Youre given ONE opportunity to change ONE thing about Trinidad

Postby Ben_spanna » July 10th, 2019, 7:40 am

If you had the opportunity to realistically change ONE thing about Trinidad for the better of its future what would you do?
Would you change the manner in which Trinis typically think? would you make it so that the Armed forces and Police forces actually enforce all laws daily?
what you you want to see happen to our Island?
Or would you all rather it sank ?

vaiostation

Re: Youre given ONE opportunity to change ONE thing about Trinidad

Postby vaiostation » July 10th, 2019, 8:01 am

Prevent Trinidad from getting independence from the queen. That's when all we problems started.

agent007

Postby agent007 » July 10th, 2019, 8:12 am

vaiostation wrote:Prevent Trinidad from getting independence from the queen. That's when all we problems started.

Agreed. We would have had British passports today.

It could have been worse though, Raffique Shah and Abu Bakr could have been our supreme leaders... :roll:

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 10th, 2019, 8:15 am

Change our politics, all politicians and everything about our politics

Postby Ben_spanna » July 10th, 2019, 8:18 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Change our politics, all politicians and everything about our politics

or just make it so that we cannot have the same Prime minister for more than One term?

No more kamla, no more Rowley EVER to deal with!

Postby Slartibartfast » July 10th, 2019, 8:28 am

Ben_spanna wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Change our politics, all politicians and everything about our politics

or just make it so that we cannot have the same Prime minister for more than One term?

No more kamla, no more Rowley EVER to deal with!

To add to this. I would make it so that politicians are held to the highest standards and that their crimes are prioritised, cases expedited and mandatory sentences implemented and served in full.

I think that is entirely doable and it would make a huge difference. Some people complain that trini is the way it is because the government spoiled us but nobody talks about us being the way we are because we are constantly shown that hard work, qualifications and professionalism does not translate into financial success the way that corruption and nepotism does. Trinis just trying to do what works. Market forces continue to dictate.

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 10th, 2019, 9:06 am

If we were still under the queen's thumb, do you think we may have had the luxuries we do today?
All the bosses would've been white and local working population would have likely been clerical or labourer. Free/Subsidized university education for you? Prob not, unless your parents had colour or a money factory.

firetruck that. I'll take my independence. firetruck the british empire. They came to milk our land and take the riches back to the motherland.

I'd change the 'eat ah food' mentality of everyone in this place, from captain to cook. That's what ruins everything here. That's the seed of corruption and the fruit of the poisoned tree.

Postby zoom rader » July 10th, 2019, 9:18 am

This is

zorced

Postby zorced » July 10th, 2019, 9:44 am

Nice question.

Basically this:
Ben_spanna wrote:Would you change the manner in which Trinis typically think?

but including everyone: both the majority and minority, which right now seems impossible even for the majority alone (which would make a significant change on its own).

There are 2 sides of the same coin of struggles that prevalent worldwide:
1) Some form of corrupt minority with most of the power
2) Lack of unity of the majority

Postby sMASH » July 10th, 2019, 10:03 am

lock up anybody who pushing pyramid ting.

Postby Ben_spanna » July 10th, 2019, 10:21 am

Do you think we would be better off if we were still heavy into the sugar industry? Do you think if we focused more on trade schools that we would have been better equipped to fend off the Chinese contractor invasion?
what about if we focused more on wood industry and iron and steel?
would we be better off then?

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 10th, 2019, 10:25 am

Ben_spanna wrote:Do you think we would be better off if we were still heavy into the sugar industry? Do you think if we focused more on trade schools that we would have been better equipped to fend off the Chinese contractor invasion?
what about if we focused more on wood industry and iron and steel?
would we be better off then?

Sugar: yes. If it were managed properly and everybody did't want to eat-ah-food. We have proven arable land, sugar is a high deman commodity worldwide. The issue with Caroni was management.

Re Trade schools: it would not have mattered. The chinese supply dirt cheap labour, bordering on human rights violations, which is why there are a threat to nearly any industry.
Wood industry - nah, trinidad too small for viable wood. Leave our forests alone.
Steel - I don't know how viable it is, because we don't have iron ore here (do we?). We just used to process imported materials (did we?)

Postby Rovin » July 10th, 2019, 10:32 am

press d reset\restart button ...

Postby rspann » July 10th, 2019, 10:34 am

Change anything, but leave shitkickers. The people need to be happy

Postby Ben_spanna » July 10th, 2019, 10:38 am

what about if we had kept Corporal Punishment in our schooling system? and Kept the cat-o-nine and the hangings? do you think we may have kept more of our youth in check with those changes?
Do you think establishing a military type school and ALL offending bullies in schools sent there until they are rehabilitated?

Postby Ben_spanna » July 10th, 2019, 10:44 am

Taking into consideration our current state, "IF" we were to get an HONEST Party into power how long do you think it would take for this country to return to a safer and healthier place to live?
Or is that at all possible? have we gone past the point of no return? can the current and the upcoming generation be changed at all?

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 10th, 2019, 10:45 am

Ben_spanna wrote:what about if we had kept Corporal Punishment in our schooling system? and Kept the cat-o-nine and the hangings? do you think we may have kept more of our youth in check with those changes?
Do you think establishing a military type school and ALL offending bullies in schools sent there until they are rehabilitated?

Yes, corporal punishment in schools. The sad thing is that some teachers didn't know where to draw the line and it went to abuse and assault. Beating children with fan belt, belt buckle and broom handle? nah man that's too much.
Yes to capital punishment. Hang them if they do the crime.
Yes to the cat o nine. Beat their MC if they have been tried and found guilty.
Yes to military type school, but it needs to be properly run and managed and not turn out into a bandit training academy

death365

Postby death365 » July 10th, 2019, 10:56 am

sedition is still a law in Trinidad -

so again i'm not saying ANYTHING bout it

Edited - due to the fact that ah fraid jail

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » July 10th, 2019, 11:14 am

I think you need to import people from around the world to run all the public services .

In a country like trinidad where so much police are corrupt, alyuh should have a private army or a foreign police force.

Think of it - Most of Trinidad population is Culies and Cuamis. How many chinese or whites are in the police? 1,2 or 3?

If you made it the LAW that no Quamis or Ramlals are allowed in the police, and only allow white/chinese people to be police, then you won't have no friend/family thing, and you also wouldn't have as many cases of people impersonating police.

I am talking about bringing in these people from "faren" - NOT hiring local whites / chinese / whoever

Of course if white man police start to beat the pests like bobolee, they will be quick to bawl racism,
(Both cuami and dark skin oil-head culie)

But with the chinese, they know that chit won't work.

So to answer you question Benji - basically, we need to bring in/hire foreigners to run things for us.
For better national security, I would suggest Chinese people.
The Venezuelans might have to miss out on this one because some of them can be mistaken for either Cuami/Ramlal with a ski mask on.

Postby MG Man » July 10th, 2019, 11:55 am

legalize prostitution

Postby Dizzy28 » July 10th, 2019, 11:59 am

Mindsets are really hard to change and border on fantasy.
Had I the opportunity to change one thing it would have to be the Constitution.

I would remove the need for a Defence Force/standing army, remove the position of President, remove all the various service commissions (they all constitutionally enshrined) and institute proportional representation voting in lieu of the first past the post Westminster system we have.

Postby teems1 » July 10th, 2019, 12:26 pm

Legalize, regulate and tax marijuana/prostitution.

Postby alfa » July 10th, 2019, 12:34 pm

Make the entire public service private. Where it is actually run like a business and if you don't perform you get the axe. From police to licence office to the hospitals. That time you go see how much doctors will still play on phones and how much police officers will be liming by the bar

Postby 88sins » July 10th, 2019, 12:48 pm

plenty dreamers in here boi

Postby MG Man » July 10th, 2019, 1:09 pm

teems1 wrote:Legalize, regulate and tax marijuana/prostitution.

man ask tuh change WAN ting
you issa red oman orr

Rage Warrior

Postby Rage Warrior » July 10th, 2019, 7:30 pm

Take religion out of schools and government. Let it stand on it's own.

Postby zoom rader » July 10th, 2019, 7:33 pm

Rage Warrior wrote:Take religion out of schools and government. Let it stand on it's own.
I agree, to much christan prays in school.

It always some christan prays at functions you have to face.

Rage Warrior

Postby Rage Warrior » July 10th, 2019, 8:46 pm

Bro I for everything Hinduism,christianity,Islam etc. I want my children to get an education not learn fairy tales I'll teach them that at home if I want. I want my government be equal with all citizens and one way is by not getting involved with any religious organizations by giving handouts.

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » July 10th, 2019, 9:09 pm

Thanos snap this govt n supporters into non existence

Closeout Deals

Postby Closeout Deals » July 10th, 2019, 9:50 pm

Remove the age limit on imported vehicles. Much happier place.