apexi VAFC II for SOHC 3 stage Vtec ( HELP HONDA GODS)

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » March 14th, 2006, 8:22 pm

lol, wait wait... the 2nd stage engages at 6200.. how much later u realy want to bring it in...

... that vtec so dread, it in the redline yes. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » March 14th, 2006, 8:26 pm

ok ok "T" the input wire for the solonoid...
take the vtec output on the vafc wire to to the secondary output wire run on the solonoind it self... that all

call me

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » March 14th, 2006, 8:29 pm

^ i know that solution, but its so.... barbaric

also, thats the input into the vafc taken care off... what about the output? where u gonning to reconnect the vafc to the system?

if indeed there is just one input for the both solenoids to the ecu, the wires that come out of the solenoids should join somewhere... so i guess u could enter the modded signal before that junction and theorethically it should work... but too much trouble for no real purpose according to my dyno
Last edited by Silvermike on March 14th, 2006, 8:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » March 14th, 2006, 8:32 pm

and it works 100%... :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

civcdrvrinwrx

Postby civcdrvrinwrx » March 14th, 2006, 8:57 pm

ay silver mike i just sayin if i had the option to adjust the vtec engagement and tune it on the dyno i would like to try it.
instead of just havin a feature that i cant use.
dont bash it till u try it.
more importantly dont bash others for experimenting.
but audi (dyno guy) himself told me that changin vtec engagement slightly would make an increase in horse power.

civcdrvrinwrx

Postby civcdrvrinwrx » March 14th, 2006, 9:00 pm

kes u have the wirin diagram for my ecu. :?:

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » March 14th, 2006, 9:40 pm

ANA_sole wrote:ay silver mike i just sayin if i had the option to adjust the vtec engagement and tune it on the dyno i would like to try it.
instead of just havin a feature that i cant use.
dont bash it till u try it.
more importantly dont bash others for experimenting.
but audi (dyno guy) himself told me that changin vtec engagement slightly would make an increase in horse power.

ok, hold up. read my posts and come again.

im not bashin u, far from it. i tried this same experiment awhile back. as for audi, changing the vtec may give increases... but not on a stockish engine. by lookin at a dyno chart.. if the torque curve is smooth over the vtec engagment, it is in the the right place. mine is like that, thus i said there isnt much poin tin trying to change it as it is already where it should be

as i said before, if ure engine is modded, then u will have something to gain from it. thats y i asked to see ure dyno. anyways.. if u have a jump in torque when vtec engages, lowerin the vtec will increase power in the region just beofre the vtec used to engage. if there is a torque sag... the vtec should be higher.

the more aggressive the cam profiule, the later the vtec should come in. EG. when i was running ITR cams in a b16, vtec at 5800 was the best xover. for stock cams the vtrec would be where it should be. in general a change in compression, cam profile, valve angle etc would constitute a change in optimum vtec point.

Clerique

Postby Clerique » March 14th, 2006, 9:59 pm

:? All this VTEC talk makin' me nauseous. I goin an buy a B14 yes.

civcdrvrinwrx

Postby civcdrvrinwrx » March 14th, 2006, 10:19 pm

Cleriq wrote::? All this VTEC talk makin' me nauseous. I goin an buy a B14 yes.

LOL
may be u in the wrong forum THIS IS HONDA SPECIFIC NOT NISSAN SPECIFIC
GET OUT U MISSED URE STOP

nah silver mike i see what u mean ( at least SOME of YOUR criticism is CONSTRUCTIVE) and i know what u sayin is true cuz i did my own little experiment :twisted: trust me :!:

but horse power at lower rpm especially is what i lookin for at leat for dex.
audi was showin me how to do that by playin wit vtec engagement, to a huge detriment to top end of course but id use it for dex and then reset it to drive on the highway and cut ure ass, thus, this is the whole purpose of the vafc 2 for me. :twisted:

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » March 14th, 2006, 10:24 pm

ok, so u lookin for more low-mid range torque.

CAI, 421 headers, throw in some SIR injectors and lean with the vafc

civcdrvrinwrx

Postby civcdrvrinwrx » March 14th, 2006, 10:36 pm

Silvermike wrote:ok, so u lookin for more low-mid range torque.

CAI, 421 headers, throw in some SIR injectors and lean with the vafc

YIP I ALMOST THERE ACTUALLY GOOD POINTS. 3 OUTTA 4 8-)
INJECTORS NEED TOO MUCH ATTENTION though I TRYIN TO DO EVERYTHIN WITH VAFC2 I GET MORE FUEL POINTS THAN THE VAFC1 i think.
ACTUALLY SHUT UP U BEGININ TO SOUND LIKE AUDI. LOL
:o

Clerique

Postby Clerique » March 14th, 2006, 10:37 pm

I wanna know when allyuh sort out the wiring on them two solenoids.
Last edited by Clerique on March 15th, 2006, 8:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

civcdrvrinwrx

Postby civcdrvrinwrx » March 14th, 2006, 10:40 pm

lol :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
U TRYIN TO GET BACK IN THE HONDA SPECIFIC FORUM OK SIR
STAMP OF APPROVAL
U CUD REJOIN NO MORE NISSAN COMMENTS OR WELL REVOKE U AGAIN.
PS. nice engine

civcdrvrinwrx

Postby civcdrvrinwrx » March 14th, 2006, 10:41 pm

thats cvt

civcdrvrinwrx

Postby civcdrvrinwrx » March 14th, 2006, 10:42 pm

:?: :?: i not seein no clutch resr

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » March 14th, 2006, 10:45 pm

there draw back with a piggy back is that it affects timing as well. by adding fuel with a piggy back u tell the ecu that its under more load... thus it pushes more fuel, but retards timing. however, if u have bigger injectors, u need to lean... thus advancing timing. this has worked for me.

i run a lil bit on the rich side.... around 13.5 afr.

cleriq, nice setup. u need to hook up a wideband and see what afr u running. but with the bpu's, im guessin ull be wanting some more fuel.

wanna race? i trying to setup a d series battle :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Clerique

Postby Clerique » March 14th, 2006, 11:04 pm

ANA_sole wrote:thats cvt

Daz right!

This car runnin' like ballz, these days. The only tuneable thing I have is the FPR. And my Butt dyno eh wokkin so hott. I gave someone some cash to buy a VAFC for me some years ago and the man duck me :evil: . I beat up plenty D series with the CVT but I believe with a gearbox and some tuning this car will run, it even got higher than stock compression.

I goin and take off all the parts jus now.

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » March 14th, 2006, 11:09 pm

nice! why u scrapin it though?
if u partin out i want them headers

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » March 15th, 2006, 3:09 am

ana sole... i wait tuh know wah ecu i have.... playing with vtec on a stock motor "may" give you 2 tuh 4hp

Postby X2 » March 15th, 2006, 3:17 pm

Playing with vtec on a stock intake manifold and cam is just about a waste of time. All that time and effort spent on trying to tune in some more power can be made just as easily with an adjustable cam gear.... but with the cam gear, you will end up making more power down low once adjusted correctly.

Sohc's are very tempermental by rpm.... and the intake manifold is designed for stock vtec points. You play with a/f too much and you might make some power up top, but what about losses in the low end.

Kes and Silvermike, can you post some dyno sheets of your adjustments on the sohc's ? I would love to analyse them, particularly if you have corresponding a/f values datalogged.

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » March 15th, 2006, 5:48 pm

i have 89 dyno pulls, can't say the ones that don't have timing or vtec...
but i have my dyno sheet on reader's rides

Clerique

Postby Clerique » March 15th, 2006, 8:21 pm

kes_vtec wrote:i have 89 dyno pulls

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » March 15th, 2006, 8:52 pm

yeah man...
i have done it all... :?

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » March 16th, 2006, 11:53 am

im problably heading dyno this weekend to get a printout.. we will link :wink:

civcdrvrinwrx

Postby civcdrvrinwrx » March 18th, 2006, 8:20 pm

ay kes went by audi today he say he want u to b there when tunin the vafc2 DOH STICK!!!!!!!!! PM ME OR CALL ME
I LEFT U A MESSAGE ON YOUR MACHINE U GET IT?/!!!

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » March 18th, 2006, 8:59 pm

pm me when u ready...
i was there early this morin'
mike same thing and up date me on the ecu on wah u doin'

civcdrvrinwrx

Postby civcdrvrinwrx » March 18th, 2006, 10:01 pm

I ready.

civcdrvrinwrx

Postby civcdrvrinwrx » April 18th, 2006, 10:36 am

oh yea fellas it is possible to hook the vafc2 to the sohc 3 stage vtec :twisted:
it real fukcin mad. had to do a little bit of modification to it though but it really made a huge difference.
id like to thank kes vtec :cry: with out his ecu diagram it wouldnt have been possible. id also like to thank honda b20b for the chain up.
and last but not least id like to give a finger of appreciation for all those haters who told me it could not be done :fist: :fist: :twisted: :twisted: thanks asssholesu know who u r

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » April 18th, 2006, 1:50 pm

no probs :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

ey, mike, yuh want ahh VAFC2 TUH BUY???????????????????????????????????

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » April 18th, 2006, 3:43 pm

ANA sole u duh have the hit them men the :fist:
u had a feeling that some thing could be done... and you went out and did it...
sometimes you need to forget what other ppl are sayin'

right b20 (the ice box)

Return to “HONDA”