Car Oil choice?

ryandtrini

Car Oil choice?

Postby ryandtrini » September 10th, 2018, 10:17 pm

I am looking at Castrol Edge, Valvoline Full Syn and Mobil 1.
I want to get some ideas as to which is the best for a daily driver car.

Re: Car Oil choice?

Postby gastly369 » September 10th, 2018, 10:21 pm

I use motul or amsoil...just get whats recommended for vehicle and change as directed and would be good tbh...

Postby *KRONIK* » September 11th, 2018, 7:35 am

ryandtrini wrote:I am looking at Castrol Edge, Valvoline Full Syn and Mobil 1.
What car?
Current mileage?

ryandtrini

Postby ryandtrini » September 11th, 2018, 7:39 am

*KRONIK* wrote:
What car?
Current mileage?

NZ Corolla, about 98000 km.

Postby *KRONIK* » September 11th, 2018, 7:44 am

10w30 is supposed to be OE spec

Use any brand u can get easily
Dont be like "i wah use amsoil" and have to drive halfway across the country to get it

I recommend shell 10w30
As the detergents keep the lifters clean.
But you can use whats available to you and whats within your budget.

More importantly, use an original toyota oil filter.
This helps maintain proper oil pressure and is actually more important than brand of oil.

If you changing at 5000km intervals then you can use a cheaper oil
If you pushing to 10000kms, definitely go with a synthetic oil and original oil filter.

rebound

Postby rebound » September 12th, 2018, 6:50 am

Just change your oil on time....all familiar brands have to meet a minimum spec anyway....the big brand myth is just marketing.

ryandtrini

Postby ryandtrini » September 12th, 2018, 5:31 pm

good to know. I currently use Kendall 10/30 and normally change around 6000 km . I thought the brand would make a difference.

Postby *KRONIK* » September 12th, 2018, 6:46 pm

ryandtrini wrote:good to know. I currently use Kendall 10/30 and normally change around 6000 km . I thought the brand would make a difference.
Nah
Thats a really good combo
Use an oem oil filter to maximise the oil quality

WestIndian424

Postby WestIndian424 » October 2nd, 2018, 9:45 pm

Schaeffer's