JDM Guy's Car Blog (02/10/2017. Engine upgraded)

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

Gx7

Re: JDM Guy's Car Blog Thread

Postby Gx7 » February 14th, 2013, 4:10 pm

red_dragon wrote:^ Leave him alone.... this is jus a repeat of the eg8 and eg9 threads.....

again I repeat leave the man alone....

BUT BUT d man doh learn honda parts not cheap and d mods he doing he jus going in circles better he buya nissan ...better he take that paper and buy a duck and some beers every friday for d honda crew

r3iXmann wrote:
red_dragon wrote:^ Leave him alone.... this is jus a repeat of the eg8 and eg9 threads.....

agreed.

:cry: :cry:
i aint check for d thing for u yet eh ...... will do nex week i hear some containers coming ...

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » February 14th, 2013, 4:50 pm

r3iXmann wrote:

agreed.

doh study
gonna start a " dragon tuning " post weekend....some victims supposed to pass tru

Postby r3iXmann » February 14th, 2013, 5:10 pm

sti7 wrote:
:cry: :cry:
i aint check for d thing for u yet eh ...... will do nex week i hear some containers coming ...

no scene..thanks 8-)

red_dragon wrote:
r3iXmann wrote:

agreed.

doh study
gonna start a " dragon tuning " post weekend....some victims supposed to pass tru

werd!

silence

Postby silence » February 14th, 2013, 5:51 pm

Reamos DC5

Postby Reamos DC5 » February 14th, 2013, 8:35 pm

red_dragon wrote:
r3iXmann wrote:

agreed.

doh study

bonx starter

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » February 17th, 2013, 10:17 pm

CTR upgrade
2013-02-17 11.23.43.jpg
2013-02-17 11.27.04.jpg
2013-02-17 11.48.03.jpg
2013-02-17 11.48.10.jpg
2013-02-17 11.56.10.jpg
2013-02-17 11.56.16.jpg
2013-02-17 11.56.22.jpg
2013-02-17 12.42.07.jpg

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » February 17th, 2013, 11:32 pm

how does stopping power compare?

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » February 18th, 2013, 9:21 am

Haven't tested it yet. Will drive the car weekend. For now it sits in the garage.

Postby r3iXmann » February 18th, 2013, 9:47 am

you installed brake components and did not test? :shock:

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » February 18th, 2013, 8:27 pm

YEh....

Postby X2 » February 18th, 2013, 11:03 pm

Whats the size difference to and from ?

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » February 19th, 2013, 9:22 am

7/8''-1''.. the pedal def feels better.

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » February 21st, 2013, 7:38 pm

Cleaned injectors after work and changed to some new NGK bkr6e-11.. Also toped off the battery water.

Ready for test sunday.

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » February 24th, 2013, 9:46 am

New brake pads installed.
2013-02-22 18.20.31.jpg
Who say HAWK.....

Gx7

Postby Gx7 » February 24th, 2013, 1:45 pm

So u stopping like a boss now but what mods u have for gains in HP ? i following this blog cuz i building a beast and i want to do it rite na ... without wasting $$$

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » February 24th, 2013, 1:48 pm

I didn't bother to put the Hawk sticker on my ride when I installed them.. Was far too big for my taste.. Probably a good thing too considering I switched from their pads within 2 yrs to stop-tech..

Anyway, review of the pads?

Gx7

Postby Gx7 » February 24th, 2013, 3:06 pm

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » February 24th, 2013, 5:44 pm

Slow speed and cold stopping is not as good as OEM. Push a little more on the pedal and the car stops, when the pads are warmed up they hold great at high speed slowing and stops. Speeds over 120kmph. City driving you def have to push the pedal more that OEM to slow the car and stop it. Happy to announce NO NOISE..
Just have to resurface the rear rotors and install the rear pads.

Gx7

Postby Gx7 » February 24th, 2013, 7:34 pm

JDM_GUY wrote:Slow speed and cold stopping is not as good as OEM. Push a little more on the pedal and the car stops, when the pads are warmed up they hold great at high speed slowing and stops. Speeds over 120kmph. City driving you def have to push the pedal more that OEM to slow the car and stop it. Happy to announce NO NOISE..
Just have to resurface the rear rotors and install the rear pads.

so wait u install a 1'' booster and u still have to push harder on the pedel to stop ? hmmmmmmm so when u had oem pads and oem booster was it the same way ?

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » February 25th, 2013, 12:06 am

STI7, the pressing harder isn't to do with the booster or the pedal, its to do with the compound of the Hawk HPS pads.. They tend to be way more responsive when they have heated up a bit, hence the lack of low speed (cold) effectiveness..

That is actually one of the main reasons I swtiched..

JJ16

Re: Painting my valve cover and wraping my spoon header

Postby JJ16 » February 25th, 2013, 1:54 am

COROLLA KID wrote:Valve cover looks good man..clean

Not that im showing off or anything, but here's mines that i did couple months back..
Flat black cover with metallic red lettering and semi circle cuts to show off cam gears :wink:

Much props to you on this Corolla Kid, this has to be one of the most impressive looks i've seen... Reximan has a great one also, but the Black is better for B16's and the Red that reximan has is great for those type R's like himself..

I would like to know where you got the paint to get your cover looking like that, which ones exactly? And did it stand up to the heat?

I never tried that 10-30 Oil, how is it lasting? does it burn quickly or its great? *and yea i know it would also depend on the condition of your engine though*

Also on the brake, i just basically skimmed through the thread, so do excuse me if I seem outta timing eh :lol: but Wilwood isnt a "bess brand" from what i've read on MANY online threads. Wilwood is a "rice" brand from what i;ve read... I've never owned them so thats based on WHAT I read...
Based on "online information" the best brands are *which are available for hondas*

AP
Brembo
Alcon

(only downside they are the most expensive)

**but i must say the 6piston wilwoods do look crisp** :|

Gx7

Postby Gx7 » February 25th, 2013, 8:01 am

CD4Accord wrote:STI7, the pressing harder isn't to do with the booster or the pedal, its to do with the compound of the Hawk HPS pads.. They tend to be way more responsive when they have heated up a bit, hence the lack of low speed (cold) effectiveness..

That is actually one of the main reasons I swtiched..

o ok thanks .didnt know that ......

Postby X2 » February 25th, 2013, 2:16 pm

Sti7,

CD4Accord's response is based on the brake pad material change, but you are correct, larger booster and MC does affect pedal travel and how 'hard' the pedal seems so your reaction is justified.

I wouldn't think a pad has such a significant effect particularly after the size upgrade.

Asking JDM GUY again same question... what was your original master cylinder size and what size is the CTR ?

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » February 25th, 2013, 2:26 pm

OEM is 7/8 and I upgraded to a 1" from a CTR keeping the stock booster. The pedal is stiffer and higher. But the pad bite is a little lower than the OEM at cold temps, however at the same pedal travel as the OEM pad the hawk bites harder. Its not a race pad so I didnt expect a huge improvement over stock. Yesterday at Autocross the pad and pedal travel was a big improvement over stock.

Gx7

Postby Gx7 » February 25th, 2013, 8:07 pm

u have a stock hatch Non SiR ? so went from 13/16 to 7/8 den to 1'' ? have u felt any MUCH difference ? not considering the pads ?

my question is 7/8 to 1'' hows the stopping distance compared ? not considering the pads and pedal travel and stiffness etc

reason for my question is im building a car and i hav stock brakes i want to upgrade but i dont want to jump from here to ther ...... im thinking bout 15/16 OEM SiR .. cuz to my knowledge that 1'' shouldn't make much of a difference ? and CTR parts not cheap here in trini ....

Postby black start » February 25th, 2013, 9:55 pm

Jdm guy, is this the same honda that sits by eng?

Sti7, there would actually be a slight increase in the hardness of the pedal (force that needs to be applied) with an increase in the cross-sectional area of the master cylinder, regarless of what pad were used. It has something to do with hydraulics, but lets not get ito that....

Gx7

Postby Gx7 » February 26th, 2013, 10:00 pm

black start wrote:Jdm guy, is this the same honda that sits by eng?

Sti7, there would actually be a slight increase in the hardness of the pedal (force that needs to be applied) with an increase in the cross-sectional area of the master cylinder, regarless of what pad were used. It has something to do with hydraulics, but lets not get ito that....

yes bro i know all that but i want to know if ther is a difference in stopping distance .... u can hav a harder pedal and same stopping distance in hot or cold conditions ...... i want to know if the upgrade was a success or same results were found :?:

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » February 27th, 2013, 12:48 am

sti7.. Problem with all vehicle upgrades is that without scientifically measuring, its hard to gauge exactly how much something improved..
I'm sure he had an improvement of some sort, but quantifying it, especially via the internet is always going to be a challenge

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » February 27th, 2013, 12:26 pm

Rear pad install this weekend.

Gx7

Postby Gx7 » February 27th, 2013, 11:27 pm

JDM_GUY wrote:Rear pad install this weekend.

u seem never to answer any questions i feel u got d same result but doh wa say :roll:

Return to “HONDA”