K20 Accord vs K20 Integra

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

K20 Accord vs K20 Integra

Postby Dave » August 7th, 2007, 8:14 am

apart from the transmission being auto vs manual what makes the difference in horsepower
someone told me exhaust manifold, some cam timing and mapping?
any more specifics w.r.t. the differences that account for the 150hp vs approx 212 and more

Postby honda hoe » August 7th, 2007, 8:46 am

d k20 accord isn't 150hp :?

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » August 7th, 2007, 8:55 am

^160hp? who cares...is only a difference of about 10lb-ft between the accord and itr :P

The ITR comes with more aggressive cams (sorry, i don't know the figures of lift and duration), better flowing head and tuned intake and exhaust manifold, which would obviously lead to a better map. Since hondahoe owns one, could correct me. :lol:

and dave.... :evil: :evil: :evil: There are 9 reasons I can disown you now :lol:

Postby honda hoe » August 7th, 2007, 8:58 am

i sorry boss :lol: :lol:

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » August 7th, 2007, 9:05 am

^:oops:

oohhhhhh...i think i found most of the rest of the answer. Dave, in technical non-Honda terms, there are hamsters on both the intake and exhaust cam of the ITR, but only on intake of accord, as well as higher compression.

The K-series uses a DOHC valvetrain, which utilizes roller rockers to reduce friction. The VTEC system on engines like the K20A3 is only on the intake cam, and at low RPM when not engaged, allows the engine to function as a 12-valve engine, opening only one intake valve so that the air swirls for better combustion. This VTEC system was designed with fuel economy in mind. In engines like the K20A2 found in the RSX Type-S, The VTEC system always allows the motor to run as a 16 valve engine, and when VTEC engages, its on both the intake and exhaust rockers, and opens all 4 valves even more at high RPM.

K20A
Found in:
2001-2005 Honda Civic Type-R (EP3)
Displacement: 1998 cc
Compression: 11.5:1
Power: 212 hp (215 PS, 158 kW) @ 8000 rpm
Torque: 149 ft·lbf (202 N·m) @ 7000 rpm
Redline: 8400 rpm
2001-2006 Honda Integra Type-R (DC5)
Power: 217 hp (220 PS, 162 kW) @ 8000 rpm
Torque: 152 ft·lbf (206 N·m) @ 7000 rpm
Redline: 8500 rpm
2002-2006 Honda Accord Euro-R
Power: 217 hp (220 PS, 162 kW) @ 8000 rpm
Torque: 152 ft·lbf (206 N·m) @ 7000 rpm
Redline: 8500 rpm

K20A2
Found in:
2002-2004 Acura RSX Type-S and 2002-2005 Honda Civic Type R (EP, European)
Compression: 11.0:1
Power: 200 hp (147 kW) @ 7400 rpm
Torque: 142 ft·lbf (193 N·m) @ 6000 rpm
Redline: 8200 rpm

K20A3
Found in:
2002-2005 Honda Civic Si
Compression: 9.8:1
Power: 155 hp* (119 kW) @ 6500 rpm
Torque: 139
2002-2006 Acura RSX
Compression: 9.8:1
Power: 155 hp* (119 kW) @ 6500 rpm
Torque: 139 ft·lbf* (191 N·m) @ 4000 rpm
Redline: 6800 rpm
(* Horsepower and torque calculations reflect new SAE J1349 procedures revised August 2004)

http://www.k20a.org/forum/showthread.php?t=27766

Postby SR » August 7th, 2007, 9:16 am

go with the accord

more family oriented :twisted:

Postby honda hoe » August 7th, 2007, 9:24 am

told u it wasn't 150hp 0X

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » August 7th, 2007, 9:30 am

^ :roll: :roll: :roll:

Postby honda hoe » August 7th, 2007, 9:37 am

:roll: :roll:

Zim

Postby Zim » August 7th, 2007, 10:39 am

The K20A in the DC5 & EP3 is the same as in the Accord Euro R (CL7). So HP & TQ figs are the same.
The Accord being the slowest due to extra weight & more "comfortable" suspension.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » August 7th, 2007, 10:50 am

What engine is in the TSX? I think it makes 260hp :?:

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » August 7th, 2007, 11:02 am

Zim wrote:The K20A in the DC5 & EP3 is the same as in the Accord Euro R (CL7). So HP & TQ figs are the same.
The Accord being the slowest due to extra weight & more "comfortable" suspension.

agreed there, but the local Accords come with a detuned K20A. Dave is trying to find the differences between this local engine, which might be the K20A3? and the ITR, which account for the difference in power.

Postby Dave » August 7th, 2007, 12:06 pm

ways boy, allyuh harsh
this question just stemmed from a convo last night with someone exploring this as an option
me drive an accord, :shock: :lol: :lol: :lol:
the v6 one maybe, great sports sedan there but out of my range

Zim

Postby Zim » August 7th, 2007, 1:54 pm

ingalook wrote:What engine is in the TSX? I think it makes 260hp :?:
I not sure. I be;ieve it's either the K24_ or a V^ (dont knw eng code)

flatline wrote:
Zim wrote:The K20A in the DC5 & EP3 is the same as in the Accord Euro R (CL7). So HP & TQ figs are the same.

agreed there, but the local Accords come with a detuned K20A. Dave is trying to find the differences between this local engine, which might be the K20A3? and the ITR, which account for the difference in power.
O ok, I was unaware he was ref to local Accords :oops:

type_r_teggy

Postby type_r_teggy » August 7th, 2007, 2:24 pm

TSX- K24 only in the US though

ingalook

Postby ingalook » August 7th, 2007, 3:10 pm

OK I do some digging, that K24 spins to 7500rpm and does only 200hp... but with alot more torque than the K20

I think that is why they started using the TSX in speedvision Touring Car as opposed to the RSX

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » August 7th, 2007, 3:17 pm

^click the link i put up...has specs on all the K-series engines

import

Postby import » August 7th, 2007, 5:58 pm

I not sure. I be;ieve it's either the K24_ or a V^ (dont knw eng code)

TSX- K24 only in the US though

Actually thats not entirely true... It comes in the JDM Accord.. I'm Driving one as we speak . :oops:

And yes Zim it is a K24 not a V6. The V6 is a 3.0L...

Comes with a 5speed Tiptronic though.. Yes it has lots of torque..Step on the Drive by Wire and it feels like a lil 2lbs of BOOST :lol: :lol:

Kinday

Postby Kinday » August 7th, 2007, 6:24 pm

Dave wrote:ways boy, allyuh harsh
this question just stemmed from a convo last night with someone exploring this as an option
me drive an accord, :shock: :lol: :lol: :lol:
the v6 one maybe, great sports sedan there but out of my range

Hey Dave...buddy, ole pal...the Accord ain't all that bad meng...You know I won't lie to ya. Might be heavy no doubt but with a decent engine and a tighter suspension you can have some fun. Just PM me whenever you want to get some research in 8-)...I know I may not have the engine that's being discussed but mine is alright. :D

Postby Dave » August 9th, 2007, 8:08 am

aye Kinday, whats going on bro
nah, the accord is a hell of a vehicle, build. integrity, the works
i know i can have fun but i don't have time to build something like i did with the b14 so i more or less looking for a built performer with maybe to do some add ons but thats it, hence the v6 one popped into mind
next yr i looking for a ride, this enquiry was me and another tuner having a discussion

btw, liking your setup :wink:

Postby SR » August 9th, 2007, 8:10 am

guess what car is returning to midway road

laren

Re: K20 Accord vs K20 Integra

Postby laren » November 20th, 2015, 1:25 pm

[ 8-)
Last edited by laren on February 9th, 2016, 9:43 am, edited 1 time in total.

enigma

Re: K20 Accord vs K20 Integra

Postby enigma » November 21st, 2015, 12:11 pm

8 years later?

Return to “HONDA”