where to buy the thick soft rubber like what is used to make slippers?

fallen_angel

where to buy the thick soft rubber like what is used to make slippers?

Postby fallen_angel » November 15th, 2018, 11:26 am

guys, anyone know where I can get this in a strip or sheet? I want to seal off a door for flood

Re: where to buy the thick soft rubber like what is used to make slippers?

Postby *KRONIK* » November 15th, 2018, 11:41 am

Flex seal hoss

fallen_angel

Postby fallen_angel » November 15th, 2018, 12:10 pm

i looked at flex seal online but that looks like a liquid, i wanted to fabricate a plate to bolt over the bottom of the doorway when flood was coming, wanted to use the rubber to make a thick compressible gasket along the edge.

Postby Les Bain » November 15th, 2018, 12:19 pm

It's a tape too, FYI.

Postby *KRONIK* » November 15th, 2018, 12:23 pm

fallen_angel wrote:i looked at flex seal online but that looks like a liquid, i wanted to fabricate a plate to bolt over the bottom of the doorway when flood was coming, wanted to use the rubber to make a thick compressible gasket along the edge.
Good idea

Postby Rory Phoulorie » November 15th, 2018, 12:28 pm

How do you intend to seal the sides of the door?

Postby RedVEVO » November 15th, 2018, 12:31 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:How do you intend to seal the sides of the door?

Rolf ..

Maybe he will use gov't issued sand bags .

The solution is to get the water away from the door .

fallen_angel

Postby fallen_angel » November 15th, 2018, 1:25 pm

i am thinking to make a plate about 2' tall and about 3' wide, bolt it to the outside of the wall using anchor bolts, it would then provide a barrier up to almost 2' high in the doorway to prevent water from coming in. I want to use the rubber seal as a compression seal between the plate and the wall on the perimeter of the fabricated steel plate. I'm trying to build something similar to a flood gate, as seen online. I will only bolt it in when heavy rain or flood is expected and remove it after.

Postby *KRONIK* » November 15th, 2018, 2:43 pm

fallen_angel wrote:i am thinking to make a plate about 2' tall and about 3' wide, bolt it to the outside of the wall using anchor bolts, it would then provide a barrier up to almost 2' high in the doorway to prevent water from coming in. I want to use the rubber seal as a compression seal between the plate and the wall on the perimeter of the fabricated steel plate. I'm trying to build something similar to a flood gate, as seen online. I will only bolt it in when heavy rain or flood is expected and remove it after.
Lemme see how yours come out
I go hire you to build 1 for me

fallen_angel

Postby fallen_angel » November 15th, 2018, 2:45 pm

no problem, i just need to figure out where to buy the rubber to make the seal...

linton

Postby linton » November 15th, 2018, 2:55 pm

I saw a piece that was thrown away that the slippers were made from, the whole outline of the sheet is still there probably two inches all the way around. Check a slipper factory you should get the discarded sheet for free.

Postby RedVEVO » November 15th, 2018, 3:08 pm

fallen_angel wrote:i am thinking to make a plate about 2' tall and about 3' wide, bolt it to the outside of the wall using anchor bolts, it would then provide a barrier up to almost 2' high in the doorway to prevent water from coming in. I want to use the rubber seal as a compression seal between the plate and the wall on the perimeter of the fabricated steel plate. I'm trying to build something similar to a flood gate, as seen online. I will only bolt it in when heavy rain or flood is expected and remove it after.

Ok :D

This is a marvelous idea .

Maybe you can use commercial rubber seals

Or even strip a car tyre (tire).

Is it for a commercial property or residential ?

infinite_RPM

Postby infinite_RPM » November 15th, 2018, 3:16 pm

This real sad that we need to resort to something like this but that's some ppl only choice right now...

If the door goes all the way to the floor how is the bottom sealing?

fallen_angel

Postby fallen_angel » November 15th, 2018, 3:24 pm

For residential, car tyres are very difficult to cut and they won’t compress easily to seal when the plate is tightened.

My doors don’t go the to floor though but if yours does I am sure a strip can be adapted at the bottom to seal also.

People all over the world use things like this to restrain flood water, it’s all over YouTube and google, just we never had to resort to it in Trinidad yet because god is a trini...but sooner or later we as individuals need to learn to take care of ourselves. I had 1ft of water in my house last month, didn’t finish cleaning and fixing my appliances yet so I willing to try anything to protect myself.

By chance anyone know where I could find a slippers factory in the east?

Postby RedVEVO » November 15th, 2018, 3:31 pm

fallen_angel wrote:For residential, car tyres are very difficult to cut and they won’t compress easily to seal when the plate is tightened.

My doors don’t go the to floor though but if yours does I am sure a strip can be adapted at the bottom to seal also.

People all over the world use things like this to restrain flood water, it’s all over YouTube and google, just we never had to resort to it in Trinidad yet because god is a trini...but sooner or later we as individuals need to learn to take care of ourselves. I had 1ft of water in my house last month, didn’t finish cleaning and fixing my appliances yet so I willing to try anything to protect myself.

By chance anyone know where I could find a slippers factory in the east?

Meant the rubber tyre (tire) tube .

It's very cheap or free .

Liking this DIY project .

Postby pugboy » November 15th, 2018, 3:33 pm

Use the foam rubber tubing Aircon guys put over the copper lines as insulation

Postby Rory Phoulorie » November 16th, 2018, 6:49 am

Postby aaron17 » November 16th, 2018, 7:57 am

Saw a duct tape mythbusters episode ..they made a good slippers out of it.

sandfly

Postby sandfly » November 27th, 2018, 10:45 am

Closest thing I saw to this is the gym mats selling at most sports stores. Sport world has. Think was abt $150 for a piece 6ft x 2ft

kstt

Postby kstt » November 27th, 2018, 2:37 pm

Postby 88sins » November 28th, 2018, 6:19 am

pugboy wrote:Use the foam rubber tubing Aircon guys put over the copper lines as insulation

for the win
Place between the door & frame & close the door, nuttn getting thru that

Postby sMASH » November 28th, 2018, 7:51 am

this is a good idea... i thinking the slippers rubber might still be too hard. probably if u make it beveled, it might be thin enough to compress. and that aircon lining is another good idea.. i feel u might get better and easier performance with that than the sippers mat.

i would a try it, but i not affected by flooding..

hey, here's another thought... the door seal rubber for cars... the upholstery places sell those in straight pieces. so it could work well for house doors.

Postby 88sins » November 28th, 2018, 8:38 am

yeah smash, but that could be expensive. I kno the a/c insulation cheap af, I bought some the other day, cost about $30 for 12'.
Only thing is where I got it only sell 6' lengths, but if one could get it at whatever length you wanted is just to cut one long piece to fit maybe halfway up the height of the door frame both sides & the base

Postby sMASH » November 28th, 2018, 8:41 am

That not a bad price.. 30 for 12'

Postby timelapse » November 28th, 2018, 8:48 am

foam pool noodles if you want something thicker, there are noodles for as low as $25 and they about 3 ft long,
Only issue is that they colourful

Postby 88sins » November 28th, 2018, 12:14 pm

timelapse wrote:foam pool noodles if you want something thicker, there are noodles for as low as $25 and they about 3 ft long,
Only issue is that they colourful

not really soft enough to allow the door to close properly to keep it in place either

nissan4life

Postby nissan4life » November 28th, 2018, 2:11 pm

You can look at neoprene foam. It is waterproof, this is the same material most wet suits are made of.
Not sure who has it locally though

Sherwin williams in maraval has flood gate and its basically the same thing you are doing fallen angel. Its an aluminum plate/block that slides into a frame and the foam is adhered to the bottom and sides to avoid water coming in

Postby pugboy » November 28th, 2018, 2:15 pm

Scotia Ellerslie had it too

Postby pugboy » November 28th, 2018, 3:18 pm

I saw a place in rodney road chaguanas which had a locally built flood door
their own fits in the doorway and used a car scissor jack to press the rubber foam sealer against the vertical sides of the door.

Postby supercharged turbo » September 15th, 2020, 3:30 pm

@fallen angel..you got through with the rubber?I'm looking for it for the exact purpose