Turbo Charging a K20A

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » October 3rd, 2007, 10:26 pm

nice nice, NA sounds much more reliable in this case also. Is there any way to crank out alot more horses as in maybe a 500HP ? i know HP does win the race, its tune but im tryin to get some info on honda since i never really ventured here. More used to the NISSAN BOOST :lol:

Also can you get the ITR to run 11Sec? NA that is. Again i know its PLENTY MONEY but can this be done and still be a street car?

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » October 4th, 2007, 3:43 am

paz wrote:go n/a its a beastly n/a engine ..
cams.intake ,headers,exhaust and kpro .

do some weight reduction on your ITR and you got a low 13sec car that could take real jamming .its better to go n/a and spend the rest ,on suspension ,brakes ,looks .in the end you will have a better allrounded car..

check buddy club they recently had a special on their k20 cams,camsgears and valvetrain

+1
just i would stick with skunk 2 cams and go for a 11.5.1 CR and the new intake, will be hitting 230+ on trinidad piss gas.

Zh@ne
Location: Some say he can be nowhere and everywhere at the same time

Postby Zh@ne » October 4th, 2007, 8:30 am

how about keeping the car n/a for reliability of an everyday drive car and use NOS when yuh want to go fast :?:

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » October 4th, 2007, 8:40 am

Death Row i was looking at all the possiblites of puttin a K20 in my civic but the reality is even if you have good pockets the boosting of such an high compression engine makes the car a bit unreliable as you will begun to encounter numerous problems such as gas quality, breaking gaerboxes, traction issusses, findind proper axles, etc... the list goes on and on so do like me save the money and wait for a RR or S 2000 :twisted: , or yeh and I like my vehicles even if ti is a project to be capable of taking me to the grocery or the mall and bring me back without a problem as I say,

DAILY DRIVEN, AS IT SHOULD BE :twisted:

Samiir_Tuner

Postby Samiir_Tuner » October 4th, 2007, 5:27 pm

EL JEFE

Postby EL JEFE » October 4th, 2007, 5:57 pm

That K20 sounds so sweet.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » October 4th, 2007, 6:39 pm

:lol: :lol: think is just to leave it NA yes. thanks.

QG

Postby QG » October 4th, 2007, 7:17 pm

Death-Row wrote:ok so Stock stuff will go boom :lol: what if you got a deep pocket. Can the engine be rebuilt to take a nice amount of boost, something like 18psi? how much will this cost and can it be done down here?

Why would u want to this to a K20A i-VTEC engine...that's a great engine just stock alone. Stick to 7psi and add a MSD Ignition System and u will feel great performance.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » October 4th, 2007, 7:41 pm

Nissan QG15DE,never dug up in the honda world so i knows nothing of honda stuff and what they are capable of so.................

dragaholic

Postby dragaholic » October 4th, 2007, 8:31 pm

de best I think I ever saw dat teg run was 14s.

paz

Postby paz » October 5th, 2007, 12:27 am

^^^ thats stock dc5 time....

keep it dc5 n/a .start small get the car retuned for our sheit gas. then suspension(spring and shocks) and drivetrain(clutch and flywheel).invest in a motor mount insert kit or mount mount kit..intake and exhaust(headers and catback)

install your cams and valvetrain.(please dont let anyone port that bess factory head)
then get the car retuned .before you know it you have a bess 13sec reliable daily driver...

thats just the way i would go

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » October 5th, 2007, 12:29 am

paz,exactly what i was thinkin of, based on the info i got here. thanks alot.

Postby honda hoe » October 5th, 2007, 2:03 pm

paz,

u texin me for info an den postin on 2nR like is ur ideas :evil:

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » October 5th, 2007, 2:39 pm

honda hoe, :lol: :lol:

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » October 5th, 2007, 8:48 pm

honda hoe wrote:paz,

hahahahaha, ahh know some tuners like dat :lol: :lol:

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » October 5th, 2007, 8:54 pm

so we stickin N/A. Anyone know if the K20 can make the 1/4 in somthing like 11Sec?

what will be the budget on this? what will be done? please dont say REAL MONEY or anything in that range :lol:

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » October 5th, 2007, 9:08 pm

^^^^^ to do that yuh talking 25-35k easy

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » October 5th, 2007, 9:40 pm

HondaB20B,thats not soo bad compare to what i was thinkin about. i was thinkin along the lines of 60K lol for the way alyuh was talkin.

for a reliable daily driver 11 sec car. nice nice. i may be getting over bearing now but i came to tuner to learn lol so may i ask what will be done to the engine or full car setup to get that 11sec?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » October 5th, 2007, 10:02 pm

thats just tuh start yuh know................ thats de minor mods i talking bout dey.
I think d K-PRO alone (dont quote me ehh) is about 8-9k

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » October 5th, 2007, 10:12 pm

HondaB20B,hmmmm ok ok, not sure if this is too much to ask but can i get a lil run down on what will need to be done to acquire that 11sec run time and how much will each step cost?

spliffington

k20

Postby spliffington » October 8th, 2007, 4:38 pm

if it was me i wud neva turbo a k20 i wud jus rest da in a eg hatch and done talk...waste a money tuboin dat d ting is done a beast wa u tryin to make it..well if u have money to waste..
i saw a k20 in a eg hatch with jus intake and headers and he was runnin high tens.

Re: k20

Postby X2 » October 8th, 2007, 5:00 pm

spliffington wrote:if it was me i wud neva turbo a k20 i wud jus rest da in a eg hatch and done talk...waste a money tuboin dat d ting is done a beast wa u tryin to make it..well if u have money to waste..
i saw a k20 in a eg hatch with jus intake and headers and he was runnin high tens.

the engine pushing that kinda time cost more than most ppl cars...

Death Row... to run 10's or 11's takes alot of work... not just engine. You need to do suspension work, chassis work, safety equipment (not that we have any track-tech to inspect it).

An 11 second or faster car is no joke, it crosses the quartermile around 120mph... it might not sound like it, but it is very dangerous if don't like a ratch.

spliffington

Postby spliffington » October 8th, 2007, 5:20 pm

x2 i hear u there but check this on u tube if u internet fast d chine man put a k20 in a eg an he say all he do was intake, headers, exhaust,and ecu..check d time he runnin. k20s a beast

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bc5R0FYAH8Q

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » October 8th, 2007, 5:50 pm

sorry man. its in a dc5 tegra so that swap outa it.

also i am aware that i will need safety stuff and that is first priority.

im lookin to take the car to something like 11s. which ever way is easier (not that im saying its easy to do) i will go with. so if its turbo then ill go with that but if its NA then ill go with that.

pockets not deep and i dont want the car to make the 11s over night and i like to do something good and done so lets not think about the money for now.

bullet

Postby bullet » October 8th, 2007, 7:52 pm

look for a scion rail and 50 shot

paz

Postby paz » October 8th, 2007, 9:38 pm

honda hoe wrote:paz,

:oops: ah man get make out .... :lol: :lol: :lol:

paz

Postby paz » October 8th, 2007, 9:50 pm

if you wanna spend the paper ..get ah importbuilders spec engine ..jeff is a great tuner .and can even have it tuned for 91 octane gas.

http://www.importbuilders.com/

check out his block and head packages excellents products and prices.

thanks honda hoe :lol:

Postby honda hoe » October 9th, 2007, 9:58 am

no scene :mrgreen:

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » October 11th, 2007, 9:54 pm

thanks for the help guys. making up the money for the car right now. just wanted to know whats out there for this car.

QG

Postby QG » October 27th, 2007, 8:19 pm

Death-Row wrote:so we stickin N/A. Anyone know if the K20 can make the 1/4 in somthing like 11Sec?

what will be the budget on this? what will be done? please dont say REAL MONEY or anything in that range :lol:

When u hear a name like Honda and u add parts to it, prepare to dig deep in your wallet and pockets :D . That would cost a whole lot of cash there buddy, u may want to re-think that one.

Return to “HONDA”