tyres

Re: tyres

Postby skylinechild » August 26th, 2018, 12:30 pm

guys i'm in the need for a pair of 15 inch tyres for my car . i have maxxis Z3 in front they only lasted two years.

pros with the maxxis theyre very grippy on dry and wet road - excellent traction.
cons is they're noisy and they dont last long despite tread wear of 600.

they're good for a weekend car but not as a daily.

what are my options for a good pair of tyres ??
looking for something that has similar grip but can give me 3 yrs.

EDIT the treadwear is 300 for the tyres and not 600...my bad :oops:
Last edited by skylinechild on August 27th, 2018, 4:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 26th, 2018, 12:48 pm

So you want great traction, 3 years life and quiet all in the same tyre?

How many km is 2 years for you?

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » August 26th, 2018, 1:41 pm

Place in Chaguanas will bring them down for u

Postby skylinechild » August 26th, 2018, 5:34 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:So you want great traction, 3 years life and quiet all in the same tyre?

:lol: central to pos and back is the run...5 days a week...

recommend me a tyre nuh.....

NR8

Postby NR8 » August 26th, 2018, 10:49 pm

skylinechild wrote:
Strugglerzinc wrote:So you want great traction, 3 years life and quiet all in the same tyre?

:lol: central to pos and back is the run...5 days a week...

recommend me a tyre nuh.....

Firestone Firehawk 900. Great traction and little noise. Available at M Ramrattan, l & DG and Courts Megastore Freeport. I'm sure other popular dealers will have it as well.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 26th, 2018, 11:12 pm

skylinechild wrote:guys i'm in the need for a pair of 15 inch tyres for my car . i have maxxis Z3 in front they only lasted two years.

pros with the maxxis theyre very grippy on dry and wet road - excellent traction.

The online site lists a treadwear rating of 300 for those tyres... Not that it is comparable across different brands. Any harder compound and it would last longer but you would give up some in the grip department.
Get some nexen or roadstone tyres ... They used to last pretty long... Once you not planning to run them hard

Postby skylinechild » August 27th, 2018, 4:48 pm

kamakazi wrote:
skylinechild wrote:guys i'm in the need for a pair of 15 inch tyres for my car . i have maxxis Z3 in front they only lasted two years.

The online site lists a treadwear rating of 300 for those tyres... Not that it is comparable across different brands. Any harder compound and it would last longer but you would give up some in the grip department.
Get some nexen or roadstone tyres ... They used to last pretty long... Once you not planning to run them hard

yes youre right its 300...i edited my original post....

i dont like nexen and roadstone.... using those is best i buy 200 boxes of rubber band and strap my tyres wit it.

NR8 whats the cost for the firestone firehawk??? was considering kumho as well....

Postby gastly369 » August 27th, 2018, 6:50 pm

EDIT the treadwear is 300 for the tyres and not 600...my bad :oops:
If so then try the z4

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 27th, 2018, 8:02 pm

DZ102 is good bang for buck. 420 treadwear and fine for daily driving if not pushing it too much. They do get noisy after some time though.

Its very rare you'll get all three attributes in one tyre at an affordable (for a regular joe) price.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 27th, 2018, 9:23 pm

Thing is tyres of the past not the tyres of today...
Some of those unpopular brands stepping up, not sure if the price went up with it.
Those nexen/roadstone coming factory on those Korean vehicles now. Nankang makes a performance tyre, etc. But it is your money at the end of the day so buy what your comfortable with

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 28th, 2018, 6:27 am

skylinechild wrote:
kamakazi wrote:

i dont like nexen and roadstone.... using those is best i buy 200 boxes of rubber band and strap my tyres wit it.

NR8 whats the cost for the firestone firehawk??? was considering kumho as well....

dunlop?

NR8

Postby NR8 » August 28th, 2018, 8:48 am

skylinechild wrote:
kamakazi wrote:

$500-600

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 28th, 2018, 4:56 pm

kamakazi wrote:Thing is tyres of the past not the tyres of today...
Some of those unpopular brands stepping up, not sure if the price went up with it.
Those nexen/roadstone coming factory on those Korean vehicles now. Nankang makes a performance tyre, etc. But it is your money at the end of the day so buy what your comfortable with

You have to remember, what comes OEM (usually a MEH tyre anyway) is completely different to what is sold in the aftermarket. Locally, we almost never get the high tier lines in any brand. At best we have to settle for their OK tyres and not their Excellent ones.

Best Nexen we get here is their N'Fera SU4 i think.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 28th, 2018, 5:50 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:

You have to remember, what comes OEM (usually a MEH tyre anyway) is completely different to what is sold in the aftermarket. Locally, we almost never get the high tier lines in any brand. At best we have to settle for their OK tyres and not their Excellent ones.

It might be meh but it still have to meet a certain standard.

Postby skylinechild » August 29th, 2018, 2:22 am

Strugglerzinc wrote:

the reason why we never get the higher tier lines in any brands is cause if you look at it theres only 1 or 2 importers for the entire country.

they bring the low tier product and sell at the mid tier price...
bring the mid tier product and sell at the high tier price........
and dont bring any high tier products cause according to them it wont sell (cause everybody buying cheap tyres) and if they do bring it- expect to pay about 3 times the actual cost of it

if you do find the high tier product its usually by a small tyre shop that does their own imports....and when they bring it usually sells out quickly.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 29th, 2018, 5:08 am

Tyres is one of those items where you can't have it all.
An ultra high performance summer tyre, will not perform in the rain and will wear out quickly.
So while I understand what you mean regarding the product tiers... What is a high tier tyre.
I think it was grip, longevity and comfort. Decide on which two are most important to you cause the third is not going to be good

Postby *KRONIK* » August 29th, 2018, 8:03 am

kamakazi wrote:Tyres is one of those items where you can't have it all.
An ultra high performance summer tyre, will not perform in the rain and will wear out quickly.
So while I understand what you mean regarding the product tiers... What is a high tier tyre.
I think it was grip, longevity and comfort. Decide on which two are most important to you cause the third is not going to be good
Agreed

Tyres are just like the "fast>cheap>good" triangle, you will always have to sacrifice 1 side to get the other 2.

Affordable
Grippy
Long lasting

Choose 2....

Postby Dave » August 29th, 2018, 8:26 am

Long lasting will almost never be grippy so which one do you really want. Kinda like brakes, dust equals stopping power.

ryandtrini

Postby ryandtrini » September 8th, 2018, 11:32 am

Higher treadwear - less grip but more life.

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » September 10th, 2018, 6:13 pm

Looking for something around 205/60/14
Traction is high on the list of requirements.
What is available?

Postby Dave » September 10th, 2018, 8:14 pm

Dunlop and Sumitomo has new. Treadwear around 400+. Others are Chinese pieces.

Big Z

Postby Big Z » September 10th, 2018, 9:06 pm

Will check tyre clinic in the morn.
Prob gonna have some failure lm703

Postby Dave » September 10th, 2018, 10:00 pm

Dunlop is the sp601, nice bead pattern.

NR8

Postby NR8 » September 11th, 2018, 12:15 am

Big Z wrote:Looking for something around 205/60/14
Traction is high on the list of requirements.
What is available?

Aye Z, appreciate if you can report your findings. Will be due for new rubber in that size by end of year.

Black Scorpion

Postby Black Scorpion » September 11th, 2018, 5:58 pm

Bought a set of dunlops at tyre clinic for 475 each about two weeks ago, date on them are 2018

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 11th, 2018, 10:51 pm

Black Scorpion wrote:Bought a set of dunlops at tyre clinic for 475 each about two weeks ago, date on them are 2018
What sizw u bought?

Black Scorpion

Postby Black Scorpion » September 12th, 2018, 2:34 am

205 60 14 sport 601

Big Z

Postby Big Z » September 12th, 2018, 5:30 am

Might try cum ho this rounds. Not happy with the sp sport 601 currently on the car. Finished quickly and didnt have the grip to justify the low life.

Postby X_Factor » September 12th, 2018, 6:15 am

^Japanese 601's?

Postby skylinechild » September 15th, 2018, 7:56 pm

anyone tried the new kumhos ?? saw tire rack has some kumhos - are they available locally ?

Kumho ECSTA PS31
kumho ECSTA 4X II

Yokohama S.DRIVE

anyone used any of the above tyres ??? and can give a review??