Gas Guage

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

subzeroracing

Gas Guage

Postby subzeroracing » September 16th, 2005, 6:52 pm

my gas guage isn't reading properly....when i full up it reads correctly but when as the gas is used the needle doesn't pass 3/4 full....so many time i will be running on empty and my gas guage indicates that i have plenty to go....my other guages work just fine, any insights on fixing this problem....

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » September 16th, 2005, 7:16 pm

forgot to tell you its a common problem with honda's.......

Postby crazybalhead » September 19th, 2005, 9:12 am

Try another gauge in the cluster and eliminate the gauge itself first.

riche

Gas Guage

Postby riche » September 20th, 2005, 7:21 am

Mine will read correctly at full but wont drop below half even if the tank is almost empty???

katana

Postby katana » September 20th, 2005, 9:31 am

well, lets trade guages cause mine will read perfect when full, but go below "E" after 2 trips to town and back

Postby crazybalhead » September 20th, 2005, 2:48 pm

That is a waste of time. Check it with one that you are sure is working. It is actually easy to swap out, mighht take you a whole five minutes.

Postby De Dragon » September 20th, 2005, 5:08 pm

Honda guages are quirky. Mine will go from full to half normally and then take a long time at half and then suddenly be at just above "E" which according to the trip I make would be correct

d red civic chick

Postby d red civic chick » September 20th, 2005, 10:42 pm

De Dragon wrote:Honda guages are quirky.

true... so true :?

sometimes mines on half and then i go town from curepe and see the needle at the E

hilux junkie

Re: Gas Guage

Postby hilux junkie » September 22nd, 2005, 2:56 pm

subzeroracing wrote:my gas guage isn't reading properly....when i full up it reads correctly but when as the gas is used the needle doesn't pass 3/4 full....so many time i will be running on empty and my gas guage indicates that i have plenty to go....my other guages work just fine, any insights on fixing this problem....

i have dat same problem , anyone ever figured how to solve it?

Postby crazybalhead » September 22nd, 2005, 4:41 pm

The gauges are NOT quirky, the gas gauge does not have a linear reading that is all and they are very sensitive to the angle the car is at..

Use yuh odometer to check your mileage and correlate it to your gas gauge reading. This way you not only SURE you need gas or not, but you can monitor performance of your car instead of guessing that yuh burning more gas than normal.

Jinx2005Riceboy

Postby Jinx2005Riceboy » September 28th, 2005, 6:30 pm

How about checking the fuel pump? It has a "bobber" type thing that goes up or down indicating the level of gas in the tank.Could be bent.My car doesn't have that problem, but I live in the mountains, so when I go downhill, my gauge shows I have more gas, just as crazybalhead said.

Return to “HONDA”