extremely curioussssss

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

keifmiister

extremely curioussssss

Postby keifmiister » January 7th, 2008, 8:20 pm

hey pplz...... i have a 98 civic wid a d15z4 engine.. i findddd wen i race i beat alotta ppl off the line buhhhhh on top end i get my arse washed...... if i put in a management system wud da help? and wat else can i do to get more top end? wud by puttin on extractors help?? or btw the car is auto.... and i find wen i takin corners i hava lotta body roll and i studyin if to put on aftermarket shocks or coilovers......which is better? wudd the aftermarket shocks plus h brace sway bars and strut bars help decrease my body roll???

Postby Sky » January 7th, 2008, 10:09 pm

Wait nah is a D series engine you have? Make a pass in bamboo for a gearbox meng. If it don't have everything still take it. Check Zim for the remaining parts.

As for the engine, you have a 1.5 you WILL get your arse washed while stock. Try breather mods before any management system. Plus your stock ECU might be cutting your speed at 180.

Yes the strut/sway bars will help with roll. Dropping with coilovers will also help. I don't think aftermarket dampers would help much with that, but I may be wrong.

keifmiister

Postby keifmiister » January 7th, 2008, 10:16 pm

wow u no is tru wa ur sayin dere about the 180!!! a while a bac i raced a freind's lancer he has mivec i took off before reached 180 n stayed dere and cudnt pass and before i new it got my arse ceaned up :( so wa mods shud i make? like change flywheel, cams, extractors? im new to this game so i need tuitoring :) i think dats wat this forum is for aint it :P

Postby Sky » January 7th, 2008, 10:27 pm

Breather mods and suspension. Change to manual. Brakes. Check Kes to see about that ecu. I don't think they call it a flywheel in automatic.

keifmiister

Postby keifmiister » January 7th, 2008, 10:29 pm

thanks man

Postby Sky » January 7th, 2008, 10:49 pm

And read this section. All your answers are already here.

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » January 8th, 2008, 7:27 am

if you want to keep the non vtec motor, really look at some boost, i have a guy with a non vtec motor and 6 psi and the car runs alot better that i hoped... cost him 4500 to boost the motor as him did everything himself
else look at a d15b black top motor, you can get one starting at 3000 with box, then look for a ecu any odb1 with vtec 400, and if you like save up and hit some boost...

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » January 8th, 2008, 9:43 am

Sky wrote:speed at 180.

Damn

1st upgrade Brakes - Make sure you can STOP

shocks - Tokico Blue or illumina and some Tein springs

Sway bars front and rear

Check the condition of your bushings

rudeboy

Postby rudeboy » January 8th, 2008, 10:13 am

why not a set of coilover...
teh full spring/shock with adjustable damper?

keifmiister

Postby keifmiister » January 8th, 2008, 7:40 pm

yea welllllll i in the process of lookin for the entire front n back set up disc brakes!! is it poosible to get it in ABS? buh i rellii want coilovers doh!! recently changed my bushings

Postby Sky » January 8th, 2008, 9:02 pm

No need to change front brakes. Stainless steel braided lines and better pads in front would be fine. You can get the rear in abs if you're lucky. I'm assuming your car has abs cuz it's a '98 model. The ones I got was. Too bad my car don't have abs :mrgreen: See about finding a bigger master cylinder too.

rudeboy

Postby rudeboy » January 8th, 2008, 9:02 pm

PIC coilovers if u can source them,....

designed so u can adjust the height w/o sacrificing the shock travel...
u dont get that harsh ride associated with coilovers

Zh@ne
Location: Some say he can be nowhere and everywhere at the same time

Postby Zh@ne » January 9th, 2008, 11:19 am

boi forget everything buy a b13 with an sr20 :P

Postby Sky » January 9th, 2008, 2:41 pm

Zh@ne wrote:boi forget everything buy a b13 with an sr20 :P

I think he wants a good car :P

firehead..

Postby firehead.. » January 10th, 2008, 12:03 am

i say so toooooooo..buy ah b13 and drop eeen ah sr16vvl or sr20vvl an yuh orrrrnnn :lol: :lol:

anil89
Location: a place where....sr20 is as common as coke......trinidad

Postby anil89 » January 10th, 2008, 1:38 am

is a gearbox for d15z4 hard to find??? jus askin doh kill me!!!!!!!!

Postby Sky » January 10th, 2008, 8:12 pm

After searching about 2 months I got a tip off here that H&B had a hydro one for 3 g's. Next day I went for it. Got it without starter and shift boot, but din care. It was mine :mrgreen:

I would say more rare than a B series gearbox. More B's than D's poppin up these days, even though they're more expensive.

Zim

Postby Zim » January 11th, 2008, 12:32 am

KNow where have any B series boxes hoss?

Re: extremely curioussssss

Postby 3stagevtec » January 11th, 2008, 9:32 am

keifmiister wrote:hey pplz...... i have a 98 civic wid a d15z4 engine.. i findddd wen i race i beat alotta ppl off the line buhhhhh on top end i get my arse washed...... if i put in a management system wud da help? and wat else can i do to get more top end? wud by puttin on extractors help?? or btw the car is auto.... and i find wen i takin corners i hava lotta body roll and i studyin if to put on aftermarket shocks or coilovers......which is better? wudd the aftermarket shocks plus h brace sway bars and strut bars help decrease my body roll???

-get a larger brake booster & master cylinder (15/16") & braided stainless steel brake lines (check Trinidad hose or Adah303 on forums)

-change your intake (short ram or cold air), extractors and get a cat back exhaust. and go manual..

-better yet, look for a B series engine..

-larger sway bars from the EK4 civic (front and back) would help alot with your cornering problems.. then get some good lowering springs and shocks..

note: if you got with coilovers, you will need access to corner scales to properly set them up..

Postby Sky » January 11th, 2008, 11:43 pm

Zim wrote:KNow where have any B series boxes hoss?

Just that guy own right now with the cable-> hydro conversion. But I mean on 2nr, someone always have one selling. Costly, but it there. And you didn't notice B16A civics selling like hops now? Right now there's 2 coupes, a hatch an EG9 and a busted EG9, all with B16A manual. ( on 2nr alone too. imagine out there)

Postby r3iXmann » January 12th, 2008, 10:39 am

Sky wrote:

Just that guy own right now with the cable-> hydro conversion. But I mean on 2nr, someone always have one selling. Costly, but it there. And you didn't notice B16A civics selling like hops now? Right now there's 2 coupes, a hatch an EG9 and a busted EG9, all with B16A manual. ( on 2nr alone too. imagine out there)

take a look at friday's express auto classifieds..lol :lol: :lol:

new yr special sale on civic! especially eg8

Zim

Postby Zim » January 12th, 2008, 7:50 pm

Sky wrote:

Damn, I go import it myself then, thx

Return to “HONDA”