "not sure on that" ... if all above was done then .... you could try an have a look to see if the sensor is faulty

trinish

Postby trinish » April 26th, 2007, 1:02 pm

nah nah i had that same problem it was the iacv, Idle air control valve. and is MAP sensor (Manifold actual pressure) check and see if it jack in properly. but just service the iacv and yuh good to go. Do a search yuh go see i had up that same thread yuh go see the solutions.

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » April 26th, 2007, 6:03 pm

Ok Trinish i am gonna do that search right now.
do you have any picture so post showing where that is Bro?

Postby SR » April 26th, 2007, 6:07 pm

should be on the side of the intake manifold close to the throttle body facing the fire wall

more than likely it needs servicing

also the map sensor may be defective

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » April 26th, 2007, 6:10 pm

how much for a MAP sensor nd where can i get one then?
Cuz i dodnt find the post.

Postby SR » April 26th, 2007, 6:20 pm

call ANP 674 1073

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » April 26th, 2007, 6:22 pm

Thanks SR i will tomorrow. but until then does anyone know the cost?

Postby SR » April 26th, 2007, 6:48 pm

they wont be open on friday's

call on saturday

trinish

Postby trinish » April 27th, 2007, 10:30 pm

i saw one in the classified a while back for $100 a used one, but service the iacv first and see if you still getting the problem. They had advise me to change my MAP but i didn't and the car works well now. Troubleshoot with one thing at a time. let me see if i could find the link for yuh

trinish

Postby trinish » April 27th, 2007, 10:37 pm

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » April 28th, 2007, 7:19 am

Thanks Trinish.
Zim reccomended a Mechanic Kazim i believe but i havent goten the car free to take it by him. damm..

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » April 28th, 2007, 7:22 am

A picture showing that IACV would be a grreat help Brothers. somebody pullout deh camera nah. :wink:

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » April 28th, 2007, 9:04 pm

Got through with the problem bro?

trinish

Postby trinish » April 29th, 2007, 12:44 am

well yuh aint' want no pic, yuh go see what the mechanic removing. So pull out your camera and put it up for the rest of people.

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » April 29th, 2007, 10:53 am

part p21

hope this helps

gizmo

Postby gizmo » April 29th, 2007, 12:19 pm

^^ that is not the IACV (idle air control valve). That is the (FITV) fast idle thermo valve which only function is to allow or bypass some extra air when the engine is warming up. It works with the coolant temp. There is a thermo wax at the water inlet (right hand side of the pic) that expands as coolant temp increases, thus closing the valve when the coolant temp is a operating temp.
The idle air control valve however is ecu controlled. It is located behind the intake manifold( nearest to the firewall) and has a two pin connector. The iacv is what the ecu uses to maintain a good idle. The below link shows what the iacv typically looks like.
http://www.superhonda.com/photopost/dat ... _IMG_2.JPG

i think you could first check to make sure that the FITV is screwed in all the way. If you look at the above picture (what stephanweaver posted), you would see the white plastic screw. This should be screwed in snug. After that remove the IACV from the intake manifold and clean the little screen (the tiny wire mesh looking thing) with some carb cleaner. NB. try to remove the rubber O ring first so that the carb cleaner does not damage it.

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » April 29th, 2007, 4:19 pm

Stephan the second pic not loading bro. and thanks for the effort.
And no problem not solved yet. trying to solve it without going to the Mechs

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » April 29th, 2007, 4:20 pm

1st pic is ivac i beleive?

2nd is fitv.

please clarify someone

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » April 29th, 2007, 4:32 pm

when does it happen?
when the engine is cold ?

or warm or both?

what happens exzactly

gizmo

Postby gizmo » April 29th, 2007, 7:17 pm

stephanweaver wrote:1st pic is ivac i beleive?

2nd is fitv.

please clarify someone

ok... in the factory service manual picture you posted, item #21 is the IACV and item #13 is the FITV

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » April 29th, 2007, 9:04 pm

thanks for the spelling bro :)

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » April 29th, 2007, 9:07 pm

cold or hot - as long as it's on neutral or park it fluctuates

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » April 29th, 2007, 9:10 pm

its surging really....

did you check your vaccum lines as well?

whats the water temp like?

you got sufficent coolant in the rad and overflow?

Zh@ne

Postby Zh@ne » April 30th, 2007, 7:50 am

its surging really....

did you check your vaccum lines as well?

whats the water temp like?

you got sufficent coolant in the rad and overflow?

I had ask him that to...but he didn't say!

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » April 30th, 2007, 8:51 pm

weird thing. today it just stopped happening.
Like she Hear me talking about a swap or what! :lol:
I guess it must have been a ling and it ended up self clearing.

Return to “HONDA”