Cam question

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

Postby Sky » May 21st, 2009, 8:35 pm

reiXmann wrote:www.phearable.net ^
\

Nah I mean locally. I know that kinda stuff is a pong and a crong over there.
Nobody does this locally?

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » May 21st, 2009, 8:39 pm

actually ^ their price not bad

locally

there are a few people ... but tuning is the HARD PART

Postby r3iXmann » May 21st, 2009, 8:47 pm

Sky wrote:
\

if you think it expensive over there,how much u think the local conmen gonna sell for? :lol:

get the chipped ecu and find somebody locally to tune for you...they usually come with a good basemap but you can always buy another chip (cheap) and you just solder it in

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » May 21st, 2009, 8:57 pm

no solderin that old school u can get ZIF sockets :D

Postby Sky » May 21st, 2009, 9:21 pm

reiXmann wrote:
Sky wrote:
\

if you think it expensive over there,how much u think the local conmen gonna sell for? :lol:

get the chipped ecu and find somebody locally to tune for you...they usually come with a good basemap but you can always buy another chip (cheap) and you just solder it in

Can't guess a jdm used product from the us market. With most jdm honda stuff they're actually more expensive. What I wanted to know is if anyone does this locally and how much would they sell a finished ecu for

Postby r3iXmann » May 21st, 2009, 9:24 pm

Sky wrote:
reiXmann wrote:
Sky wrote:
\

Can't guess a jdm used product from the us market. With most jdm honda stuff they're actually more expensive. What I wanted to know is if anyone does this locally and how much would they sell a finished ecu for

that price that you see there is standard price for jdm/usdm

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » May 21st, 2009, 9:25 pm

Sky is bout $1800 to Chip

Eddie does it

Postby Sky » May 21st, 2009, 9:27 pm

Thanks red_dragon

Postby r3iXmann » May 21st, 2009, 9:27 pm

he tunes too? ^

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » May 21st, 2009, 9:31 pm

yes....

Postby De Dragon » May 22nd, 2009, 12:34 pm

red_dragon wrote:Sky is bout $1800 to Chip

Eddie does it
Contact info/location for Eddie?

Postby De Dragon » May 22nd, 2009, 4:30 pm

NY4PD wrote:
red_dragon wrote:there are a few people I know

the CTR is the best B-series OEM cam power right through the power band

just make sure who ever u get to do it installs the CTR valve springs also

^ Tony
or
Jason in El Soccoro 7285644

BTW what is the mileage on your engine?
Already have the CTR springs and retainers. Mileage on the engine is 130K.

If you going to put that set-up in the B16 you might want to put new cam gears and timing belt and water pump and seals at the same time....kill all those birds in one shot... then get the OBD-1 ECU and chipped and get the car tuned...

New on the pump,seals,timing belt,tensioner. Planned to use the CTR cam gears though.

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » May 22nd, 2009, 8:54 pm

ctr cams gears , b16a all the same . :D

Tuner....

Postby Tuner.... » May 25th, 2009, 10:38 am

lol...1800...is to much to chip......

And you eh put them cams yet.... :D

NY4PD

Postby NY4PD » May 25th, 2009, 10:54 am

$1800.00 to chip a ecu, wayyyyyyyyyyyyy people ripping you guy's in TnT it only take 15-minutes to upgrade/replace some parts in the ECU. Then program a chip for your car specs will take another 15-minutes. In total at then most 45-minutes to complete a program ecu for your car and that cost $1800.00 pure rip off..... :evil:

I will have to come and open a shop in TnT just programming ECU's and cut them people throat......

Postby r3iXmann » May 25th, 2009, 11:05 am

NY4PD, he tunes as well for that $1800,if im not mistaken

Tuner....

Postby Tuner.... » May 25th, 2009, 11:08 am

reiXmann wrote:NY4PD, he tunes as well for that $1800,if im not mistaken

if run time on the dyno is included in that price...then may be.... :roll:

NY4PD

Postby NY4PD » May 25th, 2009, 11:09 am

Then that makes a little more sense, but that is not was stated above by red_dragon......

Postby De Dragon » May 25th, 2009, 12:27 pm

Tuner.... wrote:lol...1800...is to much to chip......

And you eh put them cams yet.... :D

Work like dat in meh MC! :x

GONEEE TRUUUU.....

Postby GONEEE TRUUUU..... » May 25th, 2009, 8:23 pm

if i upgrade to stage 2 crower cams (b16a),, how much hp uall think i should get (just a ballpark fig) i have all the supportin mods intake,exhaust, vafc ,chipped ecu...ill also dyno the car with them n tune it etc... wat yall think???

Postby r3iXmann » May 25th, 2009, 8:35 pm

GONEEE TRUUUU..... wrote:if i upgrade to stage 2 crower cams (b16a),, how much hp uall think i should get (just a ballpark fig) i have all the supportin mods intake,exhaust, vafc ,chipped ecu...ill also dyno the car with them n tune it etc... wat yall think???

that depends on your setup man..

also,people generally choose cams based on what area of the powerband they want to get more oomph from,not based on peak hp

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » May 25th, 2009, 8:59 pm

if u want stage 2 cams Skunk2 Pro 2 is it not the crower

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » May 25th, 2009, 9:01 pm

NY4PD wrote:Then that makes a little more sense, but that is not was stated above by red_dragon......

street tune i think but not Dyno...

GONEEE TRUUUU.....

Postby GONEEE TRUUUU..... » May 25th, 2009, 10:51 pm

i wanted t dyno it to see the gain in hp...

NY4PD

Postby NY4PD » May 26th, 2009, 7:13 am

red_dragon wrote:
NY4PD wrote:Then that makes a little more sense, but that is not was stated above by red_dragon......

Street tune.??? Boy that's crazy price then... I would not pay them guy's $1800.00 for that service. I'm sorry but that is my opinion...

Note: I will chipped my ECU myself and then order a basemap from here in the states which I can help out with and its cheap too. The chip will come with a setup base on your mods you have on your car.
Then you can go to the DYNO and get it final tune if you like.......it will also save you time on the dyno so you should pay less for a dyno tune.....

NY4PD

Postby NY4PD » May 26th, 2009, 7:21 am

GONEEE TRUUUU..... wrote:if i upgrade to stage 2 crower cams (b16a),, how much hp uall think i should get (just a ballpark fig) i have all the supportin mods intake,exhaust, vafc ,chipped ecu...ill also dyno the car with them n tune it etc... wat yall think???

If you have a chipped ECU already.? You do not need a VAFC you will confuse the ECU....they both will be doing the samthing....and VAFC is junk for high performance in your motor. I know that others might disagree with my comments on a VAFC but its the truth. The VAFC is a piggyback system only, they are not good at all period, you will be running your motor on a risk.
The chipped ECU will be able to handle all adjustments for your Air/Fuel mixture and Vtec adjustment plus lots more.....like launch control, boost by gear etc etc.........

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » May 26th, 2009, 7:23 am

NY4PD wrote:
red_dragon wrote:

Street tune.??? Boy that's crazy price then... I would not pay them guy's $1800.00 for that service. I'm sorry but that is my opinion...

but they can always call the man to confirm the price :D

NY4PD

Postby NY4PD » May 26th, 2009, 7:48 am

red_dragon wrote:
NY4PD wrote:
red_dragon wrote:

but they can always call the man to confirm the price :D

Agree
But not pay that price....

B20VTEK

Postby B20VTEK » May 26th, 2009, 10:47 am

Confuse the ecu?
i think you confused me

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » May 26th, 2009, 3:04 pm