Need Help..Using too much gas

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

GranV81

Need Help..Using too much gas

Postby GranV81 » December 13th, 2011, 8:45 am

Peoples.. I need some advice..

I was using honda 10w-30 on my ek3, doing 175,000km

However it was burning.. so I changed to castrol 20w-50 and I used a redline fuel injector cleaner..

Ever since I been using more fuel than usual..

could this be that the oil is too thick or did the injector cleaner damaged the injectors???

Re: Need Help..Using too much gas

Postby r3iXmann » December 13th, 2011, 9:07 am

are you using coolant or water? i've realised that when you use water, the oil burns more (im assuming cuz of the inconsistent temps)

did you change your fuel filter?

if all else fails:

GranV81

Postby GranV81 » December 13th, 2011, 9:41 am

I havent changed the fuel filter yet thats my next try...but gas consuption was great until that oil change and service, I am using prestone coolant,I put in an aluminium radiator and changed those hoses a few months ago..temp is fine..

are you saying to check the back of the accelerator pedal?

GranV81

Postby GranV81 » December 13th, 2011, 9:55 am

Control the speed, LOL

sameerali78

Postby sameerali78 » December 13th, 2011, 10:37 am

GranV81 wrote:I havent changed the fuel filter yet thats my next try...but gas consuption was great until that oil change and service, I am using prestone coolant,I put in an aluminium radiator and changed those hoses a few months ago..temp is fine..

are you saying to check the back of the accelerator pedal?

:shock: :lol:

Postby r3iXmann » December 13th, 2011, 12:02 pm

GranV, i was joking hoss :lol:

but try changing the fuel filter before you do anything else

and at $60 or so,u cant go wrong

ruffnek

Postby ruffnek » December 13th, 2011, 12:09 pm

also if you have a thermostat,
you can check if its stick-open position
if vehicle takes too long to warm up, that could be a problem

GranV81

Postby GranV81 » December 13th, 2011, 12:33 pm

Felllahs thanks for the info,joke is on me...lol

Engine does take sometime to warm up but the temp holds steady once warmed up,however it does dip down when running on the hi way..

Will change the filter as soon as I can...

ruffnek

Postby ruffnek » December 13th, 2011, 2:56 pm

well if that happens,
your fan direct? or no thermostat....

or both

GranV81

Postby GranV81 » December 14th, 2011, 8:01 am

Fan isnt run direct, will have to check for thermostat but since i got the car the gas consumption was great until i changed the oil a few weeks ago plus exhaust burning abit more black than usual,

will change the fuel filter these weekend and see how that goes, has be a bit baffled.. my gas consumption almost doubled

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » December 14th, 2011, 2:07 pm

^ check spark plugs and 02

Return to “HONDA”