Fuel injection problem

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

Jinx2005Riceboy

Fuel injection problem

Postby Jinx2005Riceboy » September 20th, 2005, 9:58 am

I got a D15B2 engine. After I run the car after it's cold for like 5 min, and go to start it again, it will get spark and crank, but won't start. I just replaced the fuel pump, but it is still doing the same thing. It sounds like the pump isn't kicking on every time. The injectors are fine, I checked them as well. I'm stumped. Could it be a choke problem maybe? Thanks for the help in advance.

Postby De Dragon » September 20th, 2005, 10:30 am

Fuel filter?

Postby crazybalhead » September 20th, 2005, 2:45 pm

The fuel pump relay has a loose solder which is very common.

check autonation, these is an easy thing to check and fix.

Jinx2005Riceboy

Postby Jinx2005Riceboy » September 20th, 2005, 4:16 pm

Well I found where the relay for the fuel pump is in my manual, so I'm going to check that next. I put a new fuel filter in recently, but for a couple bucks, I'll pick up another one to be sure. Hope this will work.

Postby SMc » September 20th, 2005, 4:55 pm

Jinx2005Riceboy wrote:Well I found where the relay for the fuel pump is in my manual, so I'm going to check that next. I put a new fuel filter in recently, but for a couple bucks, I'll pick up another one to be sure. Hope this will work.

ent a filter is 120+ dollars? best you get the relay check first IMO

Jinx2005Riceboy

Postby Jinx2005Riceboy » September 20th, 2005, 9:28 pm

Fuel pump is $120 maybe, but the fuel filter, under the engine, is only like $12.I'm going to double-check my injectors as well.

Jinx2005Riceboy

Postby Jinx2005Riceboy » September 21st, 2005, 11:20 am

Okay, I checked the injectors, they are fine.I am still getting a code 16, indicating fuel injector problems. I have no idea what else to do. I hope I don't have to take out the fuel pump again :roll: Where is the fuel pump relay and are the any inline fuses I'm missing?

Jinx2005Riceboy

Postby Jinx2005Riceboy » September 21st, 2005, 11:24 am

Just thought of something, too. If my timing was all wacky, would this throw off the injectors? Meaning my idle was off, dizzy too advanced, etc.

Postby crazybalhead » September 22nd, 2005, 4:53 pm

If you are getting an injector code then that is yuh problem man!!! make sure non of the clips in the injectors not broken and partially holding on, unclip them one by one and examine them with the car OFF. It sounds like yuh have a more serious problem than yuh could handle, take it by a mechanic if that don't work.

BTW a fuel pump is $900.00

havokkk

Postby havokkk » September 22nd, 2005, 6:43 pm

Jinx2005Riceboy is in the us, and is quoting prices in USD. :D

crazybalhead has pointed you in the right direction, i think, as you've got an injector error code up. you've prolly no continuity, an open loop somewhere...

Jinx2005Riceboy

Postby Jinx2005Riceboy » September 22nd, 2005, 7:18 pm

I put a screwdriver up to each injector, and they both were ticking like they were supposed to. I think you're both right. I think it might be in the wiring, so I'm going to go through it all this weekend. I guess I should just trace the injector wiring as far as it goes,huh? But by all rights, my injectors seem to be functioning properly. Any other suggestions would be welcome. I'll have to see what I can do this weekend.Thanks again. I'll update on the outcome. :?

Jinx2005Riceboy

Postby Jinx2005Riceboy » September 27th, 2005, 10:00 am

Alrighty, I took my dash out and the whole interior to see all my wiring. I checked everything, made sure all my harnesses were right, and cleaned up all the loose wiring. Put the car back together, and in 2 days, no codes! Maybe it was a loose harness or something :roll: I'm crossing my fingers hoping I don't get any codes in the next couple of days. How long does it take for the computer to "recognize" the car is having a problem? Last time I reset it, and I drove for like 5 min. got the code 16. Now no codes in double the time.

Jinx2005Riceboy

Postby Jinx2005Riceboy » October 3rd, 2005, 10:10 am

Okay,WTF?!?!?! Went to start my car at work today,wouldn't start again. Fuel pump isn't coming on everytime again. And,Code 16 is back again :evil: Think I should just get new injectors and be done with it?

Val

Postby Val » October 3rd, 2005, 12:04 pm

why dont u get a professional to help?

Jinx2005Riceboy

Postby Jinx2005Riceboy » October 3rd, 2005, 4:54 pm

vfp16 wrote:why dont u get a professional to help?
Because I believe in doing everything myself, and there are people who can help me here. :fist:

Val

Postby Val » October 4th, 2005, 2:56 pm

alrighty, good luck then.

Jinx2005Riceboy

Postby Jinx2005Riceboy » October 6th, 2005, 8:19 pm

Okay, I've been driving around for about a week or so, and now I haven't gotten the Code 16 again, just that one day after I "fixed" it. Any suggestions on this, especially 'x2'?

Return to “HONDA”