b16 a strange overheating problem help please

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

rodney117

b16 a strange overheating problem help please

Postby rodney117 » June 7th, 2013, 7:53 pm

hey guys hears the deal well i got my engine sorted out with the sputter probem

another problem has arise today when the car is idling the temperature gauge going up like really high below H a little (i know that is high lol)
anyways if I drive a short distance like 50 ft an thing the temperature goes back down to normal rite under half or even if i just marsh the gas to about 2000 rpm the guage goes back down but not for long what can cause this the coolant good the fan coming on normal
thanks guys

edited ok forgot to add that there are no thermostat

red_dragon

Re: b16 a strange overheating problem help please

Postby red_dragon » June 7th, 2013, 9:37 pm

1 remove the rad cap with car cold , start and watch the water flow in the rad .
If it is slow could be your water pump. Do you use water or coolant ?
2. check the water temp sending units

rodney117

Postby rodney117 » June 7th, 2013, 11:26 pm

red_dragon wrote:1 remove the rad cap with car cold , start and watch the water flow in the rad .
If it is slow could be your water pump. Do you use water or coolant ?
2. check the water temp sending units

Well ever since i bought the car it had coolant it look like coolant mix with water thoo brownish green cyar really explain it
ok i will check the units an get back to u

ingalook

Postby ingalook » June 8th, 2013, 1:02 am

Radiator may need to change, core rots after awhile... had a similar problem the other day

Postby X2 » June 8th, 2013, 10:40 am

Might have air in the system... bleed it out

Timmydiags

Postby Timmydiags » June 11th, 2013, 4:22 pm

Do a pressure test

rodney117

Postby rodney117 » June 12th, 2013, 10:01 pm

ok guys so here is the deal it seems that the pump is good the units are good also one thing i notice is that the coolant is fulling up in the bottle not by much a little, an the radiator is taking alot of water much more than what is going to the bottle.

rodney117

Postby rodney117 » June 12th, 2013, 10:20 pm

guys can someone tell me where i can get a radiator cap for my engine thanks
got a feeling is the cap

ingalook

Postby ingalook » June 17th, 2013, 2:07 pm

If its an original radiator i have a new cap

I used it for 1 day to test my rad

$100... just have to find it now

billhenry

Postby billhenry » June 18th, 2013, 5:31 am

The radiator cap is not an issue you can get at any workshop or spare parts shop. Have you checked everything like radiator leakage or coolant level?

5zigen

Postby 5zigen » June 25th, 2013, 8:16 am

this could also be the thermostat sticking...., had this same issue, removed thermostat....no fluctuating temp gauge and no overheating..!

Postby X2 » June 25th, 2013, 6:14 pm

X2 wrote:Might have air in the system... bleed it out

There is a small bleeder screw on the front of the head, use this to bleed out air in the system is this problem persists... almost all of your 'symptoms' point to air in the coolant system.

5zigen wrote:this could also be the thermostat sticking...., had this same issue, removed thermostat....no fluctuating temp gauge and no overheating..!

Your temp gauge doesn't fluctuate because the coolant isn't getting to temperature... removing the thermostat is not a good idea for anything beyond a dedicated drag race car. Street cars should always run a thermostat.

Return to “HONDA”