B16A/B18 LOW BOOST or B18C-R or FRANK?

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » February 24th, 2009, 7:41 pm

what happening now PAZ still $mok1n the old W33d?

paz

Postby paz » February 24th, 2009, 8:38 pm

red_dragon wrote:what happening now PAZ still $mok1n the old W33d?

hahah yeah as always ...i looking for a piper to sell me a turbo kit ...doh worry just now i will find one . :lol: :lol:

man yuh want the enkeis i looking for a set of Sir s or CE28n knock offs

FORZA_PRETTYBOY

Postby FORZA_PRETTYBOY » February 24th, 2009, 8:40 pm

paz-so u sayin dat i can achieve my initial goals with a pieced 2gether kit on stock internals 4 30k(everything includin engine) :?: & if so how reliable is dis set up @ 6-7psi?

dragon-i was gettin 1 b4 for 20k(full conversion),but i ended up buyin d Ek4 & didn't bother a d time,also it looked like it had gotten plenty licks(but i guess that could have been corrected wit a rebuild?).
So say i am gettin 1 a full service/rebuild would cost about wat app. figure? :mrgreen:

WAT ABOUT MY 3 QUES. B4 GUYS? :lol:

Postby SR » February 24th, 2009, 8:52 pm

first of all

ANY engine you decide to go with please add to the cost the 100K serivce including a new oil pump

even at a 20K purchase price for the b18c it only leaves you with 10k for install and additional parts as well as the 100k service

paz

Postby paz » February 24th, 2009, 8:53 pm

reliability depends on a number of things ..

firstly the how healthy is your engine . what's the compression like , is it smoking are you loosing water etc ? most people boost their old beat engines with doing something as basic as a 100k service .. when engines dont last they blame everything else besides themselves.

secondly reliability will depend on your tune / tuner

non oem parts but excellent quality as tested many boosted guys . $340 USD plus labour from mechanic

OEm parts check out inlinefour or just ask cleriq ..he can give you an accurate pricing on the parts

30k should get you in order with a b18c-r thats serviced .

30k for a boost b16a will depending on how much you pay for your parts.

do you still have the ek4 and is this your intended project car ?

if not and your starting from a base model or single cam civic ..build and turbo that ..you will be extremely happy

FORZA_PRETTYBOY

Postby FORZA_PRETTYBOY » February 24th, 2009, 8:59 pm

q unit-would have liked 2 get d let(always liked those lil monsters), but i'm tryin 2 stick wit my beloved brand. d only ting i tink i'll switch 4 is maybe ah '04 Sti,& right now my 180whp super hatch & house more important dan a high priced street killa :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

jc

Postby jc » February 24th, 2009, 9:05 pm

is there anyone in TnT that can reliably cut and sleeve a block if i want to go with 84 or 87mm bore instead of using 81mm bore :?:

FORZA_PRETTYBOY

Postby FORZA_PRETTYBOY » February 24th, 2009, 9:09 pm

SR-i know i would have 2 do 100k service on a jap licked B18c-R,but wat's d average cost of dat compared 2 let's say 7k 4 a B16a 100k?

PAZ- yes i still have d Ek4,but it's 4 sale, i'm startin from a 1.5 non-vtec auto hatch. if it had a box i might have considered boostin d 1.5,but 2 put in a box,boost & den not achieve my initial goals doesn't make sense :wink:

jc

Postby jc » February 24th, 2009, 9:16 pm

forza: the ek4 you have to sell is the pbf on trinicarsforsale site :?:

FORZA_PRETTYBOY

Postby FORZA_PRETTYBOY » February 24th, 2009, 10:02 pm

jc wrote:forza: the ek4 you have to sell is the pbf on trinicarsforsale site :?:
:fist:

jc

Postby jc » February 24th, 2009, 10:07 pm

i take that to mean yes :lol:

FORZA_PRETTYBOY

Postby FORZA_PRETTYBOY » February 24th, 2009, 10:09 pm

wat do u tink :mrgreen:

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » February 24th, 2009, 10:09 pm

jc wrote:is there anyone in TnT that can reliably cut and sleeve a block if i want to go with 84 or 87mm bore instead of using 81mm bore :?:

bout machine shop cannot answer that one

but 84mm is max for B-series after that u have to start to modify the combustion chamber

if u wanna go 87 take out the B and put a K :D

but why would u wanna go 87 ? to make a 2.12?

but remember that is just the bottom end u will also need to

if u have the coin get a Dart or import builders block 84mm and build from there

head work
exhaust
gearing (quote from Cleriq)

FORZA_PRETTYBOY

Postby FORZA_PRETTYBOY » February 24th, 2009, 10:14 pm

DRAGON

FORZA_PRETTYBOY wrote:paz-so u sayin dat i can achieve my initial goals with a pieced 2gether kit on stock internals 4 30k(everything includin engine) :?: & if so how reliable is dis set up @ 6-7psi?

dragon-i was gettin 1 b4 for 20k(full conversion),but i ended up buyin d Ek4 & didn't bother a d time,also it looked like it had gotten plenty licks(but i guess that could have been corrected wit a rebuild?).
So say i am gettin 1 a full service/rebuild would cost about wat app. figure? :mrgreen:

WAT ABOUT MY 3 QUES. B4 GUYS? :lol:

FORZA_PRETTYBOY

Postby FORZA_PRETTYBOY » February 24th, 2009, 10:19 pm

FORZA_PRETTYBOY wrote:SR- so with 30k i wouldn't even get a B18C-R installed?,& if so ,wat could b d expected whp from a jap beaten B18?,condition of g.box expected etc?

jc- u rush my ques. on d 1800cc block/stroker kit :mrgreen:

dragon- tanks 4 research info :lol:

OK GUYS WAT CAN I EXPECT FROM:
1. A B16A WIT LET'S SAY STAGE 2 S2K(ie complete cams)?
2. A B16A WIT 18 BLOCK?
3. A JAP ABUSED B18C-R STOCK?

KEEP IN MIND MY INITIAL GOALS! :lol: :mrgreen:
:?: :?: :?:

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » February 24th, 2009, 10:26 pm

OK GUYS WAT CAN I EXPECT FROM:
with this u will need do some exhaust work and bigger TB
total gain bout 15HP

2. A B16A WIT 18 BLOCK?
lots more torque :D

3. A JAP ABUSED B18C-R STOCK? (if u rebuild .. anything possible)

FORZA_PRETTYBOY

Postby FORZA_PRETTYBOY » February 24th, 2009, 10:37 pm

red_dragon wrote:OK GUYS WAT CAN I EXPECT FROM:
with this u will need do some exhaust work and bigger TB
total gain bout 15HP

2. A B16A WIT 18 BLOCK?
lots more torque :D

3. A JAP ABUSED B18C-R STOCK? (if u rebuild .. anything possible)
Dragon-so option 1 out,2-lots more tq?,how much roughly? & wil it meet my goals?, i guess 3 is out 2 unless i can get 180whp wit just d 100k service :roll:

jc

Postby jc » February 24th, 2009, 10:39 pm

thanks dragon.

didn't know about the 84mm being max without modifing the combustion chamber 8-)

so looking at either 81mm with 92mm stroke (1.83L) or 84mm with 84.5mm stroke (1.87L) that crower can supply.

looks like 81mm is the better choice, no cutting or sleeving required on the block :idea:

i guess the stock head can work with the 81mm with no problems :?:

FORZA_PRETTYBOY

Postby FORZA_PRETTYBOY » February 24th, 2009, 10:46 pm

jc wrote:thanks dragon.

didn't know about the 84mm being max without modifing the combustion chamber 8-)

so looking at either 81mm with 92mm stroke (1.83L) or 84mm with 84.5mm stroke (1.87L) that crower can supply.

looks like 81mm is the better choice, no cutting or sleeving required on the block :idea:

would strokin alone like suggested lower my expected max rpm :?:

wat about a 12.5-1 C.R B16A?,possible in our climate? & wat estimated cost? :mrgreen: ,power gain :?:

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » February 24th, 2009, 10:51 pm

U can even check yourself

if u know someone with a b16a head off pull tape

the stroker it is bout $2k-3K US

with the 92m stroke u need to do some mods on the block (listed on the site)

i guess the stock head can work with the 81mm to 84mm no problems

but

remember to add to your budget

exhaust work ....2.5"
headers
gearing

some work to head
manifold , TB , bigger injectors

also LAST

please get a proper ECU This goes for u to Forza

no VAFC mess...

AEM
PowerFC :twisted:
Hondata
ECtune

FORZA_PRETTYBOY

Postby FORZA_PRETTYBOY » February 24th, 2009, 11:06 pm

Dragon-dat sounds like it'll cost more dan my projected budget :roll: ,so i guess i'll start lookin 4 a B18C-R(NO 1 STIL DIDN'T ANSWER BOUT WAT IS MY EXPECTED POWER OUTPUT OF 1 JUST 100K SERVICED) :?:

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » February 24th, 2009, 11:07 pm

FORZA_PRETTYBOY wrote:

NO u can stay at 8200 cause the pistons used in the crower kit or others are 9:1 comp
but due to the higher displacement u would not need to rev higher

wat about a 12.5-1 C.R B16A?,possible in our climate? & wat estimated cost? :mrgreen: ,power gain :?:[/quote]

climate and octane of the gas

althought there are a few B-engines runnin it :roll:

u need pistons and rods but $5000+ depends on the brand

but max u should go it 11.5:1

and with 12.5 comp u cannot run any radical cams :(

FORZA_PRETTYBOY

Postby FORZA_PRETTYBOY » February 24th, 2009, 11:18 pm

red_dragon wrote:
FORZA_PRETTYBOY wrote:

NO u can stay at 8200 cause the pistons used in the crower kit or others are 9:1 comp
but due to the higher displacement u would not need to rev higher

wat about a 12.5-1 C.R B16A?,possible in our climate? & wat estimated cost? :mrgreen: ,power gain :?:

climate and octane of the gas

althought there are a few B-engines runnin it :roll:

u need pistons and rods but $5000+ depends on the brand

but max u should go it 11.5:1

and with 12.5 comp u cannot run any radical cams :([/quote]ok!, till 2mor!,B18C-R so far :mrgreen:

jc

Postby jc » February 24th, 2009, 11:29 pm

the CR with the kit is 9:1 :o

is that standard with the kit :?:

i thought it might of been closer to 10.2.

based on what you told forza, 10.2 should be safe to use on the crower kit :?:

i guess this can be requested when ordering the kit :?:

but with the 9.1, i should be looking @ around how much whp, with stock head, upgraded exhaust and intake :?:

can the stock ecu work :?:

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » February 24th, 2009, 11:51 pm

9:1 is standard with their stroker kits higher compression u will hit the valves

they will tell u NO NO NO

tried that already

NO for stock ECU and INJECTOR

remember u are bigger than a 1600

recommended build

start off with a B18c GSR

gut it

put in

HEAD
Skunk2 Pro 3 cams
68mm TB and manifold
370cc injectors

BLOCK
82mm bore 11.5:1
stock stroke
good header ,,,, 2.5" exhaust

ECU for tuning
gearing will be determined if Drag or .....
LSD

and a MUST GOOD BRAKES TO STOP THE FELLA
AND UPGRADE THE SUSPENSION

THIS should run u close to 190WHP

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » February 24th, 2009, 11:54 pm

jc wrote:but with the 9.1, i should be looking @ around how much whp, with stock head, upgraded exhaust and intake :?:

can the stock ecu work :?:

HUMM
that is a tough one
170WHP + :?

but for that kinda Coin
u better off running 6-8psi

jc

Postby jc » February 25th, 2009, 5:05 am

so based on all the dicussion so far, all of which has been extremely helpful, and using a EK4 sedan as the platform:

1. if i do the 81mm x 92mm stroker kit, i can use a b16a head but will need to upgrade

exhaust to ....2.5"
headers
gearing

some work to head
manifold , TB , bigger injectors
get a proper ECU

or

2. start off with a B18c GSR

gut it

put in

HEAD
Skunk2 Pro 3 cams
68mm TB and manifold
370cc injectors

BLOCK
stock stroke
ECU for tuning

or

3. simply buy a b18c-r, do 100k service and hope for the best.

i like the idea of the stroker kit as you still have b16a stamped on the block but have 1800cc's, a sleeper, but getting someone to build may be the tough part :(

1 question though. with option 2, how agressive are the pro 3 cams as i will be using the car as a daily driver :?:

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » February 25th, 2009, 7:56 am

JC as your daily driver try the Skunk2 pro 2

the sleeper is nice

when time to sell is hard to prove

check your PM

FORZA_PRETTYBOY

Postby FORZA_PRETTYBOY » February 25th, 2009, 8:55 am

recommended build

start off with a B18c GSR

gut it

put in

HEAD
Skunk2 Pro 3 cams
68mm TB and manifold
370cc injectors

BLOCK
stock stroke

ECU for tuning
gearing will be determined if Drag or .....
LSD

and a MUST GOOD BRAKES TO STOP THE FELLA
AND UPGRADE THE SUSPENSION

THIS should run u close to 190WHP[/quote]

DRAGON-WAT COST WOULD I B LOOKIN AT 4 DIS OPTION?

GUYS-WAT'S A REALISTIC EXPECTED POWER OUTPUT OF A B18C-R WIT JUST D 100K SERVICE??

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » February 25th, 2009, 9:41 am

$1500US for the head

$900US for the block

plus budget for the 100k service parts, gaskets and seals

header,exhaust,ecu,LSD .. what ever u wanna spend

also a 100K service does not cover internal parts .... so u would not get any Major gains

Return to “HONDA”