EK3 cvt to manual converted

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

katana

EK3 cvt to manual converted

Postby katana » August 29th, 2005, 10:28 am

Question, have a d15b non-vtec and putting in a gearbox (s40). car is an ek3 99 with CVT. we put the box but having a little issue with the ECU. car starts but D light flashes and then car cuts off. it looking for the tranny im guessing. can anyone help by telling me how i can bridge the stock ECU that i have right now so that the car can operate properly?

i know, should have done more research into it. i think my mechanic was a little too over zealous but thats no problem, we both learning the hard way...hehe....

will be checking post intermittently to see if any information is available...thanks again

Zim

Postby Zim » August 29th, 2005, 1:26 pm

U hada get ah manual ECU, bro. Hope yuh got d parts yuh needed :D. PM X2 or kes vtec fuh moe info on yuh situation :)

Postby X2 » August 29th, 2005, 1:28 pm

ECU as Zim said.

katana

Postby katana » September 1st, 2005, 9:37 am

didnt have to get a manual ecu after all... well, at least to start and drive the car. i suppose for correct performance i may need to but for now the car working good.. had to remove the brain box for the tranny and then jumper some thing on the next brain box.
for future information (since i catch meh tail with this conversion) here are a few things i didnt know that i do now

1. cant get brackets to fit gear box (D15B NON-VTEC WITH S40 BOX). you need three brackets. the only one that works is for the eg8 and that bolts onto the front of the box. the back bracket and top were made.

2. my car was a cvt, the starter different. had to look hard for a starter. the ek3 with normal transmission will have the correct starter.

3. wiring to be done if using same harness. i get a fella in maloney to do it. number is 723-1775 name TONY if anyone ever needs help with this.

4. car wont start unless in park. no need to cut any wires. leave plastic slider on from the auto selector and put it in park and then i silicone it in place. if this is not done the key wouldnt come out the ignition.

5. DONT cut anything on the car. (only mistake we made.) made a little cut by where teh shifter supposed to fit up. only to relaize that the linkage was bent..oh well. there is a plate that the tranny cable does go through. you need to remove that. it a lil hard. look carefully, and you will see slight dents from the inside of the car when looking to remove the plate. drill it out because the plate is held by some small welds. there is one big weld on the right side of the plate that you may not see. so if yah seeing pressure is that big one giving beans.

6. doh cuss if yuh mechanic taking a lil long..i stay home real days to work with him on the car. is real stress serious. i cyah be no mechanic at all.

7. initially, the clutch pedal wont spring back up as it should. my box is hydraulic, need to drive it a little and then everything should be cool.

problems im still having

1. ABS light on in the car
2. d light flashing
3. ah find second gear hard to go in but i suppose i hatta get accustomed. i aint drive manual in a good few years.
4. the drive in traffic to town aint as bad as i thought it was but still, ah lil sceptical.
5. ah monitoring the gas but ah find it bunning a lilttle too much. i full up yeasterday and i now reach in town and it on 3/4. maybe is my driving style or lack of.

that it.

Clerique

Postby Clerique » September 1st, 2005, 7:32 pm

Interesting.
I am considering this sonversion soon!

Oh yeah! Did you change axles/CV joint?
That could be where the ABS problem is.

katana

Postby katana » September 2nd, 2005, 9:22 am

nope..didnt change that..no need to. im carrying the car again by the electrician. he said he disconnected something and thats why the abs is coming on. also, i was missing the reverse unit for the box..he is going to organise that for me as well. and finally, he said that the shifter may be a little bent thats why im getting some issues with hard shifting to second...the only thing i find is that i bunning gas now.........i dunno if is me, electrical, or what, but i find it bunning gas....he say he will check it out too. the man sound like he know what he is about.

all in all, the car running nice, but somehow, ah still like the sport mode in the CVT eh......

Clerique

Postby Clerique » September 2nd, 2005, 9:45 am

Yeah boy, that sport mode does really stomp on them, but it gets boring after a while.
So you car idling normal?
Last edited by Clerique on September 2nd, 2005, 10:41 am, edited 1 time in total.

katana

Postby katana » September 2nd, 2005, 10:31 am

yeah, the car idling like how it used to. no problems....the only thing that bothering meh is that gas..

Zim

Postby Zim » September 4th, 2005, 5:03 pm

Wah gyas yuh use bro, unleaded :?:

katana

Postby katana » September 5th, 2005, 1:33 pm

yeah premium.............the gas finishing real fas now....

Zim

Postby Zim » September 6th, 2005, 11:44 am

katana wrote:yeah premium.............the gas finishing real fas now....
Hmm, I use premuim as well, I get 250 kms on an almost full tank already (but daz b4 d gas light came on)

Clerique

Postby Clerique » September 6th, 2005, 12:30 pm

I starting to feel good now yes; bout 340 kms on a full tank, and no gas light. :D

katana

Postby katana » September 6th, 2005, 1:22 pm

well, i forgot to metion one main thing. my 02 sensor bad for a good few months now...but still, with the tranny it used to never bun sooo much. now i studying, since i controlling the gas kinda with the gear box, i now probably seeing why i should replace the 02.......ill change it, finally, and see what going on. i see a direct fit for the honda selling on ebay for 49 dollars.

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » September 6th, 2005, 1:47 pm

good tuh know things goin good...

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » September 6th, 2005, 7:47 pm

510 no gas light :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

cdx2k1

Postby cdx2k1 » September 6th, 2005, 9:07 pm

Is this a black Civic by chance?

Clerique

Postby Clerique » September 7th, 2005, 7:59 am

MadCrix wrote:510 no gas light :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Nah, daz cheatin'!

cdx2k1, who civic yuh talkin' bout? I drive a black civic.

cdx2k1

Postby cdx2k1 » September 7th, 2005, 9:10 am

katana's,butCLERIQ, is your lic PBM4**2?

Clerique

Postby Clerique » September 7th, 2005, 9:48 am

Nah, its PBH.

katana

Postby katana » September 7th, 2005, 9:56 am

nah mine is a white

Killah!!

Postby Killah!! » September 8th, 2005, 11:15 am

Katana Question!! What is the indication that the O2 Sensor was bad? Jus increase Gas usage?

katana

Postby katana » September 9th, 2005, 9:23 am

actually, the 02 sensor went bad about a 7 mths ago. the engine check light simply came on. i went by a mechanic, he put ah paper clip and check the lights for the code. then he identified the top sensor as being bad. now the is still when i had the cvt tranny. it used to burn gas but not as much now. so i called around a few places and they say that if i replace the o2 sensor i will burn better gas and i will see the gas consumption more since i put the box in becase the tranny used to still kinda regulate the amount of gas. i hoping this is the case. now, i try something. i run the tank dry and run regular..now i know that supposed to damage the 02 sensor but i mean, it gone already.anywayz, town and back monday to thursday with a full tank, i reach just under a quarter. which is real good. now i put premium yesterday, full eh, in town, went south, then arima come back up in town this morning and it a lil over half..........tell meh something eh wrong

Zim

Postby Zim » September 9th, 2005, 11:35 am

Dat real, good fuh ah bad O2 sensor bro :)

katana

Postby katana » September 9th, 2005, 11:37 am

serious?..............hum...

Zim

Postby Zim » September 12th, 2005, 9:19 am

Ah tellin yuh! Remember ouir gas isn't exactly "Grade A" if yuh know where I comin from....

But dat gas decent bro, besides, I noticed dat d Civics gas tank relatively small compared to other cars, like ah B14, or Primera, even a lancer :D So it takes less to full (therefore, it seems like it finishes kinda quick).

R. Mutt
Location: on the side of the road maptracing and reflashing the ecu

Postby R. Mutt » September 12th, 2005, 11:53 pm

Also remember that manual cars save gas when in heavy traffic. Automatics and CVT are much more fuel efficient when on the highway. It might just be that the car will burn that much gas.

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » September 20th, 2005, 1:30 pm

afaik which is not much, the faster the rpm raises [on speed o meter], the quicker you burn gas
:P

not to hijact the thread but, does a sohc gearbox shifter usually look 'bent' ?
iz that normal?

stephanweaver

ack??

Postby stephanweaver » September 20th, 2005, 1:31 pm

fsck ....
bleh

Zim

Postby Zim » October 6th, 2005, 1:36 pm