WTF is honda thinking?

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

ingalook

WTF is honda thinking?

Postby ingalook » January 16th, 2008, 3:10 pm

http://www.caranddriver.com/shortroadte ... sedan.html

They just paving the way for the Ralliart/WRX/Mazdaspeed3 to make mass

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » January 16th, 2008, 4:10 pm

i fine it very sheit to have a mugen that is really based on 95% looks... not the motor was not even touched...

100% wasted...

Mitsu power

Postby Mitsu power » January 16th, 2008, 4:33 pm

if you find that bad the last episode of top gear totally trashed the new type R saying it was lazy, with no handeling and fat .. they even had a race around the test track with it and the previous type r and the previous car beat it by 4 car lenghts . its was a whole 2-3 sec slower not to mention that it had heap loads of understeer ( going wide )

rudeboy

Postby rudeboy » January 16th, 2008, 9:09 pm

i was never a huge fan of Mugen....a little too commercially tied to Honda

the Spoon Civic R on the other hand...
well....read for yourself...

http://www.hondatuningmagazine.com/features/0702_ht_spoon_honda_civic_type_r_sedan/racing.html

ingalook

Postby ingalook » January 16th, 2008, 10:23 pm

That spoon R is a great engineering excercise... but is it a road car you would want to live with everyday? Probably not, while a Mazdaspeed3 or Ralliart is gonna give you 99% of the thrills without the comfort compramises

Honda needs to think long and hard about where they want to go... the market, the other manufacturers have all grown up - its time honda did as well

rudeboy

Postby rudeboy » January 16th, 2008, 11:04 pm

ive seen some pretty quick 08 Si's....
minor mods, just breathing really, intake/header/exhaust
K-pro is always good too....

but not as bad as u seem to be crying dem down...

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » January 17th, 2008, 11:43 am

ingalook : People said the same thing when u bought your car WTF u thinking.

What can I say sell your HONDA and buy a Mazdaspeed3 or Ralliart Tune

Remember when a after market company does a car it is catered for either US or Japan

US they have to stick by certain guidelines
JDM who care .. what ever goes

always remember these are not full-race cars but Mild Street Tuned cars

Do u thing SPOON can sell their car in the US as is ? NO

Honda is shipping only 1000 Mugen Si sedans a year here, so the car will be exclusive. The price will ensure that, too: $30,135, a premium of $8190 over a base Si sedan. We suspect most Honda tuners will think they can do a similar job for less money—and the merely rational will buy a Mitsu Evo or Subaru STI.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » January 17th, 2008, 12:28 pm

I not gonna sell my car... if I was in the states and had 30k to spend on a car it wouldn't be this... I might buy de Si and save the $8190

Or just buy a MS3 or Ralliart for 26k

I love Honda, thats why I'm being critical, I want them to be rankin, not ricin :shock:

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » January 17th, 2008, 2:23 pm

^ let me know abou this one
http://www.autoblog.com/2007/06/28/offi ... -mugen-rr/

the Real Mugen

sinnas

Postby sinnas » January 17th, 2008, 7:06 pm

Ingalook I understand what yuh saying and agree with your choie in purchasing but Red Dragon right with respect to the car itself.

It was kinda harsh bashing Honda like that, remember the car will be built with a certain goal in mind. This one clearly was not on power only, however the link that Red Dragon posted shows where they built a different one for a different purpose.

I also wont buy the car for that kind amoney but we also dont know what was the sole purpose behind the build.

all motor

Postby all motor » January 17th, 2008, 9:25 pm

Mitsu power wrote:if you find that bad the last episode of top gear totally trashed the new type R saying it was lazy, with no handeling and fat .. they even had a race around the test track with it and the previous type r and the previous car beat it by 4 car lenghts . its was a whole 2-3 sec slower not to mention that it had heap loads of understeer ( going wide )

"the new type R" was this the FD2 or FN2 chassis?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Honda_Civic_Type_R

Postby SR » January 17th, 2008, 9:26 pm

the typer that top gear tested is the english version not the japanes spec
we have the jap spec typer in the garage and trust me its a different kettle of fish

i will still take my hatch over the new type r stirctly on power to weight ratio and handling

all motor

Postby all motor » January 17th, 2008, 9:32 pm

one is chalk and the other is cream cheese :D

Postby SR » January 17th, 2008, 9:51 pm

more like cheesepaste

Postby 3stagevtec » January 17th, 2008, 9:55 pm

SR wrote:the typer that top gear tested is the english version not the japanes spec
we have the jap spec typer in the garage and trust me its a different kettle of fish

i will still take my hatch over the new type r stirctly on power to weight ratio and handling

handling too?? i can understand PWR but handling... :shock:

Spoon is always the way to go imo.. always held them higher in my mind than mtech...

ek4ever

hot Hondas

Postby ek4ever » March 11th, 2008, 12:25 pm

I'm a Honda convert but I agree with others here....Honda need to get act together to battle with other manufacturers. There's still hope...new CRX and turbo Si/Type R.

Ppl tend to discount Honda just looking at HP....saw a track test of the UK Type-R against RenaultSport Clio 197....respected race drivers used....the result....Type R posted lower lap times and was considered better balanced, more tractable and better track car than Clio

When Honda engineers a car they look at everything. No doubt in my mind factory turbo Hondas will be just as competitive as others....Acura RDX anyone?

ek4ever

type r

Postby ek4ever » March 11th, 2008, 12:27 pm

JDM FD1 Type-R.....dis ting mad crazy

Andy have 1 for sale.....$295,000

triniboy13b

Postby triniboy13b » March 11th, 2008, 7:20 pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VZVtFPnIZ6Q
Watch this UK type R vs. JDM type R. :shock: