hondata tuning question.

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

roshan01

hondata tuning question.

Postby roshan01 » June 26th, 2009, 9:11 am

i wondering about the hondata stand alone and the stock map sensor... (b16a)

how much boost can it support???

it's clear i need help here guys...

thanks in advance........

Hirotoshi

Postby Hirotoshi » June 26th, 2009, 10:38 am

the hondata s300 is highly recommended for the early series honda engines(d,b,f,h). the stock map sensor is limited to 10-11 psi of boost, above that you will need a 3 bar unit like the gm map sensor($65us). 8-)

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » June 26th, 2009, 11:45 am

^ x2

that is the way to go

roshan01

Postby roshan01 » June 29th, 2009, 8:28 am

thanks guys...

but with the stock i'm seeing 13 psi firm..

not an ounce more!!!!

now all i need is one of these sensors...

NY4PD

Re: hondata tuning question.

Postby NY4PD » June 29th, 2009, 4:11 pm

roshan01 wrote:i wondering about the hondata stand alone and the stock map sensor... (b16a)

how much boost can it support???

it's clear i need help here guys...

thanks in advance........

Are you reffering to the Hondata Ecu or the Hondata map sensor.???? I ah bet confuse :?

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » June 30th, 2009, 6:59 am

^he said stock map sensor.. :)

oddly the ecu should not let you run more than 12, but you can set it to run more than what the map can see, it just will not scale it. (it will run what ever setting you have in the last column.

NY4PD

Postby NY4PD » June 30th, 2009, 7:07 am

kes_vtec wrote:^he said stock map sensor.. :)

oddly the ecu should not let you run more than 12, but you can set it to run more than what the map can see, it just will not scale it. (it will run what ever setting you have in the last column.

Thanks, thats what i taught he said but the answers an base on his question was relating to different things.
so my comments is the same yours ^, you can set the ecu to run more than 10-30psi but the stock honda map sensor will not go past 11-12 psi, best thing is to put a 3-bar map sensor in. But get your car tune and know what your hp goal is, because you can not go by the psi.

roshan01

Postby roshan01 » June 30th, 2009, 8:29 am

kes..
i was wondering about that column. and why it stopped at 13..
part of the reason i'm looking into the map sensor issue.
i was wondering if the stock is changed to the 3bar (map sensor that is, for the specific guys :D ) if the column would open up...

roshan01

Postby roshan01 » June 30th, 2009, 8:37 am

NY4PD
you're right about setting hp goals.
plan to hit the dyno real soon.

now who has links to get me a 3 bar??

NY4PD

Postby NY4PD » June 30th, 2009, 8:42 am

roshan01 wrote:NY4PD
you're right about setting hp goals.
plan to hit the dyno real soon.

now who has links to get me a 3 bar??

Ok thanks, If you don't get 3-bar map sensor there in TnT let me know.
I could get map sensors here in Florida for you, or I can source any parts you want. Let me know....
Good luck...

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » June 30th, 2009, 11:02 am

i can get you the gm one or for the hondata one (4bar) but goes back to the stock location...

in the software when you pick the the map sensor it trys to scale the map to that sensor, that y it stops at 13 or 15 for the stock map, you can still (display the 3bar map range) but you will have no readings in that area.

roshan01

Postby roshan01 » July 2nd, 2009, 8:04 am

kes check your pm...

moe

Postby moe » July 3rd, 2009, 11:15 pm

omni power have a 3b one and hondata 4b, I had a hondata 4b but it didn't last so trying the omni power 3b

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » July 4th, 2009, 11:29 pm

the omni is 4bar also...

roshan01

Postby roshan01 » July 5th, 2009, 7:01 pm

wait look meh ole pal moe,,,
but what do you mean the hondata did not last long???
what caused it to fail?

NY4PD

Postby NY4PD » July 5th, 2009, 7:28 pm

hondata made both 3 and 4 bar map sensor. Map sensor don't go bad that easly...somthing had to be wrong and most likely someone short out your map sensor. How ever Omnipoint map sensor is good too....so is the GM- 3 bar map sensor very good and affordable to....

roshan01

Postby roshan01 » July 6th, 2009, 10:04 am

i heard the gm map sensor would need re-wiring...
how hard is this to do???

NY4PD

Postby NY4PD » July 6th, 2009, 2:59 pm

roshan01 wrote:i heard the gm map sensor would need re-wiring...
how hard is this to do???

they easy to rewire, i could give you the wire order when you ready....they sell the pigtail clip with wire on ebay for $15.00 and the mapsensor goes for like $65.00....

roshan01

Postby roshan01 » July 9th, 2009, 9:17 am

thanks man...
but been doing some hunting around and heard that the gm could be problematic
so going with the hondata...

NY4PD

Postby NY4PD » July 9th, 2009, 10:21 am

roshan01 wrote:thanks man...
but been doing some hunting around and heard that the gm could be problematic
so going with the hondata...

Please explain how is the GM 3-bar is problematic.??? I have no problem with them and so is my friends and 100's of people in the US. However the hondata is a good map sensor but i woul like to know whom told you this info and what is the problem with the GM map sensor.???????

I'm awaiting on your answer.
Thank you...

roshan01

Postby roshan01 » July 11th, 2009, 7:45 pm

sorry i took so long to reply there dude...
while asking around here locally the general consensus is that the gm's tend to fail...
i don't know why they did but a couple of guys i know had problems with them.
so i took this at face value and decided to order the hondata...

NY4PD

Postby NY4PD » July 12th, 2009, 7:45 am

Well next time ask people who know what they doing, because those people you know in trinidad that had problems with it did not know what the hell they doing... When you put a new GM map sensor on the car it will not work right straight out of the box, you have to have the map sensor in hand and when you go to the tuner to dyno or tune your car they will then put it in place and tune with the new GM map sensor. If you put it in without tunning the car and expect it to work it will not work right, it will give you all kind of funny idle problems or it will not read the amount of pressure right. Map sensor don't go bad that easy and it will take years and mean years to go bad, the car will have time to be rotted away and the map sensor will still be going...

Anyways good luck and if you already order the Hondata map sensor you will be happy with it too as its also a good map and its plug right in to your stock wire clip...

NY4PD... :D

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » July 13th, 2009, 5:38 am

i think for most it would have been (1) not a new sensor, (2) quick wiring (see if it working but turn to if it work leave it)...

you know we does find the shortcut for anything, even to a short cut... :)

NY4PD

Postby NY4PD » July 13th, 2009, 7:28 am

kes_vtec wrote:i think for most it would have been (1) not a new sensor, (2) quick wiring (see if it working but turn to if it work leave it)...

you know we does find the shortcut for anything, even to a short cut... :)

Kes_vtec^

you might be right shortcut... But when it comes to boost you do not want to shortcut, thats why guys break there motor when boosting and then they blame the boost is not reliable as all motor is...

The bottomline is do it right the first time and you will have a very reliable car on boost.
No Trini shorcut.

Trini shortcut = Fail period.....

roshan01

Postby roshan01 » July 15th, 2009, 9:58 am

yup totally agree with the shortcut opinion..
and from having seen a lot of "trini bulids"
the order of the day is the quicker and cheaper way out is the best.

Return to “HONDA”